We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for Munich” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Munchen-Garching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel One Munchen-Garching
Ranked #3 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice for Munich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice modern hotel right on the U-bahn, a very easy ride into the heart of Munich without the bother of using our car. As others have noted it is not near any restaurants and we didn't want to bother heading back into Munich after an entire day of sightseeing so on the recommendation of the hotel staff we jumped on the U-bahn one stop further along to Garching. It stops right in the plaza and we found a good assortment of restaurants in a village atmosphere. We enjoyed our dinner so much we went back twice to the same small restaurant. One minor point if you are using a GPS to find the hotel put in Garching as the city not Munich. Our GPS initially led us to a small crowded street within Munich, defintely not where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredbuthappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    90
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
55
15
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Motel One - Munich-Garching for one night (two single rooms). It's located in an industrial area with little to offer the traveler in the way of services (there was a biergarten down the block but we didn't try it). However, there is an U-bahn station immediately next to the hotel that will take you directly to the city center.

The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful.

We got rooms (two singles) for an OK €109/night. Breakfast was €7.50, and there was a special offer that threw in the wi-fi for free. The breakfast was good although a little limited in selection. Parking in the underground garage was a cheap €5.

The hotel was very stylish and appeared clean and well maintained. Rooms were quite small. The bed seemed particularly hard but I slept well on it. The wi-fi signal was very good (fast enough to stream video) and the flat-screen TV had lots of TV channels, several in English.

However, there were many flaws in the how the room was designed which seriously impacted its functionality. The biggest problem was the lack of adequate workspace. If you need to work in the room, look elsewhere. The room had one tiny table without a lamp or nearby electric outlets, and only a small backless stool to sit on (the only outlets in the room were located on either side of the bed at floor level, plus one in the bathroom. Fortunately I travel with an extension cord!). Lighting in the room is poor, with no light near the desk. There is a large round ottoman with a small backrest that presumably is for seating, but it's uncomfortable to sit on. There are no nightstands by the bed. The bathroom is very small, and I wasn't able to shower without drenching the bathroom floor. For storage there were a few small shelves and a very narrow space to hang clothes. It's hard to imagine how they could come up with such a poorly-executed room design.

On our trip, we stayed in another Motel One in Salzburg, Austria, with nearly identical rooms (actually a bit larger since they were connecting), and all my comments about the room applied there too.

I've stayed at Ibis hotels several times, which seem to be in the same market niche as Motel One. In fact, there was an Ibis hotel right next door (as well as an Ibis Budget hotel). All else being equal, I would choose Ibis over Motel One. Ibis is less stylish, but the rooms are vastly more functional, having few of the flaws I've discussed above. However, in this case, Ibis' room rates were much higher.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Motel One in Garching is located in an industrial area. So the neighborhood is less impressive.
The Hotel itself is very clean, well equipped and the service staff is friendly and helpful (I assume that the hotel is quiet new). In the first floor you can find a big lounge area with seats inside and outside.
Although th room is quiet small you will find everything you need and in a good quality.

If you want to travel to City Center there is a trainstation right beside the hotel with trains going at least every 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sansteffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
450 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

You've seen one Motel One Hotel, you've seen them all.
And that is a good thing, because you get exactly the same quality for a low price in all locations that I have been to so far. The chain hotels are all nicely designed, in a friendly turquoise color scheme, you have the same not-too-big-but-still-ok rooms, clean bathrooms, identical small but sufficient bar menu and rather extensive breakfast buffet.
On the plus side: very clean, very friendly staff, brandnew features including flatscreen tv.
On the minus side: no real closet in the room (but who cares), free ipads available in the bar did not work (too good to be true), wireless is a bit tricky (ok, that one is a bit annoying).

Overall I would rather stay here than risk more money and NOT know what I get. My choice whenever I have to stay in Germany.
Very good value for money, so book early!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasssandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel parking was a bit hard to locate - it was right next to the hotel but was not marked in any way. The parking was free.

The metro station is only 50 meters from the hotel. But there are no other services in the walking distance, as the motel is located in the industrial area.

The room was really small, but in excellent condition as the motel seemed brand new. Air conditioning was modern and quiet. The design of the room was nice and there was everything you needed.

The breakfast was 7,50€ per person but was good and worth that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arttu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during a recent trip with another couple. It was a quick taxi ride from the airport (about Euros 43). The hotel accommodated our request for an early check-in, which was great since we had less than a half an hour to freshen up before heading into Munich for the 1:00 Sandemans NewMunich tour. While these modern rooms are small by US standards, they were clean, had comfortable beds, and had everything we needed. The typical German breakfast (not part of room price) was fresh and plentiful, and we got to enjoy it in their outside garden since we had a beautiful sunny day. The metro, which is just steps from the hotel, takes about 20-25 minutes to Marienplatz in the center of town. The personnel at Motel One speak excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. Sixt Car Rental is right around the corner from the hotel, so we didn't pick up our car for two days and saved a lot of money (we were told it's best not to take a car into Munich. The next time I come back to Munich, I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here for a bsns trip. Sufficient. Still pretty new which is a plus. Clean. Rooms are small but I've stayed in smaller in Europe.

No phones in the room which I found weird. You can often feel their efforts to keep the cost and therefore costs down. But it is a good deal.

Minimal food and bar area has limited beverage options. Breakfast was ok not great. Very European spread - breads and meats.

I wouldn't choose to stay here unless I was asked to for work or trying to save $. If so then it's fine.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saratogamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
8.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Muenchen Garching
Ibis Budget Muenchen Garching
#4 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Garching
Ibis Muenchen Garching
#3 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
8.2 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.2 mi away
SOULMADE
SOULMADE
#1 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Munchen-Garching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Munchen-Garching

Property: Motel One Munchen-Garching
Address: Daimlerstrasse 5A, 85748 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Munchen-Garching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel One Munchen-Garching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing