We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream in town!”
Review of Ballabeni Icecream

Ballabeni Icecream
Ranked #6 of 64 Dessert in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's just unanimous. There is no doubt this is the best ice cream in town. I recommend the Chocolate with ginger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPizzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    28
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but...”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good ice cream, but definitely not exceptional and not worth the long queue and the higher price. The taste range is very limited and they don't seem interested in trying something new: they've had the same tastes for at least three years now. The cone is mediocre. To conclude: I would recommend going to another ice cream shop, there are several in the nearby which I like better than this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelep_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best ice cream ever”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

flavours change regularly but if you are lucky try Haselnuss (hazelnut)! Sometimes you need to wait for a long time to get the ice cream because of the demand.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miklagardist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the chocolate ginger!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went here twice in one week because it was so fantastic. Flavours change regularly... Love the little taste tester of another flavour that they give you with your icecream

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wannabe-fancy ice-cream shop”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Small, expensive and overly sophisticated, that is what i think about balla beni.
Brought there by locals, as it is supposed to be the best ice-cream in munich.

After having stood 20 minutes in the sun in line, it was finally our turn to order ice cream. The selection was very limited, 10 or so flavors. And they were mostly fancy-pancy flavors, like raspberry-lavander, chocolate-ginger, lemon-basil and stuff like this.

While it is a matter of personal taste, i would have thought that having "standard" flavors is kinda a requirement. The fact that the ice-cream was amongst the most expensive of munich, didn't really sweeten the pill.

All in all, it's a love it or hate it situation here. I didn't like it at all, but i could see how other people might enjoy similar ice-cream, especially since its quality is actually good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballabeni Icecream also viewed

 

Been to Ballabeni Icecream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing