We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monaco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Schiller5 Hotel(Munich)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Royal(Munich)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel S16(Munich)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
City Hotel(Munich)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
194
217
61
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
217
61
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationrick stevesstreet noisefifth floorapartment buildingthe red light districtshared bathroomconvenient locationnoisy at nightlittle touchesbreakfast roomboiled eggsfive minute walkeach morningvisited munichwithin easy walking distancetwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 525 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The best thing about this place was the staff. The double room consisted of two timber framed beds pushed together and two single blankets with crap pillows. The shower was also broken in the way that it would not stay upright so you had to use it as a hand held shower. It's also in the heart of the red light district with a very noisy bar that does not close until after 5am. I'm all for a good time but this place was crazy!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToriJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breakfastbuffet, Inhaber at Hotel Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Tori,

thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel realy well and will take some of your points in considerations in order to improve our hotel standard.
As you are probaly aware there are things which can be changed easily, other things are unchangeable as out of our influence and on some points each guest has a different opinion. Easy for us e.g. is to offer nicer pillows to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thanks for your advise on that. Same for the shower, thanks for your hint.
Single blankets are European standard, that´s how we are used to sleep, so I´m sorry, but we can´t change this. Same with the single beds. As we do have even a lot of guests who prefer twin beds unfortunately we cannot offer for everyone double beds.
If our guests tell us in advance that they want to book a kingsize bed, than we will do our best to offer them one of our king bed rooms.
Regarding your comments about our location: Unfortunately we do have no influence on this. As in most cities worldwide the region around the train station is not the most beautiful neighborhood. Munich has no real red light district, but some twilight bars and indeed they can be found even in Munich next to the train station.
Having such a location means for our guest: Reaching all sights in walking distance or easily by subway and train, which are just around the corner. But you´re right, it even means, less quietness , means a lot international flair and some amusement bars which not everyone likes.
But trust us: Munich is an incredible safe city, even the train station area.
And as you hopefully noticed, the loud and unnicer area is really extremly small. Just turning around the corner its enough to be back in a nice and beautiful town.
I´m sorry you did not talk to us about this points within your stay. We are happy to hear that you did like our staff a lot. Beleive me, we would have tried to help you out if we would have known you´re unhappy.

Thanks again
Your Christine and the Hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My friend and I stayed in the hotel for a week and enjoyed every moment of it. Munich is a beautiful city and to have somewhere as lovely and homely as this hotel for our base just topped it off. The location of the hotel is brilliant - very close to the main train station and tour pick up points. My friend and I (both female) felt safe at all times in the area - yes there is a topless bar at the top of the street but this had no impact on our feelings of being safe coming in and out of the hotel, even late at night.
The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful and Id recommend having the breakfast at least once during your stay as it was lovely. The location is also a great base for exploring Munich itself and is within walking distance from Marienplatz, The English Garden, The Residenz and a whole load more.
We thoroughly anjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKirstyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I needed to find a cheap but decent overnight stay in Munich (for my 14 year old daughter and myself) before continuing our backpacking trip around Europe..What a wonderful find! The area around the station was a bit seedy looking so to open the door of the Hotel Monaco was such a relief. It was so clean and full of character...cherubs everywhere we looked! The room was clean and very cosy. The breakfast was marvellous! Everything and more to eat and drink and extras such as the little positive phrases in both German and English on every table, an 'Antistress' basket of different teas (Camomile, orange and lotus etc). Even the boiled eggs had smily faces and 'Good Morning' written on! For 52 euros for both of us we couldn't have found better! Thank you Rita!

Maris Mercer

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariscatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived at the hotel with a very friendly welcome. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and cutely decorated. The rooms were hot (as is Munich in the summer) but the beds were comfortable. The staff is wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweewieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Here's to Munich!!! Great food! Great bier! Sunshine!

Here's to Marienplatz, Nymphenburg Palace, BMW's incredible expo and the English Bier Garden with pork knuckles, golden draft and bikini-clad beauties!

And here's to Hotel Monaco!

After three weeks of jungle trekking and mountain climbing in Borneo, we thought we'd gone to heaven. What a joy just to calm down, relax, clean up, spread out into a beautifully kept and spacious room, soak in hot baths and not know what to sample first of the most amazing breakfast buffet we've ever seen.

Don't be misled by the approach to the hotel or by the austerity of the building itself. All will be revealed the moment you step off the lift and onto the fifth floor. Waiting to welcome you will be Christine, Rita, and or Caroline. From Hotel Monaco it is but a block to the main station and to the departure point for most city tours or for tours farther afield. If we go to Munich again, we'll do it all again. Lowenbrau draft, pork knuckles, Marienplatz and HOTEL MONACO!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy-Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews