We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast, terrible noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Praesident

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Praesident
Ranked #114 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, terrible noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I depend greatly on the reviews here, so I need to be honest about this one. I think that the hotel is in a great location, especially for the Oktoberfest and the train station. However, it is beyond noisy. It doesn't matter if you close the windows, you will still be able to hear EVERYTHING. If you are looking to get a good night's sleep, it won't happen. On the other hand, the breakfast provided in the morning is fantastic. A wide varriety provided for you and delicious. If you are looking to party and don't care about sleep, than this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not by the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKailua_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    136
    53
    6
    5
See reviews for
69
71
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I will start off by saying that this hotel is on a very busy street. If you can get past the extremely loud street (sirens, street cleaners, loud vehicles, loud people), then this hotel might be for you. As other reviews indicate, there are indeed casinos and sex shops immediately next to and around this hotel, which was a bit shocking trying to find it at night, especially travelling with my older parents.

The hotel is, in no way, situated in a charming or quiet section of Munich. If all you care about is location, this hotel is within walking distance to the main train station, Marienplatz, Viktualientmarkt, Theresienwiese, etc. However, if you are after a good night of sleep, you better hope your room isn't on the street side. I got maybe 8 hours of sleep over the course of two nights.

Also, one person in our party was awoken around 4am by a persistent noise seemingly coming from her bathroom. After not being to figure out what it was to make it stop and not being able to sleep, she walked down to the lobby to find the front-desk clerk sleeping near the bar, who told her "What do you want me to do? You check out tomorrow".

The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was the best part of our stay; great spread, staff were attentive and offered coffee as soon as you walk in and sit down. The rooms were dated but clean but my bed was not very comfortable. No AC so the rooms were stuffy and only option was to open the windows to the loud street. No free internet, which is pretty ridiculous.

Overall, an average to less than average stay for us. I will not return to this hotel and was happy to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the street. It was loud even with earplugs in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We got a great deal for this hotel. We needed a reasonably placed hotel near the train station for an overnight stop. The rooms were dated but clean, We had asked for a room at the back and the room was very quiet. I would imaging the rooms at the front are very noisy. The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts we have had at a city hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is located about a pleasant 10-15 min walk away from the Centre of Munich. Having read some previous reviews about the location I was not really sure what to expect ie sex shops, casinos etc yes they are located around and about but they are not that evident and the street certainly is not seedy. The only place I can equate it to is the bottom of Edgeware Rd in London although not as wide or busy Certainly nothing to worry about. Once inside the hotel the room was a very generous size the beds are certainly comfortable and the shower powerful (cant ask for much more than that) We had a room on the back which was quiet as everyone has eluded to on previous reports The staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was second to none The prefect way to set you up for a days sightseeing.
Would I stay there again? Certainly
Value for money ? Definitetly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for a stop over as it was close to the train station. The room was quiet but lacked air conditioning and a mini bar, also no free wifi is available. The breakfast was good, the room was clean. Loved the little sweets on the bed too !

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambersmum675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The room is quite large for a family but there isn't air conditioning and with the windows open the noise of the traffic is very high!
The hotel is situated near the center of Munich but it is in a street were there are a lot of bar and night clubs, so the noise, if you have e room open on the main street, is terrible!
The breakfast is good, the best that we have eat in Germany in hotel.
Appreciated the cheap parking for the car that the hotel offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the court are more confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giramondo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Overall, I was not impressed with this hotel. It did have nice decor in the rooms, breakfast was great, the staff was friendly, and the hand soap was nice. Otherwise, wi-fi costs 5euro/day and in my opinion this is something that comes standard/free/included with this type of hotel. There was a lobby computer that you could use for free for 20 minutes at a time so this was nice to have at least some access without paying. Also, this is not located in a very nice part of town - there are bars, casinos, and strip clubs lining the whole block. I liked that it was close to the train station and city center, but there has to be something better than this.. Street was always fairly noisy and since there was no air conditioning, I had to leave my windows open for air flow, thus the sound traveled in too. Upon asking to move to a room across the hall (on the backside of the hotel), I was told that would not be possible. I think this hotel should have been cheaper for what it offered. There was nothing "presidential" about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#45 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#50 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#65 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Munchen City Centre B&B
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#135 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eder
Hotel Eder
#56 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praesident? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praesident

Property: Hotel Praesident
Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 20, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praesident 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly in the center of town; across from the Deutschen Theater. The main train station (Hauptbahnhof) is only 150m away. The pedestrian zone, numerous restaurants and most tourist attractions are within walking distance, or reachable by public transportation. The Fairground is 9,5 km away and can be reached by subway in about 20 min. The rooms have bathrooms with shower, flat-TV incl. SKY channel, internet connection, radio, telephone, hairdryer and minibar. The Breakfast - Room is modern fashioned. In the morning we offer a rich breakfast - buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Praesident reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing