We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Friendly Service”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to the City Centre and the Market. The rooms were clean, neat, and the beds were comfortable. I traveled to Munich with my wife and daughter on holiday. One evening my daughter was not feeling well and the staff went out of their way to bring her some hot tea, along with a peeled and finely chopped apple. Nice touch and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Superb quality hotel on the edge of the city centre. The Banhof is about 25 mins walk or 5/10 minutes in a taxi. So right at the heart of the city and near the pedestrianised area yet with vehicle access and generous parking space. Rooms are very clean and smart. The hotel has a modern ambience although originally a medieval establishment. We found the hotel impeccably quiet. Breakfast served in the first floor dining room was of an excellent standard.
The staff were invariably helpful offering good advice about local restaurants and also booking a taxi. As we had to leave to catch a train before breakfast we were offered a breakfast box to take with us on our journey; very helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Herodotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in February, and loved this hotel. Very nice breakfast buffet, including Liege waffles, smoked salmon, pastries. Good Dallmayr coffee, and it's possible to order milchkaffee or cappuccinos from the server. Modern bathrooms, with nice toiletries. Small single rooms (with single/twin size beds, as is common in Europe), but very clean and bright. Very convenient to the Isartor sbahn, and a short walk to Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz. I would certainly stay at the Torbraeu again on a future visit to Munich.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoenikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Over the past three years I have stayed at the Hotel Torbrau on five different occasions. This is a wonderful hotel that is centrally located to a number of great restaurants and some of the top tourist attractions. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful, and go out of their way to make one's stay a thoroughly satisfying experience. With the room rate comes a large daily breakfast and free wifi. The single rooms are fairly small, but they are clean, well maintained, and very comfortable. The bathrooms are larger than usual. One thing I particularly liked about the rooms is that there are plenty of electrical outlets to charge multiple devices simultaneously. I will continue to return to the Hotel Torbrau.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed there for one night on Feb/14. This is a very good hotel, buy I have to revise it as excellent considering it's location: easy access to the pedestrian zone and main attractions in Munich (less than 5 min to the pedestrian zone via the Tal street) and at the same time located in a quieter area although still in the city center. Cordial and professional staff, parking available on the side street and in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lu_De_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Considering the age of the Hotel Torbrau. My wife and I were thrilled with our 2 nights stay there. The location to the market and Old Town were perfect. The breakfast I think was great with just enough selection. The staff were the most friendly helpful people I have ever met. The rooms though not huge were very clean with an excellent bathroom. If you can't be happy here then you should go to one of the big hotels. If you want to be close to the action, then this is your best bet.
Thanks for the memories!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one night at the beginning of March 2014. The hotel is ideally located within the old Town and a short walk to the central square. We had a standard room with a huge bathroom, everything was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was very nice and there was plenty of choice. The hotel itself has an upmarket feel and the entrance to the breakfast room was similar to entering a boutique ! The staff were polite and helpful and although £150 for one night was expensive (though typical pricing for a centrally located hotel in Munich) I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,701 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $217 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing