We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful, outdated, dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Regent
Ranked #271 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful, outdated, dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the worse hotel we have stayed in by far. Outdated, old and dirty. No air conditioning made sleeping a nightmare and there were no spare fans left the three times that we asked reception for one. The lifts were dirty and one morning the floor of the lift was swimming in a sticky liquid. Stained light shades, grubby quilts and shabby furniture were such a let down in this old tired hotel. Time to renovate and get with the times Regent

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamBrown17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    308
    300
    147
    116
See reviews for
143
278
75
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent 7 nights here, and really cannot say anything bad about the Regent. You definitely are not paying for 4 or 5-star service...the rooms are very plain. Our room had all the basics, plus double sinks and free Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi wasn't spectacular -- I had a few issues uploading the day's photos -- but it sufficed for our needs.

That being said, I thought the location was more or less ideal for seeing the city. The hotel is positioned across the street from Munich Central Station (Hauptbahnhof), where you can catch any of the local S or U trains (as well as regional and long distance train services). Plus, the tram is a straight shot up to Nymphenburg Palace. If you like to walk, Karlsplatz shopping center is less than 10 minutes away on foot, as are a number of landmarks. We stayed in a southern-facing room on the 6th floor, and we had a decent view of St. Pauls Cathedral.

All things considered, a great hotel in the value category.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JefffRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Poor show overall from the Hotel Regent, a tired hotel which needs a complete renovation to bring it into the 21st century. I would say overall its decor is looking very dated and that's just on arrival at reception.

The room we were allocated was clearly nearing the end of its working life, and the following points illustrate this:
(a) stained carpets;
(b) stained sheets;
(c) stained lampshades (?!?!);
(d) dirty smoked stained walls;
(e) tired dated bathroom (well a shower room in essence);
(e) old fashioned CRT TV - it felt like a museum piece; and
(f) no air conditioning facilities

That was just the room's faults. Turning to the breakfast facilities the waiting staff were very pleasant, and the selection of foods on offer was certainly wide and comprehensive but then the sheen came off the overall impression. The coffee was completely disgusting, I refused to drink it and used to go to the Hauptbahnhof and buy coffee there for 1€ each morning. I wanted real coffee not some black substance which was thoroughly revolting so I'd avoid at all costs. It was I suspect instant coffee. But the worst thing about the breakfast was the shambolic layout of the serving counters as there was no thought given as to how customers would flow through the queue selecting what they needed as continental meats and cheeses were on the first counter, then there were plates and an odd assortment including cereals and sausages and viennoiserie on the next counter. The result? People getting in line and moving down and then when deciding what they wanted they had to do an about turn and go back in the queue and interrupt the natural flow. It felt chaotic and not an efficient system at all.

I noticed some other rooms on our floor had had a minimalist refit already but we were the unlucky ones to be given, in my view, a substandard room. In retrospect I should have complained but in all honesty I was there to see the city and didn't want to dwell in the hotel too much, it was a place of rest more than anything. So whilst it is a good budget hotel I don't think it should be anything more than a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilrisorgimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

spent two nights there recently. No air con and rooms were very hot. Opening the window also let the noise in. Bathrooms were very tired and grubby. Lifts small, at best two people and their luggage can fit. The area around the hotel can get very noisy with many bars open until late. only a short walk to the pedestrian mall but not a pleasant one. personally until they spend some money on it I would try elsewhere for now.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street and lower floor as they are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drDro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

we has spent 3 nights on regent hotel. we asked for twin beds and so we had.
the wi fi was excellent inside our room! the service staff was very kind and helpful. i just think that they have to do some renovation to the rooms, but it doesnt change the fact that this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liron_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemus Point, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had to spend 3 nights in the Regent as part of a tour. The room was dirty, no a/c and really noisy on the street all hours of the night. Several people asked for one extra pillow and were told no.I would not want to stay here again at any price.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was stated as a 4 stars hotel on booking.com, i would give it just 3. Booked a double room but got a twin room (2 separate single beds) and got told by the reception that '2 beds together is the same as a double room', said double room and twin room are the same in their hotel, mentioned they did not have anymore rooms with one double bed available, then my other friends who arrived later both got a double bed in their rooms. Never mind, apparently this is their 'hotel policy and standard' and ok I respect that, they could have just add a line somewhere to mention double room means 2 single beds put together.

Except the great location and price was ok for being there, I can't find any thing good about this hotel...

- The property was old, elevator was so slow, small and old, didnt have a close the door button.
- Free Wi-Fi available, yeah right. Forget about it and go to the main station for a 15mins better connection!
- The shower curtain was only half of the bathtub length
- Dirty and rusts all over in the room except the bed sheets & towels were clean
- no A/C and really poor ventilation system or perhaps they just don't have one, so stuffy..
- the 2 curtains were so thin that the sunlight came through woke us up already at 4 or 5am

probably would be ok to crash in just a night or two

Room Tip: the hotel is at the main street, its noisy anyway but higher floors are probably slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NumberThirtyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#309 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#173 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#36 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#196 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regent

Property: Hotel Regent
Address: Seidlstr. 2, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Munich
Regent Hotel Munich
Munich Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing