We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect in middle of town. Good athmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #12 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect in middle of town. Good athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotell, good size room and very good bathroom. Quiet, no noise from outside even when we slept with open windows
Very nice situated in the middle of Munich. Very old hotel, but we slept in a modern wing. Next door is a very nice restaurant with very nice servants. Good food.
Everybody speaks perfect English. We want to come back

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 274856Tone43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    263
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
224
349
59
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What more can you ask for? Location. Location. Location. The Hotel Torbrau is yards from Munich's central plaza with the famous "Rathaus" the medieval glockenspiel, the Karl Valentine museum, the toy museum, upscale department stores and within walking distance of almost anything a tourist would want to see in Munich . This, the oldest hotel in Munich, offers plain, clean, functional rooms with large bathrooms as it welcomes you to a place of quiet and rest in the city center. The beds are comfortable, the room sparkling clean and the breakfast buffet large and varied with fresh Bavarian style rolls, fruit, cereals, cheeses, deli meats and the ever present assortment of sweet rolls. Furthermore, the Hotel has a seemingly elegant restaurant (compared to the nearby bratwurst and beer-halls) with beautifully presented and prepared food and drink. Lounges and lifts also compliment the hostelry, I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BubblesNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located right out of the metro... You really shouldn't stay in your room since you are so close to everything that Munich can offer you downtown. You are within walking distance of the shops, city hall, Saturday market, and nice restaurants. We had enjoyed an after dinner drink/coffee/cake at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The service was really nice and food was enjoyable.

I bought fresh bread and several cheeses from the market. We took them with us to St. Anton (Asutria) on the train. They were a wonderful snack/lunch.

We will stay here again if we come to Munich!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our 6th visit to this hotel over the past 10 years and we are never disappointed. Great location for visiting the city centre shops and restaurants and in winter Christmas markets. Good quality refurbished rooms to an excellent standard. Friendly staff and good breakfast selection. They have also taken over and opened a new bar / restaurant along side entrance which adds to the amenities. Close to S bahn if travelling from airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOGofBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Right next to the S-Bahn station, this old hotel has really tried to update its previosuly rather tired appearance. The rooms are sleeker and brighter now and the service much more efficient. Probably one of the best breakfast buffets you will find. Will go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family of four (with two teenage boys) stayed for 3 nights in March. We had two connecting double rooms in the fifth floor on the inside, overlooking rooftops. Right from the time we were inquiring about the room, rate, etc to the time of check out, the hotel staff were very professional, courteous, and helpful (thank you, Jeanett!). They'd even arranged a local tour guide (Stefan Rieg) who took us on a day-long customized Alpine tour - highly recommend this tour if you have a day or two set aside for sightseeing areas around Munich! As others have already mentioned, this hotel is in the city center, very close to Isartor S-Bahn station (~3-5 min walk), Marienplatz (~5 min), Viktualienmarkt (~5min). As we had some luggage, we took a cab from the airport to the Hotel (65 Euro).

Rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Room service was very prompt and courteous. Breakfast spread was excellent - cheese, sausages, bread, vegetables, yoghurt, juice, and eggs made to order!

Check-in and check-out process was very easy and quick. Even though the elevator is a little small, they will get your luggage to the room and it was not a problem for us. Bathroom was very clean with towel rack warmer. Please remember to bring some hair conditioner as that's one item that we missed. Even though there was some renovation going on, we were not bothered by it and did not hear any noise during our stay.

Overall, all of us had a wonderful stay and will definitely stay here next time we are in Munich!

Dankeschön!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank History4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After reading great reviews about this hotel we were extremely disappointed. Our room, at 200 Euros a night was small, on the fifth floor with sloping ceilings, small bathroom, and inadequate blinds which did not darken the room. It was also extremely hot despite putting the air conditioning onto 16 degrees, obviously it did not work. The breakfast buffet was disappointing, limited choice.
What we really found staggering was that dogs were allowed in the restaurant! This really put us off. We ate in the restaurant the night we arrived and the menu was very limited and the food not very appetizing. The staff were friendly, with one exception - one of the waitresses was extremely rude and shouted at us. I could not recommend this hotel at all which is a shame as it is in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Do not use the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#14 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Property: Hotel Torbraeu
Address: Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing