We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Biergarten Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #68 of 3,680 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Great selection of beers and the staff are in full Bavarian dress. Good location to sit outside and people watch

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElaineBantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    122
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurelville, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Easy to get a beer and a bite, or more, but not on Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our time at this market both times we visited, during Oktoberfest. The beer is sold from a central location, and you can even get .5 liter mugs. I guess the brewers take turns at this stand, and I can't tell you which beers we had, but it was all wonderful.

Seating is at long picnic tables, so you just need to wander around and find open seating. First time, we sat and talked with two lovely ladies from India, one of whom was in the travel business, and an elderly lady from Munich. The second time, we sat with a group of young Aussie girls who were on a 46 day camping tour of Europe. I've decided that Aussies are the friendliest travelers around. After they left, an elderly German couple sat with us. And we talked about the husband's time in Akron OH in 1952, and the upcoming US election. We found that Germans are also very friendly, and most know at least some English. Yes, we love Germany, Germans & this biergarten.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This doesn't feel as traditional as the other beer gardens but it's still a nice place to stop and have a beer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank shellyshelly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Viktualienmarkt is a large open-air market near Marien Platz. You can go from stall to stall and buy food (sandwiches, cheeses, fruit, etc.). From there, head to the beer garden in the center of the market. Grab a table without a table cloth and then go stand in the beer line to get a 1/2 litre or a Mass from the keg. Great option for an inexpensive lunch with great beer and great people watching.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl2Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun Time at Farmers Market Beer Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

After shopping at the Farmers Market, sit at an outdoor table at the beer garden right there at the Farmers Market for lunch and a bier.
Watch the people walk by as you eat your lunch, rest your feet, and then continue your shopping.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Irmi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biergarten Viktualienmarkt also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Biergarten Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing