We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballabeni Icecream

Ballabeni Icecream
Ranked #10 of 66 Dessert in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I thought it was the best Ice cream I've ever tried. They truly know what they are doing...big lines in front waiting

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leotrim89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    20
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ballabeni is close to the university and has quite a following, as you'll see by the long lines it commands. I had raspberry and lemon basil and found them both to be excellent. Those with me also thoroughly enjoyed their selections. Nice addition were the edible bowls (like a very thin, airy almost tasteless cone but in a square shape). I can't say this is the absolute best - I found Bartu to be also very, very good and organic - perhaps I need to do more research!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusannahMarzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Icecream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Really good ice cream. I`m Italian and I think I know how ice cream should taste like... This place sells definitely the best in Munich. The only place where ice cream can be better is Italy!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loopdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's just unanimous. There is no doubt this is the best ice cream in town. I recommend the Chocolate with ginger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPizzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good ice cream, but definitely not exceptional and not worth the long queue and the higher price. The taste range is very limited and they don't seem interested in trying something new: they've had the same tastes for at least three years now. The cone is mediocre. To conclude: I would recommend going to another ice cream shop, there are several in the nearby which I like better than this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelep_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballabeni Icecream also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ballabeni Icecream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing