We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, but charming.”
Review of Mariahilf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mariahilf
Ranked #254 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed November 17, 2011

There are plenty of hotels who will relieve you of over 100 euros for a night on a hard bed in full earshot of the traffic with air-conditioning that you can't control and a window you can't open. Then there are hotels such as the Mariahilf. Set in a quiet side-street close to the Deutsche Museum, this family-run house has but 25 rooms, which vary in size and quality. It is furnished in a strange mixture of the old and the new, but the bed was comfortable, a mini-bar offered a bottle of cheer at a reasonable price, and within walking distance there is an
excellent Bavarian restaurant, a mediocre Italian, and an expensive Greek one. The breakfast being offered combines freshly boiled eggs, or scrambled or fried if you wish, cold meats, cheeses, very fresh rolls, bread, fruit, yoghurts, and plenty of coffee or a whole range of teas. This is a modest house, and the prices reflect the fact. We paid £48 per room B&B, which is a totally acceptable rate. We were attending a trade fair at the Messe, and from this hotel it is a walk past the church, two stops on the tram, and the U2 all the way to the show. 30 mins max. The city centre is a minute ride on the 52 bus which takes you to Marienplatz.
There are glossier, glitzier hotels, but if all you want is a bed for the night, a good breakfast, and charming service, then you could do no worse than stay here. What's your budget?

Room Tip: Good Wi-Fi connection in the room. There is no lift, so if you have half-a-ton of luggage, look else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had booked the hotel via booking.com for Oktoberfest 2011, this hotel wasnt the cheapest but looked quite close to the location for Oktoberfest. It isnt, its about €15 away in a taxi, one way. The breakfast is also a continental one through and through, although they do offer you eggs, fried or scrambled, which is strange as there is only granery, crusty bread rolls to eat them with? Also every morning we would be asked if we would like eggs and coffee or tea, and every morning they forgot, and we ended up waiting for a while and just leaving without. The floor boards are very old and squeak ALOT not only on the stairs, but a nightmare if you have some heavy footed people staying in the room above yours! the bed was huge and roomy! the toliet was strange, i'm quite small but my husband is 6ft, and even his feet didnt touch the floor when sat on the toilet!! its just small things that make me mad that they charged us €414 for 2 nights. Looking at the floor plan on the fire escape, ours was the biggest room with en suit, all the others were really small rooms with beds in, and were simelarly priced, which is wrong. If it had been a cheap hotel, all the bits of moaning I have just done, wouldnt have bothered me at all, its just I feel unbelievably ripped off.

Room Tip: room 11 was the biggest with en suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

When we arrived at half past 9 in the evening the hotel was closed and the phone was not answered. So we couldn't get in eventhough we paid for the night and told them in advance we were gonna be late. We had to look for another hotel.
The next day we confronted the staff but even with the reservation in our hand it was like they had no clue what we were talking about (my husband is German, so it was not a language problem). They just seamed to be in other place or dimension.
When we stored our luggage for a couple of ours on the last day, there was nobody when we came to collect it. We just couldn't get to it and had to leave for the airport. Again the phone was not answered.
Furthermore the hotel is way to expansive compared to other hotels in Munich. The rooms are small and breakfast is not very fancy. For this kind of money there are better places with friendlier staff.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appleAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank 윤정 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ojo en verano con el calor , las habitaciones en las que estuve no tienen AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marceloalvarezsolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Mariangela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номера выходят окнами на две стороны, но обе улочки маленькие и тихие. В одноместных номерах неудобн...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#258 of 389 in Munich
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#158 of 389 in Munich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
0.3 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 389 in Munich
2,735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariahilf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariahilf

Address: Lilienstr. 83, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $113 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariahilf 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariahilf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing