We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a very convenient location and located right in the city center on a quite street. We had a room on 5th floor (last floor) with the beautiful view of the town roofs and roof top terraces. The double room was small with king size bed, table with two chairs, flat screen tv, and large closet. The room size is normal by European standards. The bathroom was large and beautiful with huge bath tub. The room and bathroom were spotless.

The service was excellent. Anything we asked for we had within a few minutes. We hired the hotel shuttle and they met us at the airport and dropped us off on the way back-that was very convenient.

The hotel restaurant was delicious and very relaxing.

I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    254
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
218
329
56
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotell, good size room and very good bathroom. Quiet, no noise from outside even when we slept with open windows
Very nice situated in the middle of Munich. Very old hotel, but we slept in a modern wing. Next door is a very nice restaurant with very nice servants. Good food.
Everybody speaks perfect English. We want to come back

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 274856Tone43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What more can you ask for? Location. Location. Location. The Hotel Torbrau is yards from Munich's central plaza with the famous "Rathaus" the medieval glockenspiel, the Karl Valentine museum, the toy museum, upscale department stores and within walking distance of almost anything a tourist would want to see in Munich . This, the oldest hotel in Munich, offers plain, clean, functional rooms with large bathrooms as it welcomes you to a place of quiet and rest in the city center. The beds are comfortable, the room sparkling clean and the breakfast buffet large and varied with fresh Bavarian style rolls, fruit, cereals, cheeses, deli meats and the ever present assortment of sweet rolls. Furthermore, the Hotel has a seemingly elegant restaurant (compared to the nearby bratwurst and beer-halls) with beautifully presented and prepared food and drink. Lounges and lifts also compliment the hostelry, I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BubblesNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located right out of the metro... You really shouldn't stay in your room since you are so close to everything that Munich can offer you downtown. You are within walking distance of the shops, city hall, Saturday market, and nice restaurants. We had enjoyed an after dinner drink/coffee/cake at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The service was really nice and food was enjoyable.

I bought fresh bread and several cheeses from the market. We took them with us to St. Anton (Asutria) on the train. They were a wonderful snack/lunch.

We will stay here again if we come to Munich!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our 6th visit to this hotel over the past 10 years and we are never disappointed. Great location for visiting the city centre shops and restaurants and in winter Christmas markets. Good quality refurbished rooms to an excellent standard. Friendly staff and good breakfast selection. They have also taken over and opened a new bar / restaurant along side entrance which adds to the amenities. Close to S bahn if travelling from airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOGofBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Right next to the S-Bahn station, this old hotel has really tried to update its previosuly rather tired appearance. The rooms are sleeker and brighter now and the service much more efficient. Probably one of the best breakfast buffets you will find. Will go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family of four (with two teenage boys) stayed for 3 nights in March. We had two connecting double rooms in the fifth floor on the inside, overlooking rooftops. Right from the time we were inquiring about the room, rate, etc to the time of check out, the hotel staff were very professional, courteous, and helpful (thank you, Jeanett!). They'd even arranged a local tour guide (Stefan Rieg) who took us on a day-long customized Alpine tour - highly recommend this tour if you have a day or two set aside for sightseeing areas around Munich! As others have already mentioned, this hotel is in the city center, very close to Isartor S-Bahn station (~3-5 min walk), Marienplatz (~5 min), Viktualienmarkt (~5min). As we had some luggage, we took a cab from the airport to the Hotel (65 Euro).

Rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Room service was very prompt and courteous. Breakfast spread was excellent - cheese, sausages, bread, vegetables, yoghurt, juice, and eggs made to order!

Check-in and check-out process was very easy and quick. Even though the elevator is a little small, they will get your luggage to the room and it was not a problem for us. Bathroom was very clean with towel rack warmer. Please remember to bring some hair conditioner as that's one item that we missed. Even though there was some renovation going on, we were not bothered by it and did not hear any noise during our stay.

Overall, all of us had a wonderful stay and will definitely stay here next time we are in Munich!

Dankeschön!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank History4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#8 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#10 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Property: Hotel Torbraeu
Address: Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing