We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Check-in was a Bonus”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #9 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have to love this hotel because, among many things, they had our room ready for us early when we arrived from the airport, after a LONG flight. This made all the difference in our jet lag experience. We were able to crash for a couple of hours which helped tremendously. We arranged airport pick up which was on time and worth the $$.

The staff is great. Very helpful and never too busy to help with directions and general chit chat. We booked a suite and I agree with the other reviews that the decor is a bit corny and cluttered but the bed was cozy and the bathroom was huge. Double sinks and a large soaking tub. Lots of counter space for "stuff".

The breakfast was delicious and beautifully arranged. The restaurant Schapeau was excellent and we especially loved our server, Gabriel.

Perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-RPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed several times at the Torbräu, most frequently to attend the Oktoberfest, and thoroughly enjoy staying there. The location is wonderful, just a five minute walk down the Tal to the Marienplatz, the center of old Munich. We were told that the Torbräu is the oldest hotel in Munich, but it is continually being modernized, a testament to the wisdom of the owners. The hotel staff are uniformly helpful and considerate.

We stayed in a standard room, which was a bit small (not a big deal because we spent little time in our hotel room) but well equipped, including two comfortable easy chairs and a desk. Free internet is a real plus and we had a very strong signal in our room. The bathroom was large enough for the two of us, sporting a double sink (a feature that I like very much but is not common in German hotels). I do not believe that all rooms in the Torbräu come with a double sink, so if that is important to you be sure to ask for it.

The breakfasts are terrific, even better than the typically excellent German breakfasts. Many selections are available on the buffet—an assortment of juices, fruits, cereals, breads, meats, fish, cheeses, pastries and other goodies. One can also have made-to-order eggs, which I did every morning.

The Torbräu has a restaurant on site which is quite good. The décor is modern and charming and offers a broad selection of drinks and meals.

The hotel offers parking at their private lot on the side street of the hotel. Unfortunately, it is not possible to make a garage reservation, a policy that I can understand. But it was a bit annoying that after having stayed at the hotel for several nights, I decided to drive outside Munich to do a bit of touring but was not permitted to keep my parking place. Instead, when I returned to the hotel, someone else had occupied my space and I was compelled to park at the public lot a couple of hundred meters away. Not a huge deal, but an annoyance nevertheless.

Nevertheless, I would recommend the Torbräu very highly as a wonderful hotel in the heart of Munich.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a really delightful hotel. They even provided us with a tea tray in our room. The staff were so accommodating and the room was perfectly appointed and quiet. The location couldn't have been better as it was a business trip for us. We had to get to the Drinktech exhibition and it was easy on the train We ate at the restaurant for dinner twice and it was excellent. Thankyou for the wonderful 5 days - I can heartily recommend the Hotel Torbrau to all our friends.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel on the top floor and was very quiet and we could sleep with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just arrived home from a 3 night stay at the Torbrau and enjoyed every moment of it. The staff were great - attentive and always willing to help.

The last thing you need after a long journey is a prolonged check in experience, at the Torbrau it was totally hassle free and after a couple of minutes we were checked in with information about Munich, Oktoberfest and with complimentary wi-fi cards for all of our devices. Our room, although on the small side had everything we needed with really comfortable beds.

Breakfast was fantastic with a diverse continental selection. Attention to detail is the order of the day at this hotel. Smoked salmon with slices of lemon and fresh tartare sauce. The complimentary Sekt went down a treat too, a really nice touch.

Travel to Oktoberfest was 5-10 minutes in a taxi and cost 10 euro. There are closer hotels but we appreciated being in a quieter part of town when we needed some rest. Getting a taxi in Munich is the easiest I've experienced anywhere in the world, even after a hectic day at Oktoberfest so getting to and fro isn't a problem.

We had dinner one evening in the adjoining restaurant, Schapeau, and it was beyond our expectations. Fabulous and really reasonable prices. Go there!

I can't recommend this little gem enough, thanks to the staff for a lovely stay and we will be returning in 2014!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarasmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay here was a true delight. The room was designed to use space effectively and furnishings and décor were very pleasant and well-maintained. We were located on the front under the clock tower but never experienced excessive street noise. The breakfast buffet was fine but quality and service varied from day to day. We ate two meals in the hotel restaurant, Schapeau, and the staff did an admirable job in accommodating our two-person “special dinner” in a room full of business parties. Add in the splendid location and this hotel was a real winner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobg2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our two days at Torbrau were outstanding. The staff was helpful and courteous, the breakfast buffet was delicious, and the room (a junior suite) left nothing to be desired. We also ate dinner and enjoyed cocktails on the hotel's sidewalk cafe both nights. The servers there were friendly and accommodating and we felt like we know them after just two days there. The location is perfect - walking distance to the subway station and busy town squares without having too endure all the noise and lack of privacy. This is really a beautiful and historic hotel and I would stay there again if I were to return to Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite - small but comfortable living area. large bedroom, and luxurious bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Torbrau is perfectly located within walking distance of old Munich's main attractions. You can also visit the rest of the city and its suburbs via subway ---one of the metro's main stations is some 50 steps away. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Rooms were comfortable. But I have to save my best comments for the staff: the people at the front desk were extremely helpful in providing information on what and how to see the many attractions of the city. The staff at the breakfast restaurant was constantly checking how we were doing. Our 4 days at the Torbrau were a wonderful experience thanks to its wonderful people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
867 reviews
1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,634 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 390 in Munich
735 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $193 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing