We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Munich”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Torbrau turned out to be perfect for us. The hotel is expertly run, with comfortable rooms and beds, A/C, and a terrific breakfast buffet. We also enjoyed the bar and bartenders....2 young men very serious about being mixologists...and had a great time tasting their manhattans and enjoying bar snacks. The Torbrau is in a perfect location with an easy walk to all of interest in central Munich. They are also close to a Hop-on-Hop-off bus stop which got us to all of the outlying sites including palaces, the Olympic site, the BMW factory, etc. If we ever return to Munich we will certainly stay at the Hotel Torbrau.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

The staff has a great sense of humor.
We loved saying hello and goodbye to the strange little display between the first and second floor. Excellent location. The rooms are nice-size (there were three of us). The beds are extremely comfortable. The caramels are a great treat. What a lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Right in the heart of 'real' Munich, walk through the heart of this fabulous city and enjoy. Then cool off (A/C!!), rest up and go for the next round. Pleasant hotel and staff - great history. Make sure to visit Viktualien Market, have your beer at in the pedestrian zone, aka Kaufinger Strasse (great courtyard) and enjoy a true Munich meal at the Spatenhaus.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uschi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed here many times. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We once had trouble with our vehicle and they helped us find someone to fix it. They also have a fantastic breakfast which comes with the room. The hotel is in the middle of town and right next to the U-bahn station, Isartor. So it is very convenient. It is also very clean and they supplied actual soap instead of "shower gel" which many other hotels have, so I liked that a lot. But more than this, it was the friendly and helpful staff that makes me go back there again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Location was perfect as it was so near Marienplatz, and yet away from the noise. The front desk staff were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast at Hotel Torbrau was fantastic! They also perfectly cooked the eggs which we requested (Cheese omelette, Onion omelette, Sunny side-up). Good breakfast in the morning made each start of the day wonderful. The rooms were not as nice as we expected (a little old actually) but it was definitely clean and thankfully, the beds were comfortable. And you must try the restaurant Schapeau at Hotel Torbrau! It is fine dining type of cuisine but the food was great! My hubby and I dined there twice! Overall, Hotel Torbrau was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valenzzelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hotel Torbrau was in the perfect location to see the all the wonder of the Marienplatz and it's world renowned Christmas Market. Wonderful Bavarian restaurants and pubs are but footsteps from it's front door and world class shopping just around the corner.

The rooms were comfortable, but in dire need of an update, as was the whole premises.

The staff were lovely, serving delicious Gluwein and going to the trouble of printing the recipe for me.

We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, which had everything you could possibly want to eat and more. Overall, a nice stay, but not the most standout in our travels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nom_on_this
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Torbrau. It was centrally located, short walking distance to town centre, rooms were air conditioned and with free wi fi. Breakfast was good and the rooms were very. . Highly recommended..

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidaymakerBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,034 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $216 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing