We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, welcoming, and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #36 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very friendly, welcoming, and relaxing”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is our second stay at the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, and we feel that it's improved since the first stay. The staff were very helpful and always with a smile on their face, food at the breakfast restaurant was top-notch and sported a wide assortment, and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

The carpet in our suite's hallway, while otherwise clean, seemed a bit on the worn side, as it did in other areas, nothing that I would have mentioned had this been a hotel with a lesser pedigree than Kempinski, but for this brand I feel that it should have been replaced a while back. The bathroom, on the other hand, had spotless facilities all the way down to the grout lines in the shower walls. The linens were replaced daily with immaculate issues, and we had a very relaxing sleep the three nights we stayed.

At checkout, the concierge loaded our suitcases on an airport baggage cart and we rolled the few tens of meters to the checking area of Terminal 2 in no time. This convenience cannot be beat.

We'd gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    766
    253
    55
    44
See reviews for
354
667
211
835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked Kempenski because. We had a morning flight out of Munich back to the US. It was a great airport hotel -- surpassing ones I have stayed in other major cities. The location -- you can walk to the terminal -- was fantastic, the staff warm and obliging, the bed fantastic and the room quiet. There was not a whiff of cigarette smoke in the lobby. Why then the four instead of a five? Internet service. A hotel of this caliber should not insist that its guests sign up for its "special membership" to get free access. We did, but after a day on the train that was the last thing I felt like doing. Free easily accessible internet access should be available n any first class hotel. If the Kempenski management want so attract folks to its club, a breakfast voucher should do nicely. Also, a hook in the bathroom to hang up one's bathrobe would improve an otherwise great room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich as well as for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please be assured that your comments regarding our internet procedure as well as an additional hook in the bathroom will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

We really look forward to welcoming you back at the Munich Airport.

Yours sincerely,

Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

If you are on business , pleasure, overnight stay or if you had a problem with your flight and need to stay in Munich airport. The staff in the hotel is awesome, always smiling and willing to assist. Restaurant is good and food variety really nice. We were in a 2 day conference in their conf rooms and the facilities are really good and the staff of the business center is the best. With no doubts will organize another meeting in this property.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epeniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with the TripAdvisor community.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the great location and our conference facilities.

Hope to see you back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a day layover at Munich after an all night flight, We found the Hotel very welcoming, and a comfortable bed in a large very clean room was most welcome. We had a wonderful range of shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, which was most welcome as we only had check in luggage with us. The shower was most refreshing very hot water and wonderful pressure. Would recommend to anyone in the same position.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is outstanding. After three weeks of travel we stayed here in order to catch an early morning flight back to the states. On registering, we were given options for various amenities offered, including breakfast, spa treatments, and help getting to our flight. Even though the hotel is located in the middle of the airport, you cannot hear the planes at all. The rooms are large and elegant. We were able to get settled in our room and go to a nearby restaurant for dinner. The continental breakfast was a little expensive for croissants and yogurt, but we did not have time for the full buffet breakfast. For ease of catching early flights, this hotel cannot be beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reba8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We often stay at airport hotels the night before an international flight back home to the US - we find it's an easy, convenient way to decompress after a vacation or business trip, get our suitcases organized, and relax before the flight home. And, we have found that airport hotels are usually fairly predictable and somewhat boring - well-used rooms, tired staff, boring breakfast buffets.

The Kempinski Hotel at the Munich/Munchen Airport is a huge exception. We stayed at the Kempinski last night - and, wow, what a great experience.

First, the staff is incredible. Everyone - the front desk clerks, bartender, restaurant servers, gym staff, housekeeping staff - was very friendly, very professional, and went out of their way to be helpful. Reviewer "PS06480" described the Kempinski Munchen Airport as having "engaged management focused on service", and that description perfectly nails it.

Second, the hotel's design is incredible. Very contemporary, and with the great design funneling down all the way into the smallest details - like, how the subtle directional arrows incorporated into the frames of directional signs ALSO show up in the lobby floor paving. The room furniture is designed perfectly for comfort and efficiency. But perhaps the most design feature of all is the garden on top of the underground parking garage adjacent to the hotel. Photos can't do it justice ... but, basically, perfectly-squared boxwoods create a geometric maze, of sorts, in a white pea gravel pavement, with the car ramp and exit staircases forming perfect parts of the pattern. Rows of lavendar, interspersed with slightly darker pea gravel, fill the slightly triangular space between the hotel and boxwood garden - and, when the sun is in just the right place, the letters "KEMPINSKI" are backlit by the sun and projected onto the lavendar garden. I could go on and on about the great design ... but, instead, I'll mention ....

Third, the great food. Actually, dinner was very good, but breakfast was outstanding. The breakfast bar has a great assortment of offerings - fresh egg station, for omelets, benedict, etc.; cereal; fruit; meat/cheese; potatoes; beans. This sounds typical of a good hotel - but the difference here was the great quality of the food. The plain yogurt was the best I've ever eaten - smooth and creamy, with the slightest trace of lemon and berries. And, instead of serving honey from a jar or bowl, they have a huge chunk of honeycomb - looked like it was just taken from a hive that morning - dripping with the freshest-possible honey. Yum!

The hotel is between Terminals 1 and 2, so it is super-convenient to the airport. From either terminal, just follow signs to the hotel - it's probably no more than a 4-5 minute walk from either terminal. Our room was on the second level, looking out over the drop-dead gorgeous underground parking garage/garden, and was absolutely soundproof - we didn't hear a single airplane or car noise all night.

If you don't want to eat at the hotel's "Charles Lindberg" restaurant, there are plenty of other choices just outside in the glass-covered courtyard between Terminals 1 and 2, from fast food to a biergarten. We were there during the World Cup, and the airport had set up a jumbo screen with temporary stadium seating so that people could watch the World Cup games together in a stadium environment right there in the glass-covered courtyard. Perfect.

I travel a lot for business and have stayed in probably 70-80 hotels annually for the last 25 years, and this one is of the best I've come across.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd floor was absolutely silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YetAnotherViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new canaan, ct
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the hotel en-route from Sicily to the U.S. What impressed us most was the service and, especially, the follow up by management - they really wanted to know what we thought, and how they could have made the experience better. Although we were on vacation, I travel often for business, and stay in many hotels like the Kempinski, upscale corporate-owned hotels. It is apparent that this company strives for excellence and trains its staff accordingly, and tries to grade itself by every guest's experience. To me, this provides a great deal of comfort that things will be done right, and, if not, someone will fix it.

On to specifics, as airport hotels go, this is by far the nicest I've ever seen. It actually has a cheerful and roomy atmosphere. I would never have imagined having a good time at an airport hotel, but we did! We watched the world cup on a stadium-sized big screen TV at a mini-outdoor stadium next to the beer garden and hotel (actually, my daughters snuck out of their room and did that, and upon finding them we joined them.) The breakfast buffet was outstanding for quality, freshness, and variety as well as attentive service. The front desk staff was very helpful in giving us advice about Munich since our time was limited. The train ride was about 35-40 min from the stop just outside the hotel. The grounds are park-like nice, and my only regret is I did not have time to go for a long run there. Maybe the great weather played a role, but we really enjoyed our experience at this hotel.

The set-up at the Munich airport, including the hotel, is the best I've ever seen, and we would go out of our way to transit through Munich again (maybe stay an extra day or two as Munich is very interesting and fun). It is not cheap to stay at the Kempinski, especially for a family, but there is value in the convenience, atmosphere, quality of rooms / sleep (did not hear any jet engines), and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PS06840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.7 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.0 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Property: Hilton Munich Airport
Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Green Hotel in Munich
#21 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 551 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing