We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dated...Not what we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring
Ranked #143 of 382 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Dated...Not what we expected!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

As a seasoned business traveler I have stayed at a number of large chain hotels throughout the world. As this hotel is part of the Radisson brand I made an assumption that it would be on par with Courtyard by Marriott. Not all the luxury but certainly updated/maintained facilites and good service. I was mistaken. I booked this hotel as an add on to a business trip to take advantage of the Christmas markets in and around Munich. We arrived at the the hotel at 3pm in the pouring rain with our rental car only to be told that there was no parking available. I had to park the car in the BMW business park on an industrial side street about 6 blocks from the hotel. The lobby was clean and the front desk staff was friendly. Rooms were somewhat limited when I made my reservation so I had to pay more for a "business traveler friendly" room. The hotel also advertised that "free" internet was included. The room was on the 5th floor and had an obstucted ceiling because of the slanted roof. There was barely enough room for my shoulders to pass through the room to where the bed was located. The room decor was from the 1970's with a drop pannel rusty ceiling in the bathroom. It was a complete joke. There was a dated kitchenette hidden behind what looked like closet doors which is apparently the feature that made this room "business traveler friendly". When I could not find the wireless signal I called down to the front desk where I was informed that there was only wireless in the lobby and that you needed a network cable to access the internet in your room! Who travels with a network cable anymore??? We spent the afternoon/evening at the Christmas Market in the rain and freezing temperatures. We did take the train into Munich and although the hotel is not located near anything it does have a train stop within reasonable walking distance. When we returned to the hotel cold and wet we realized that there was no heat in our hotel room. When I called down to the front desk I was instructed on how to turn on the radiator but also informed that it would take quite some time for the heat to radiate. We were freezing as the temperatures had dipped well below freezing and the building was old and not well insulated. When we complained to the front desk we were informed that there were no other rooms they could move us to and they brought us a few extra blankets. In 8 hours the room never reached an acceptable temperature. We slept in our pants with coats on to stay warm. The hotel was fully booked and we had to wait for a table at the breakfast buffet in the morning. They were understaffed and were not able to keep up with replenishing the breakfast items, coffee or hot water for tea.

All in all this was by far one of the worst hotel experiences I have had anywhere. I would not recommend this chain of hotels to anyone and certainly not this specific location in Munich.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel do not accept a room on the 5th floor as they have a very compromi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja J, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay.
On behalf of our entire team at the Park Inn we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in our Hotel.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    157
    63
    17
    7
See reviews for
49
88
26
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Dont get fooled by the "by Radisson"-name, this is far from what you will expect.
The hotel is located outside the city-central, no walking distance to anything.
It clean, and the staff is friendly, but thats it. Small rooms, no room-service, small and simple breakfast. If you just need a place to sleep quietly for one or two nights, this will do fine

Room Tip: Stay away from ground-floor rooms and ask for a room NOT facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja J, Front Office Agent at Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

In the name of our entire team at the Park Inn we apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel and we were unfortunately unable to comply your wishes.
We do appreciate your honesty and hope you accept our apology.

Sincerely yours
Anne Keller
Front Office Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf del Sur, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is possibly a little dated but everything works just fine and it is clean and comfortable.

We upgraded to an Executive Room and it was money well spent. We had a separate spacious living area as well as a comfortable bedroom. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. It was lovely and quiet at night so we both slept very well.
The shower was fantastic, plenty of power and hot water. The TV hardly had any English channels unfortunately but we didn't go to Munich to watch TV so it wasn't a huge problem.

The breakfast was adequate but nothing to get excited about.
The hotel itself is quite a way from the city centre but the U-Bahn station is right next-door and the trains run every 10 minutes and will get you there in about 12 minutes.

The thing that impressed me most about the hotel was it's staff and their levels of customer service. Everybody we encountered was only too happy to help us with any requests we had and spoke perfect English. If we asked them for anything (eg extra pillows) it was carried out with typical German efficiency.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in an nice quite room and don't mind being a bit of a way from the centre.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room is you can, you get far more room and the price includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja J, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed. We are looking forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely yours
Anne Keller
Front Office Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Family type hotel very friendly atmosphere and staff. Excellent location for my trip purposes with easy access to public transports. Rooms are relatively small but clean with comfortable beds.
Suggest more tv channels in english at least Euronews.
Certainly I suggest Park Inn Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Yiannoula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja J, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

In the name of our entire team at the Park Inn we apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel and we were unfortunately unable to comply your wishes.

We do appreciate your honesty and hope you accept our apology, and we would like to welcome you once again and exceed your expectations on your next visit, if you should come to Munich again.

Sincerely yours
Anne Keller
Front Office Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value. Very friendly staff who speak English. Location isn't the best for restaurants and sightseeing but it is on a major subway line and a short trip to Munich center. Will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja J, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed. We are looking forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely yours
Anne Keller
Front Office Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Park Inn is overall a good hotel, and the value is based on what you pay, of course. If you're paying the standard rate you might not be so pleased. I'm traveling on business, so some elements of the review focus on business needs. The good: as a self described spoiled American in Munich during a heat-wave, it was nice to see the a/c cooling properly; good breakfast buffet; free internet; frig & small stove; secure underground parking. The not so good: no wireless in the rooms, the wired connection needs to be reset about every 1/2 hour, and it's slow; the a/c seems to be on a timer, so it turns off frequently; none of the usual English TV news channels such as BBC News or CNN International found in business hotels; constructions outside back of hotel; and no power outlet in the bathroom. Again, if you're a tourist, some or all of these may not matter to you.

Room Tip: Best views face the main road, but they are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja J, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

In the name of our entire team at the Park Inn we apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel and we were unfortunately unable to comply your wishes.
It will be changed in the next few weeks on wifi the whole hotel.

We do appreciate your honesty and hope you accept our apology, and we would like to welcome you once again and exceed your expectations on your next visit, if you should come to Munich again.

Sincerely yours
Anne Keller
Front Office Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

One night stay in a triple room. Updated furnishings, modern communal areas. Bar / limited restaurant within the building. Excellent for short stay. Underground is near by, staff is very friendly. It is hidden away and there is a long driveway/circle to drive through, but staff was helping with parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing outside the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja J, Front Office Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ashley

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed. We are looking forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely yours

Anne Keller
Front Office Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Ost
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konigstein
Hotel Konigstein
#255 of 382 in Munich
68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arthotel ANA im Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Munich City North
Super 8 Munich City North
#134 of 382 in Munich
73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring
Address: Frankfurter Ring 20-22, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Munich
#82 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city's popular Schwabing district, the Park Inn by Radisson Munich Frankfurter Ring affords guests easy access to top restaurants and vibrant nightlife. This hotel in Munich is convenient to the A9 motorway, making it a smart choice for both business and leisure travellers. A total of 81 Standard and Business Friendly Rooms welcome guests with top amenities, including Wireless High-Speed Internet, individual climate control and coffee and tea provisions. Start the morning with the hotel's delicious buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Munchen Frankfurter Ring Hotel Munich
Munich Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing