We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nickel-and-dimed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City East
Ranked #111 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nickel-and-dimed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I will open with this, Marriott is my favorite hotel to stay in, but this one was disappointing.

The CY in Munchen East is a nice property, and a decent location. The room was also very nice. We had a 5th floor room facing the street. It was large, clean, and had coffee in the room as well as TV in German and English. For the most part, however, the staff were not very kind. They were rather short, and not welcoming. But, it wasn't offensively bad.

The main problem was that they charge you for every little item. For example, there is no free internet or Wifi in the rooms. Nearly every hotel I've visited in the last 5 years has this, but not a Marriott - really? Second was parking. They have a garage that charges 20 euro per day. The hotel next door has parking for 9 euro a day, so I parked with a different hotel. It just seems that in this instance they do not value their customers, and what they are paying to stay at their hotel. This made me feel quite unappreciated as a loyal Marriott Customer and Rewards member. Notwithstanding, I will stay at a Marriott again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kchazwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    203
    89
    22
    15
See reviews for
75
147
23
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
280 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I did not know what to expect judging from the basic exterior of this hotel but once you are inside the room, it is really very pleasant and comfortable. It is located in a residential neighborhood but within a 10 min. tram ride to the center of town. The room has very good size and the bath has a fantastic shower. We have no complaint with anythng except perhaps they can provide ree wifi in the room although it is free in the public area. Breakfast and parking can be expensive but it's possible to park on the street for 24 hours. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an ok hotel if you can get it for less than €60 per night like we did. It's location is not great but on a tram route and near OstBbahnHhof which has good U-Bahn connections to city centre. There's a good Italian restaurant L'Angolo within 100m and the excellent Gastatte Zum Brunnstein is opposite the Ostbahnhof. Also nearby is Max Weber Platz which has restaurants, pubs and a good bakery/cafe.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inchcape44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I were only in town for the one night and the hotel met all of our needs. The parking was easy and convienent. Also, the hotel is very close to the train station which was only 2-3 stops from the center of the city. We got a really good deal through priceline.com and were very hapy for the amount we paid. Rooms were spacious and well stocked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel does not meet the normal Marriott standard. While it is fairly close to the S8 station, there is nothing nearby as far as restaurants or cafe's (unless you go back to the area near the train station) . Breakfast was not included even at the much higher rate and even with the Marriott Gold status (Hilton Gold certainly would provide that). The breakfast hostess assumed that I had the full breakfast and when I told her I only had the continental, she said it was already billed. She told me to talk to the front desk and when I went there, they told me to go back to the restaurant. Poor attitude overall in handling such a simple matter.
Also, when I checked in, front desk told me that the Sales Manager wanted to talk to me the next day. When I checked with the front desk the next day, they had no idea what I was talking about.
Rooms are nothing special. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Nicely managed hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and good breakfast. If you like having restaurants and pubs in walking distance you might have a challenge.

Overall I'd defenitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very pleasant and convenient Hotel ! got off the plane and took the S8 train to to just a walking distance from the hotel. Very well located since is close to City Center where most of the action and atractions are but yet is at a prudent distance to lay back and rest from a day's and night's engagements. The hole aspect is very modern, secure and Super clean. Great personnel and was able to enjoy the amenities as the gym, steam room and delicious sauna. Great freakfast at MAX. Also drove a rental SUV to Kitzbuhel in Austria were we went skying and snow boarding at the awesome slopes and stayed there were there are no smoking restrictions so looked forward for my fresh Marriott room. Over all, this was indeed one of my best trips ever ! Was able to forget home memories and that's a lot to say!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMoColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
0.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost
0.3 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#83 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City East

Property: Courtyard Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable conference and international hotel chain Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk from Ostbahnhof. It takes 7 minutes to get to Munich city center, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to the airport. Underground parking is available. Whether you are traveling to Munich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 227 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and suites and free Essential Internet. The business center is at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The gym is fully-equipped with free weights and modern cardio machines. 573 square meters of event space provide 6 modular meeting rooms with the latest event technology for successful meetings and seminars in Munich. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks&drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing