We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth
Ranked #132 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here one night in July 12, got the room at a discount but was a bit disappointed. room was a little scruffy, one wall needed painting. room was to include water in the fridge and a kettle, asked reception for both and got neither..small thing but it's meant to be four star..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear guest,

we are terribly sorry for the inconveniences we caused.
Normally our service is high and all guest needs will be taken care of imediatlely.

We promise to keep working on that.

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 253 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were given 2 different rooms before we found one that was acceptable (smelly). We quickly found out that people live in this hotel- which we thought was a bit odd. As I have complained about before in other reviews, the air conditioning did not work well...I was awake all night sweating. The service was atrocious. The front desk staff was rude. Parking was about $25 USD a night, which was ridiculous, considering how inconvenient it was to get our bags upstairs. It was dirty and gross there. I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Since we are an apartment-hotel guests stay with us quite a while. For this all rooms are equipped with a kitchinette - a loved details also from our regular hotel guests.
We would love to have you back - so we can proof - Service is high, wellbeing also! :-)

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Found a nice price on hotwire, no regrets on this stay. Hotel is modern and clean, room had small kitchen, hotel has affordable laundry facilities too. Did not try restaurant,wish I had. Bus stop near hotel links to old city in maybe 10 minutes and from Hbf can go anywhere, hotel is in nice neighborhood. Would love to visit again soon.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
Thank heckflosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind review!
You would love to visit again soon.. we would love to have you back soon. MATCH :-)

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Neat and Clean hotel , def a 4 star property..
no S bahn station nearby , but Bus stand is next to the hotel so no issues of connectivity during day time or till 1 in the night..
good staff..
the morning breakast is a delight :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan_Agrawal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We used this hotel during our move to Munich. You have self service flats there as well as regular hotels. It is full service if that is what you require. Central location and next to the river Isar. As luck would have it we found a flat around the corner and recommend this hotel when we have extra guests staying in Munich. It is quite and clean. As is standard with many German hotels you have breakfast included and a sauna area in the basement.

Room Tip: top floor courtyard facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for these nice words! Such a praise of a professional is great.
We hope you have settled in well and visit us again soon as NEIGHBOURS :-)
Shane's Restaurant offers delicious cuisine and great ambience - for all occasions.

See you soon in one of our Derag Livinghotels

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were here for the last 2 days of Oktoberfest and one additional day. Our reservations were made by a third party. My wife is in a wheelchair and we were upset to find the wheelchair could not enter the bathroom. Knowing there are not any rooms available in Munich during Oktoberfest we asked the staff what could be done. Happily one of the staff came up with an engenious way to get in the bathroom. Since the room was basicly a suite with a living room, bedroom and kitchenette it was truely a wonderful room. Being able to make the bathroom work made the whole stay work for us. The breakfast was quite good and I was able to take breakfast to my wife in the room. The two free beers and water were much appreciated by us. We walked a lot in the area having a wonderful dinner at an outside cafe just a couple of blocks from the hotel. The staff was most helpful with my wife's special needs. They speak good English and were very accomodating. Thank you for all of your help!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubber8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OleKloth, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Dear Bubber8,

to make your stay with us as unforgetable as possible - was a real pleasure for us.
Thank you so much for your nice review and your friendly words. The staff says: Hi!
And we are looking forward having you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sept. 2011. Took the train from the airport to the main train station in town and then caught a cab to the hotel for 12 euros. Thought that was a bargain as there were four of us with a lot of luggage and we got a very large taxi van. Many posts talked about taking a bus to the hotel from the train station but we took a taxi because we were too tired to figure it out, had too much luggage, and it was raining. We got to the hotel very early....around 10 A.M. At first they told me that check-in was only guaranteed for 2 P.M. I was persistent but extremely polite in requesting early check in. The front desk was kind enough to call housekeeping who said they could have our two rooms ready in 20 min. We all thanked the front desk multiple times for this courtesy. On the other hand, another group of Americans was belligerent with the front desk about their rooms not being ready and were forced to wait for hours. My conclusion is that sometimes people that complain about front desk personnel being rude and uncooperative deserve what they get. (only sometimes because I found the front desk personnel in Salzburg very cold and unhelpful) We liked the hotel room because it was a suite. There was a separate kitchenette (very convenient) and sitting area with a sliding door to close off the bedroom. My husband likes to stay up reading with the light on while I got to bed early so we appreciated this. The hotel provided 2 free beers and 2 free waters every day --- very nice. You had to catch a bus to go downtown. Once we figured out that the bus picked up at a different point than it dropped off it was a breeze. However, we stood downtown for 30 min. waiting for the bus to pickup us before we figured this out by running after a bus. The pickup point downtown is around the corner from the drop off place...closer to the main square. The Rewe grocery store next door was perfect. We bought drinks and pastries for breakfast and ate in our room. We rented a car from downtown when we left this hotel. We didn't need a car when we first arrived in Munich and it is much cheaper to rent a car away from the airport. I would recommend this hotel to others if you don't mind having to take public transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OleKloth, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear Hackers2,

WOW! We are speachless! This is such a nice gesture to take your time for a lovley and authentic review like this.
We drop a curtsy and looking forward seeing you again in the close future.

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
1.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
1.0 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#154 of 385 in Munich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.5 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#146 of 385 in Munich
396 reviews
3.0 mi away
Central Hotel-Apart
Central Hotel-Apart
#144 of 385 in Munich
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth

Address: Geyerstr. 52, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#66 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#70 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $108 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Prinzessin Elisabeth, built in 2000, is situated in Munich’s old town, the legendary “Glockenbachviertel”. Right on the Isar, which is very suitable for walking or jogging, you can expect timeless elegance. The world-famous German Museum are within walking distance. Due to the bus stop directly in front of the house you can reach Munich downtown or to the Theresienwiese, the venue of the annual Oktoberfest, in a very short time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livinghotel Prinzessin Elisabeth Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing