We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, convenient hotel - don't buy the SLOOOOW 87kbs internet though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City East
Ranked #111 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient hotel - don't buy the SLOOOOW 87kbs internet though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice, clean, conveniently located American-style hotel in east Munich, very close to the Munich East train station which has local and long distance trains. The Max restaurant in the hotel is quite good and there are other good restaurant choices nearby. However, do not buy the in-room wireless internet! My colleague and I both purchased it and it was unbelievably slow. I did a speed test and it was operating at 87 kbs!!! That's barely faster than old-style dial up, and they want EU12.50 per day for the priviledge of sitting there and watching nothing happen on a screen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    203
    89
    22
    15
See reviews for
75
147
23
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was the perfect spot to stay in Munich -- 2 minute walk to the East station which will take you downtown in 5 minutes. The nice part is, at the end of the day you are away from all the hustle and bustle.

The rooms are very modern and quite large. The TV actually has English stations which is a huge plus! WiFi is free in the lobbys and they have nice couches to sit on while you use it. Staff is friendly and accommodating -- you can tell they know their city and are happy to help you in any way possible.

Breakfast was the best of our 7-city trip -- both hot and cold items. More food than you can imagine. If we return to Munich, this would definitely be our go-to hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gapgrl4496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night using my husband's Marriott points redemption. It was a nice, modern hotel that is not far from Munich East Train Station.

I like this train station because it is a shorter ride to MUC airport. We were also able to use the public transportation for our sight seeing in Munich that day.

Wifi is free because my husband is a Gold member for Marriott. Otherwise I think it will cost 25EURO extra. However, we found the internet connection to be incredibly slow in Germany. If we had to pay the extra $$ for this slow connection, I think we would like it even less.

My husband and I actually found time to work out in their fitness room which was quite nice. We had a good night stay here and I had no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jls3721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first time staying at hotel. Overall the service was very good. The rooms were clean but average. It was nice being close to the train station. The surrounding neighborhood didn't offer much and wish there was a little more going on. The S8 train from the airport was easy and the hotel was five blocks away.

I would consider staying again but just wish it was a little closer to downtown and more activities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snj1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

quiet business style hotel short walk from east train station (ost bahnhof) easy to get to from the airport on the S8 train. 10.40 E
easy to get around Munch from this hotel.... stayed during Octoberfest and had no issues or noise
will go back

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pukindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A great joy to stay at this place.
Fast Check-in with minimum fuss.
Good sized rooms with very clean bathrooms.
Great spread for breakfast.
Around 300 meters from the munich east train station..
Classy and very efficent management.

Room Tip: If u are travelling by the train .. do not take a bus to the hotel.. just take a right from the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlinjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We LOVED staying here. Not in the busy area, but really close to train line and easy to get anywhere. American accommodations - extremely clean and comfortable (lots of space) with SUPER friendly staff! They recommended places to go, eat and all were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyWando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
0.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost
0.3 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#83 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City East

Property: Courtyard Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable conference and international hotel chain Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk from Ostbahnhof. It takes 7 minutes to get to Munich city center, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to the airport. Underground parking is available. Whether you are traveling to Munich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 227 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and suites and free Essential Internet. The business center is at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The gym is fully-equipped with free weights and modern cardio machines. 573 square meters of event space provide 6 modular meeting rooms with the latest event technology for successful meetings and seminars in Munich. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks&drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing