We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“München Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum (Museum of Transport)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum

Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.14*
and up
Munich Segway Tour
Ranked #41 of 299 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Verkehrszentrum has adopted a new concept to showcase land transport in the exhibitions in three historic former trade fair halls at the Theresienhöhe facility. Trams, buses, cars, and two-wheelers drive down a road through time to the past and tell the stories of inner-city transport systems, infrastructures and traffic safety. Coaches, fast train locomotives, Pullman cars, and caravans paint a picture of the urge to travel from the pilgrimage to modern camper vans. The Verkehrszentrum breaks new ground with its exhibition concept. It attempts to present mobility in all its complexity.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“München Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum (Museum of Transport)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

While I was in München for a beer Festival, I was taken to the Museum of Transport.
It was very reasonable to get in and a span of many years of Transport from Bicycle's, Motor Bikes, Cars, Bus's, Trains plus many more old forms of Transport.
It also has the modern High Speed Train along side some the old one's.
I found it very informative.
You could say from the slowest to the fastest
We spent some 3 hours just walking around with ease with no rush.
Well worth the Money and the visit.
http://www.deutsches-museum.de/verkehrszentrum
Capt.Harry

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptHarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    77
    23
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deutsches Transport History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Fantastic range from rail to roads
pleanty of space for the exhibits and many with english translation description
was really quiet when we went there - not like the London transport museum.
Kids might get board not lots for them if they have not interest or imagination!
Very friendly staff in the "cafe" where refreshments very reasonable priced
Loved the snail outside!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsden_Breaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun transportation museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went to the main Deutsches Museum and due to all their construction right now, we received complimentary tickets to this one. So, we went here the next day. The Verkehrszentrum is divided into three large buildings. There were lots of cars, buses, trains, motorcycles, and bicycles on display. (Airplanes are on display at the main museum and their aviation branch outside city center.) We spent about 2-3 hours here.

Fun note: Be sure to visit the 3rd building. There is a big metal slide to get you from the mezzanine to the lower level. I'm not sure why exactly they have a slide in the museum, but it was fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In any other city, this would be one of the top attractions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Definitely worth the trip from the centre (just a couple of stops past Hauptbahnhof along the U4 or U5 lines, plus a short walk). Three big hangers house a large and excellent collection of cars, motorcycles, bikes, buses, trams, etc., organized around different themes (such as the rise of mass tourism), with loads of posters, diaramas (I loved the old bike repair shop) and other great extra stuff. I’m not a car history nut, but I understand there are some really special items. And lots of good text in English. In many cities, this would be the top, ‘must see’ museum, but judging from the sparse attendance on the afternoon we were there, in Munich it falls between the cracks. This is understandable, because the main Deutsches museum (which, of course, has the superb model railway, along with a big and nifty collection of boats and other marine stuff) is an exhausting day itself, while the Pinakothek galleries can easily occupy a couple of days, but a shame – the people responsible for developing and maintaining the Verkehrszentrum collection deserve more eyeballs. There’s also a pleasant big beer garden across the square from the main entrance.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuckgreekophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
707 reviews
300 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“Nicely presented museum on the history focusing on mobility and transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I ran into this museum purely by chance as I was walking along by my hotel killing time before my train home. The museum focuses on the history and development of all types of transport, and has hands-on displays that explain how engines work and other gadgets. The museum is tailored for both kids and adults.

Most of the displays are in both German and English, but not all. If you do not speak German or other Germanic language you will not be able to read some of the signs. However this is only the case for a few areas, and seemed to be primarily those geared towards the kids. They have a coat rack that you can use if you are there during the winter, which is nice as the museum is big. You could definitely spend a few hours here walking through the different types of trains, enjoying the selection of bicycles and other displays.

The museum is definitely worth seeing if you are in Munich for a few days.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum also viewed

 

Been to Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing