We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #11 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent a night at the Torbrau after a week in Austria, what a pleasant experience. The first room we were allocated overlooked a parking lot, but we asked for another one and the staff were only too happy to give us one overlooking the Isotor gate and Tal. It might be a bit noisy for some, Munich on a Saturday night seems to be a party town so there is a quite a bit of street activity until the early hours, it didn't bother us but for light sleepers a non street facing room could be a better choice.

Our room was of a high standard, with free wifi and a breakfast with a wide choice of breads, pastries and cold meats. Our flight home was in the evening but the hotel allowed us to keep the room until mid afternoon at no extra cost, something that not many hotels permit.

Location is excellent, only a few minutes walk from Mariannenplatz, restaurants and the famous Hofbrauhaus, the underground station is right across the street with trains running directly to the airport, perfect I would stay again next time I'm in Munich.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    290
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
249
391
67
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a very good hotel in a great location (on the main street that goes right to the main square - 5 minute walk). When I first arrived, I didn't get it. The room seemed a bit odd in design - two chairs at the foot of the bed that were stylish but not comfortable, a bathroom that was pretty tight (the shower stall is tricky for tall people). Then I settled in and realized the hotel is good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable (note that the king-size bed is two mattresses with two duvets). Breakfasts are good. The main restaurant, Schapeau, is very good and should be busier. Definitely worth checking it out.

Room Tip: The hotel has a small alley on the left side (as you enter) and there is an apartment building right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OaklandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Torbrau for 3 nights in January 2014. We had 3 different style rooms and all 3 were satisfactory to excellent. The Jr Suite was a good size except for the tiny shower "capsule". You might wish to inquire about the shower situation if that matters to you.
The staff was attentive and helpful in restaurant selection and other matters such as car service to the train station.
The location is unbeatable, being very near the Marienplatz.
In a lovely bright room, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

As others have said the location can't be beat. Front desk staff were all really helpful. I stayed in a Jr. Suite, which while small was comfy. The minibar was included in the rate. Breakfast was delicious and served quickly. Room was quiet at all times. Not an inexpensive hotel, but the location can't be beat. Tip, if you don't need to take a taxi to the airport use the train and save yourself 50 Euros.

Room Tip: stayed in 301 and didn't hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjoseguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We travel a lot through Europe with our teenaged child, so I consider myself a connoisseur of triple rooms. We booked a triple, and it was quite expensive, even by European standards. The booking confirmation indicated the rate included breakfast, but when we checked out we were actually charged for the third breakfast.

The room itself was very cramped for three people. There were too many chairs fitted in, so we kept walking into hard wooden furniture.

But the deal breaker for us was that the third bed was really hard. And I don't mean 'firm' in the mattress sense, but actually hard. It was like a sofa with the cushions taken off. We ended up all trying to pile into the double bed as nobody could actually get to sleep on it. A mattress topper would have made all the difference.

I agree with other reviewers that the location is excellent, the decor lovely, the bathroom immaculate and the staff very friendly. I just would probably not stay here again in a triple room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed there during my trip to Munich. It's conveniently located close to the city centre and 5 min walk from S-bahn station, line going to airport. It's clean, calm, rooms are spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts, with wide choice. Helpful and kind staff. A nice restaurant/bar adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the wing not adjacent to the main street are obviously quieter; staff well respects the gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel claims to be Munich's oldest, founded in 1490. The present owner families took over in 1900. The hotel was recently completely renovated. Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the bath very well done.

The hotel is located next to the "S-Bahn" (subway) station "Isartor" which is 3 stations from Munich's main station. They also have sufficient parking places for autos.

The center of Munich, "Marienplatz", is only a 5 minute walk away, as is the Hofbräu Haus and Viktualien Markt. There are numerous typical Munich restaurants close by.

Munich is expensive (for Germany), and this hotel is no exception. In spite of that, I can warmly recommend this hotel - real Munich in the middle of one of its nicest parts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,938 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Property: Hotel Torbraeu
Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing