We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS SHOULD BE A 2 STAR HOTEL!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
Ranked #289 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THIS SHOULD BE A 2 STAR HOTEL!!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Small hotel, with small baths, and very, very small beds. I checked alone and was given a bed that looked more like a bunker. If you arrive with lots of luggage, good luck, because there is no one to help you carry it upstairs as there is no elevator, or if there is one, is not working. Wi-FI available for 6 Euros per day, but it is very slow. Breakfast buffet is average; make sure you arrive before 10; the dining room staff is unconsidered and start putting things away at quarter to ten. If you ask them to wait, they actually yell at you. Location is far away from the city center.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
32
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After missing out on my first 3 choices of hotel due to leaving it too late I went with this hotel based in Moosach. It's about a 15 minute tram journey away from Karlplatz which is slap bang in the centre and for 10 Euros you can get a pass which lets you travel by Tram and the Underground. The hotel staff were nice during our stay, refreshments in reception was a bonus considering no kettle is in the room. All 3 of our rooms were shared by couples and it was dissapointing that the beds were twins pushed together. Complimentary bottle of water and a retro radio was a nice surprise. The breakfast costs 10 euros each but I never had it as the bakery/cafe opposite the tram stop was awesome. Also there is a fantastic DB family pub/restaurant with a beer garden across the road which serves great food, better than in the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front as the water fountain at the back might keep you awake at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainDrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Hotel is right on a main road. If you are unlucky enough to get a road facing room, you may struggle to get a decent nights sleep due to traffic noise, especially on the lower floors. The rooms do not have Air Conditioning either, so in the summer it can be very hot; if you choose to open the window to cool down, then you get even more traffic noise. Breakfast buffet is OK, but there is no restaurant in the hotel, although there are a couple of acceptable options across the street. The hotel is out of town, but next to a tram line, so easy journey into the centre in about 15 minutes. I paid extra to book a double "comfort room" (which means a room facing away from the road), but when I arrived they assigned a road facing room on the 1st floor and said "sorry mister, some problem with the booking". I was moved to a single room away from the road, which was absolutely fine in the end, if not what I had booked, but I did get a decent nights sleep!

Room Tip: Book a "comfort room" facing away from the road if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel faces streetside and therefore rooms facing the street are noisy. You better book a room facing other buildings/garages. Very friendly staff. Rooms are clean but a little dated. Public transport is in walking distance. No sauna or fitness. No Wifi in rooms but free Wifi in lobby. Breakfast was OK but breakfast room is very dark.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessCaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I guess no one should end up in Moosach region, if visiting Munich for touristic purposes. So if you are there for business around, i can recommend this hotel.
It costs 60euro by taxi from airport. The neighborhood is ok but nothing special.
The staff is friendly and the level of service is good. The rooms are a bit old but still comfortable.
You may visit the restaurant across the street for tasting local food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Room in the back for quiet. No A/C. No slippers, no shampoo/conditioner/soap/lotion but a liquid soap dispenser mounted on the wall.
Single room with a couch, pretty decent.
A few channels on TV- most of which in German.
Nice breakfast buffet, nicer if they would have let me know I'd have to pay for it.
All in all, if you're working in Munich for a couple of days, and you need a place to sleep, it's okay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My recent stay for three nights at the Hotel Mayerhof was a very pleasant one. The staff was very helpful in giving hints in getting around the city and offering assistance for any needs. I had a room with two double beds and it was very clean and the shower was great with lots of hot water. The bed was OK although Europeans don't use boxsprings which makes the beds not quite as comfortable as in the US. My only true complaint was that it faced the street which has quite a bit of traffic. If you are in need of quiet, you should probably request a room that is NOT facing the street. The best part of staying here is the ENORMOUS BREAKFAST BUFFET. We are not just talking your usual continental breakfast. Fresh breads, eggs, cheeses, meats, fruit.....There is also a computer with free internet access if you do not have a laptop with you.

While the hotel is quite far from the center of the city, there is an u-bahn and tram stop just around the corner from the hotel. The u-bahn will take you to MARIENPLATZ which is a NOT TO MISS stop during your visit. The tram will take you to the main HAUPTBAHNHOF (train station). These are both economical ways in which to travel around the city.

There are a number of restaurants within just a few steps from the hotel. My recommendation would be the German beer garten across the street. Good food, reasonable prices and nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: I used expedia.com to get the best rate and got 1 night free. Again, ask for a room that is not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croatianwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
5.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Muenchen City West
5.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harry’s Home Hotel Munich
1.5 mi away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
5.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich City North

Property: Leonardo Hotel Munich City North
Address: Dachauer Str. 421, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Mayerhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich City North 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayerhof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing