We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, good staff, average facilities, cheap price”
Review of Hotel Herzog

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Herzog
Ranked #148 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good location, good staff, average facilities, cheap price”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

we stayed in the hotel just for two nights. even if we arrived the hotel at 10:00am,the staff was very helpfull, they arranged our room immediately. the room's cleanliness is questionable.. the shower seemed clear of but the linens and towels looked like stretched twice !! there was no messy smile in the room. hotel's aisles need repairment;wall papers turned black and ripped. The location is pretty good. from airport to the hotel, you can take a tube, just one change at marienplatz (center of munich) then get out and 1 minutes walk to the hotel. you can easily walk to the marienplatz, take 25 minutes walk or take a tube for 5minutes. another positive feedback of the hotel is free wireless access in the room.. if you dont mind inside the room and dont want to pay high, u can prefer the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasta with tuna... x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    139
    90
    33
    26
See reviews for
58
117
38
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Travelling on business to Munich and had for the first time the torturous experience at the Herzog. Room is dingy, old and cold. Toilets are clean but very old and again dingy needing an urgent refurbish. The bed was horrible couldn't sleep, room smelled dusty from the refurbishment next door. At 7am housekeeping started the noise and by 7.30am builders were in drilling what felt like my head. When I complain they offered me a different room which who in its sane mind would want?? Avoid this hotel at all costs not worth even if they pay for your stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talitamaumau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Herzog, Reservation Manager at Hotel Herzog, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Madame,

First of all I regret that you didn't feel comfortable in our hotel during your stay.

Concerning your complaint, please take note of the following:

Currently we do have two different room categories.
Standard rooms and recently new renovated superior rooms. You booked one of our standard single rooms for 52,- Euro.
I want to apologize that you smelled dust due to refurbishment measures. As already spoken by the phone I clarified this circumstance internally.
As you wrote in your complaint we offered you immediately one of our totally new renovated superior rooms without any surcharge. For your information these rooms were rated with 4 stars from the touring commission of the German Hotel & Catering Association. Unfortunately you didn't accept this upgrade but you left the hotel immediately without giving us the chance to show you these recently new renovated rooms. I'm sure you would have felt comfortable in these rooms.
Dear Madame - also during renovation works it is our highest priority to satisfy our customers.
I hope to see you again and would be glad to have the possibility to make you a special offer for your next stay in Munich.Then of course for totally new renovated rooms.
Best regards,
Matthias Knappe
(Reservation Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel was in a great location! It's very easy to access downtown as well as Oktoberfest! The rooms were small, as to be expected with any European hotel, but the staff was super friendly, knew the area very well and we had a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris5747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

All in all, I have no complaints about this hotel and would rate it 3.5 if I could. It is just a simple hotel -- nothing more, nothing less -- but the location is nice for Germany´s big annual event.

My husband and I booked this hotel to visit Oktoberfest. The location was great for this purpose and I rated it a 4 on location with Oktoberfest in mind. Google says that it is 1.1 kilometers from the location of Oktoberfest, but it was really much shorter because Google directs you to another area of the Oktoberfest grounds. In actuality, it is only about 550 meters from the entrance gate.

If you are going to Munich any other time of the year, you could probably find a hotel closer to the main sites. I would rate this hotel a 2 on location outside of Oktoberfest purposes because it is not really near any main sites. It is just under 2 kms by foot from Marienplatz, though you could easily get there via the underground rail (the hotel is only 100 meters from the Goetheplatz stop and from there it is only 2 stops to Marienplatz). For non-Oktoberfest times, I would recommend a hotel between Marienplatz and the English Garden, so you can easily walk to those places.

In terms of star rating, I would categorize it more in the 2.5 to 3 star range. The rooms are very simple and the bathrooms were pretty small. For those who have never traveled to Germany, keep in mind that it is normal to have two "twin-sized" beds pushed together to make one larger bed. This is also the case at this hotel, but again, this is common in most small German hotels (non-chains). Although we could not hear anything from the rooms next to us, we could hear a lot coming from the hallway. It did not bother us though, but if you are a light sleeper and are planning to be there around Oktoberfest, it could definitely be a problem as the drunks come home late and you can definitely hear them.

There is only one elevator that fits 4 people at best (with no luggage), but only 2 people with luggage. Even though we were there during a busy time, we didn`t find it a problem and never had to wait too long for it.

The breakfast buffet was nice and generous in my opinion, but if you are American do not expect an American breakfast with pancakes, bacon, and eggs. Germans typically eat a cold breakfast with various breads, cheeses, and hams. There were always a couple of warm items though, but sometimes a little strange, like chicken skewers with a spicy sauce. It was good, but strange because it is not normally a breakfast thing (but maybe it is in some other countries). They also had different pastries and some cereal. Breakfast is not included, but I think it was only like 8 or 9 Euros. There were a couple of places down the street that offered breakfast, too, and there is also a McDonald´s about 250-300 meters from the hotel.

They have onsite parking for 15 Euros per day, but the parking garage is small with a very, very steep entrance/exit. I am not sure how some cars manage to get out without scratching the bottom of their bumper. We drive a mid-size SUV (X5) and it was not easy to get the car into one of the carports. They only have spaces for about 12 cars or so and by the time we arrived there were only two spots left. It was not possible to fit the SUV into one spot because of how the roof curved down (it would have hit in the top), but the only other spot was against the far wall and it was not easy to get it in. It took my husband several tries to get it in and then he had to crawl out of the back to get out because there was so little space on each side of the car.

Bottom line -- the hotel is simple, but decent. I would stay here again the next time we come to Oktoberfest, but I would probably book a different hotel closer to Marienplatz or the English Garden if I was just going to Munich any other time of the year.

Room Tip: From what I have read, rooms that face the street are horrible in terms of noise. We had a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdyrdek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here last week for Oktoberfest which is five mins away. Lovely, clean, friendly hotel. Breakfast was excellent and although we didnt dine on an evening here the bar and restaurant looked so welcoming. The staff were very very friendly and polite. Even out of Oktoberfest I would stay here; its a 20 min walk into Marianplatz (Munich central) and very easy to find. Its also very reasonable. Would def go again!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room as though being near Oktoberfest it would be noisey, but all rooms front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is that its 5 minutes walk to theOctober festival. 1,5 km to Marienplatz where there is good shopping,restaurants and bars. The hotel should definitely be renovated, and the rooms are small. Smallest shower I have ever experienced. Friendly staff though. Expensive, at least during the festival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BergersenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were neat, clean and more than you'd expect from the sharp price. I forgot to take my mobile phone charger from the room and the staff was happy to return it to me afterwards by post. Free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamiel4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.3 mi away
Bold Hotel Munich Center
Bold Hotel Munich Center
#86 of 383 in Munich
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#46 of 383 in Munich
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#137 of 383 in Munich
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herzog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herzog

Property: Hotel Herzog
Address: Haeberlstr. 9 | 80337 München, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Herzog 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, Mediterranean-style rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs are offered at this 3-star non-smoking hotel in central Munich. It is directly on Goetheplatz Square, just 500 metres from the Theresienwiese Oktoberfest Venue. The stylish rooms at Hotel Herzog Munchen are completely renovated and feature a private bathroom with a rain shower and a hairdryer. Some rooms also include a balcony. A hearty breakfast buffet and a range of Italian dishes can be enjoyed in the Tuscan-style restaurant or on the pretty courtyard terrace with olive trees. Goetheplatz Underground Station is a 2-minute walk from the hotel, and Marienplatz Square is just 2 stops away. On-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Herzog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzog Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing