We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Munchen-Garching
Ranked #4 of 66 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Motel One in Garching is located in an industrial area. So the neighborhood is less impressive.
The Hotel itself is very clean, well equipped and the service staff is friendly and helpful (I assume that the hotel is quiet new). In the first floor you can find a big lounge area with seats inside and outside.
Although th room is quiet small you will find everything you need and in a good quality.

If you want to travel to City Center there is a trainstation right beside the hotel with trains going at least every 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sansteffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

You've seen one Motel One Hotel, you've seen them all.
And that is a good thing, because you get exactly the same quality for a low price in all locations that I have been to so far. The chain hotels are all nicely designed, in a friendly turquoise color scheme, you have the same not-too-big-but-still-ok rooms, clean bathrooms, identical small but sufficient bar menu and rather extensive breakfast buffet.
On the plus side: very clean, very friendly staff, brandnew features including flatscreen tv.
On the minus side: no real closet in the room (but who cares), free ipads available in the bar did not work (too good to be true), wireless is a bit tricky (ok, that one is a bit annoying).

Overall I would rather stay here than risk more money and NOT know what I get. My choice whenever I have to stay in Germany.
Very good value for money, so book early!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasssandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel parking was a bit hard to locate - it was right next to the hotel but was not marked in any way. The parking was free.

The metro station is only 50 meters from the hotel. But there are no other services in the walking distance, as the motel is located in the industrial area.

The room was really small, but in excellent condition as the motel seemed brand new. Air conditioning was modern and quiet. The design of the room was nice and there was everything you needed.

The breakfast was 7,50€ per person but was good and worth that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arttu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a recent trip with another couple. It was a quick taxi ride from the airport (about Euros 43). The hotel accommodated our request for an early check-in, which was great since we had less than a half an hour to freshen up before heading into Munich for the 1:00 Sandemans NewMunich tour. While these modern rooms are small by US standards, they were clean, had comfortable beds, and had everything we needed. The typical German breakfast (not part of room price) was fresh and plentiful, and we got to enjoy it in their outside garden since we had a beautiful sunny day. The metro, which is just steps from the hotel, takes about 20-25 minutes to Marienplatz in the center of town. The personnel at Motel One speak excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. Sixt Car Rental is right around the corner from the hotel, so we didn't pick up our car for two days and saved a lot of money (we were told it's best not to take a car into Munich. The next time I come back to Munich, I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here for a bsns trip. Sufficient. Still pretty new which is a plus. Clean. Rooms are small but I've stayed in smaller in Europe.

No phones in the room which I found weird. You can often feel their efforts to keep the cost and therefore costs down. But it is a good deal.

Minimal food and bar area has limited beverage options. Breakfast was ok not great. Very European spread - breads and meats.

I wouldn't choose to stay here unless I was asked to for work or trying to save $. If so then it's fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank saratogamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I spent one night in January 2012. The hotel is right next to the U-Bahn staton and bus stop.It is one station to the north of the Allianz Stadium which makes it ideal as a stopover to watch a football match as I did!
The hotel is new and small but cozy. The staff were brusque but efficient. The single room was small but had a queen-sized bed and a perfectly functional bathroom. The room was clean and air-conditioned. Breakfast and wi-fi had to be bought separately but both were well worth it as the breakfast was excellent and wifi connection very good, something never to be taken for granted in every hotel!
I will certainly be visiting this hotel again in March for my next Bayern home game!

Room Tip: Useful after the match as the U-Bahn travels in the opposite direction to central Munich and helps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed in Motel One for one night with breakfast in Feb 2012.

The Motel is a few metres from the U6 station, next to etap and Ibis hotels. Of the 3, Motel One is clearly the best. Rooms have nice decor and feel more modern, bathroom is nice design, temperature control in the room works nicely, modern flat screen TV with HDMI inputs, plenty of storage space.

Breakfast is buffet style and fine.

As it happens I forgot something in my room, and went back next day to see if it was still there. Pleasant and helpful lobby staff made a bit of an effort, and after a few minutes my item was located and returned to me.

The location next to a U-Bahn station is ideal for those who dont need or wish to stay in the centre of Munich.

S&L

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadAndLonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
8.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#29 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
6.3 mi away
LetoMotel City Nord
LetoMotel City Nord
#7 of 66 in Munich
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
8.2 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 66 in Munich
485 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Bayers
Hotel Bayers
#2 of 66 in Munich
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Munchen-Garching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Munchen-Garching

Address: Daimlerstr. 5A, 80798 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: $84 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Munchen-Garching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel One Munchen-Garching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing