We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect hotel for visiting Munich City centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #11 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for visiting Munich City centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our 6th visit to this hotel over the past 10 years and we are never disappointed. Great location for visiting the city centre shops and restaurants and in winter Christmas markets. Good quality refurbished rooms to an excellent standard. Friendly staff and good breakfast selection. They have also taken over and opened a new bar / restaurant along side entrance which adds to the amenities. Close to S bahn if travelling from airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOGofBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    254
    28
    14
    8
See reviews for
221
332
56
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Right next to the S-Bahn station, this old hotel has really tried to update its previosuly rather tired appearance. The rooms are sleeker and brighter now and the service much more efficient. Probably one of the best breakfast buffets you will find. Will go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family of four (with two teenage boys) stayed for 3 nights in March. We had two connecting double rooms in the fifth floor on the inside, overlooking rooftops. Right from the time we were inquiring about the room, rate, etc to the time of check out, the hotel staff were very professional, courteous, and helpful (thank you, Jeanett!). They'd even arranged a local tour guide (Stefan Rieg) who took us on a day-long customized Alpine tour - highly recommend this tour if you have a day or two set aside for sightseeing areas around Munich! As others have already mentioned, this hotel is in the city center, very close to Isartor S-Bahn station (~3-5 min walk), Marienplatz (~5 min), Viktualienmarkt (~5min). As we had some luggage, we took a cab from the airport to the Hotel (65 Euro).

Rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Room service was very prompt and courteous. Breakfast spread was excellent - cheese, sausages, bread, vegetables, yoghurt, juice, and eggs made to order!

Check-in and check-out process was very easy and quick. Even though the elevator is a little small, they will get your luggage to the room and it was not a problem for us. Bathroom was very clean with towel rack warmer. Please remember to bring some hair conditioner as that's one item that we missed. Even though there was some renovation going on, we were not bothered by it and did not hear any noise during our stay.

Overall, all of us had a wonderful stay and will definitely stay here next time we are in Munich!

Dankeschön!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank History4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After reading great reviews about this hotel we were extremely disappointed. Our room, at 200 Euros a night was small, on the fifth floor with sloping ceilings, small bathroom, and inadequate blinds which did not darken the room. It was also extremely hot despite putting the air conditioning onto 16 degrees, obviously it did not work. The breakfast buffet was disappointing, limited choice.
What we really found staggering was that dogs were allowed in the restaurant! This really put us off. We ate in the restaurant the night we arrived and the menu was very limited and the food not very appetizing. The staff were friendly, with one exception - one of the waitresses was extremely rude and shouted at us. I could not recommend this hotel at all which is a shame as it is in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Do not use the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

stayed at the Torbrau in late January. The rooms were spacious, clean and warm. The staff were super friendly and helpful. When we checked out, they kindly dug our car out of the snow!! The bar served great cocktails. We didnt eat there so cant really comment on the food. All in all a great value hotel for central Munich. Everything is well within walking distance, even in -11C snowy January!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a two night short break at the end of February. After doing some research before we booked we decided on the Hotel torbrau as it appeared to be close to the town centre which was what we were looking for. The hotel is located imediately next to the historic Isator and is about 5-10 minutes walk to the Marienplatz right in the centre of town - a great location. the hotel itself is an historic building and is undergoing some renovation works - a fact we were advised of after booking. however we need not be concerned as there was no disruption from the on-going works. The hotel is very comfortable and fairly plush finishings and furnishings with good attention to detail and workmanship which provided a very comfortable stay. Our bedroom was on a quiet side road overlooking the hotel car-park and again we were not disappointed. The beds were comfortable and extra pillows were provided without a problem. A small screen wall divided off the bed area from the entrance to the room and wardrobe etc which meant that you could keep dirty or wet coats from the bed area. The bathroom was nicely styled and again had good quality fitments and was well cleaned. Breakfast was taken in a very bright and nicely furnished Breakfast Room and there was a good selection of continental and cooked options to eat. Coulndn'ty fault anything. The reception staff were very welcoming and could speak excellent english and their recommendations and advice was very helpful. On arrival at Munich aiport we elected to take a taxi to the hotel which cost about 60 euro. On our eturn the hotel suggested the S bahn which stopped across the road from the hotel and cost about 20 euro. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants to choose from within a 10-15 minute walk and the famous Hofbrauhaus is about 10 minutes away.
All in all an excellent hotel and stay and well worth it. We shall definately stay here again provided we can get back to Munich.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room on a high floor and got just that. All floors accessible by stair or lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heliobiscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It could not be better located. Right in the heart of Munich. 5m walk to Marienplatz. Very close to all the cities attractions. Very very nice staff. the rooms are not that large and I didn't like the pillows that much but very very clean. Good breakfast. I definitely recommend it. Good value also. not that expensive for the location it has.

Room Tip: do not choose 5th floor because it's the "attic" and some rooms and not that nice. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Property: Hotel Torbraeu
Address: Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing