We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exemplary service and free Wi-Fi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Munich Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #38 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exemplary service and free Wi-Fi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

For a convenient transit hotel before or after a flight in or out of Munich this has to be the obvious choice. The rates are quite reasonable, for a hotel of this chain, and you can walk to either terminal in a matter of minutes. What set it apart was the exemplary service. The young fellow that checked us in personally carried (wheeled) our luggage to our room and then not only gave instruction how to access the Wi-Fi but personally connected our iPad. He then explained the hotel’s charge rates for Wi-Fi usage and told us membership of the hotel’s GHA Discovery program, which is free, comes with free internet access - simple as that. The standard room was large, clean and functional. Even though I overlooked the entrance to the terminal, see pic, I never heard any airport noise. I wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere else under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    679
    211
    50
    40
See reviews for
302
584
187
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were able to book a room here for our last night in Munich during Oktoberfest. It is about a 40 minute S Bahn ride into Munich. The property is very modern and sleek in appearance. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our rooms were ready for check in when we arrived at noon. The rooms are exceptionally spacious and well appointed. There is a nice selection of toiletries, as well as slippers and robes. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the facility was air conditioned. It was a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel lobby to terminal 2 (a Star Alliance terminal). The WiFi was a bit pricey, but not unexpected. We would definitely visit this establishment again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcrab73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Basically I needed a hotel to stay when I first went to Munich for Oktoberfest and one at the end of my week. This place did the trick, although expensive, I was able to get a deal online on both stays. Considering around Oktoberfest all Munich accommodations expensive, so this is relative.
Anyway, this place is right at the Airport, so really convenient. You can take stairs up to foyer or use lifts underground entrance. Very stylish and modern, glass everywhere in foyer. The staff at front desk are very helpful, they even sent a doorman up to show me my room and answer any questions. The rooms are spacious and clean and comfortable. For business people on the go this is perfect, for tourists on the go likewise. Only thing is if you get breakfast there very expensive in my opinion 32 euro, and internet as well 18 euros. But if you want breakfast well there are many shops right near in the airport for way less and dare I say a McDonalds if that is your thing. The S1 and S8 lines are right next door too so only 40 min trip into Munich downtown, and you can return same amount of time as well. Overall I was impressed with this place. Only thing, outside there were tons of people smoking in the outside airport terminal. There seems to be an very high proportion of Europeans that smoke. They linger outside the doors and pollute your nostrils with their second hand smoke. Common Germany get with the program and ban this stuff around doors!

Room Tip: They have a spa but did not use, did not have breakfast there either as too expensive for me, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Perfect place if you have a stopover! Very close to the Airport Terminal 2, decent Restaurants & Bars and a nice Spa to recharge. If you wanna go to the City, it takes about 45min by train and the Hotel, even tho it's perfect for a stopover, its a bit on the pricy side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

One night in the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich. Was returning from a week in Crete and had to overnight for an onward flight the following morning.

What can I say, it was a great place. Super clean, Super Convenient, Great Staff, you can wheel your luggage cart from baggage claim right into the airport lobby. And, much to our delight, when you check out the next day, they produce an airport luggage cart for you to use to roll out of the lobby right to your airline check-in desk! That is living-large!

The rooms are nice and large, very clean, and all the basics. The bar/restaurant is interesting, not quite as much "fun" as you want them to be on your last night in Europe, but the beer is cold and the snacks are fresh.

Two relatively minor irritations during my one-night stay: Slow internet that I had to pay 18.00 Euros for the pleasure of using. I'm quite sure this problem was unusual, but I complained three times and at no point did the staff offer to remove the charge from my bill. Second, for an airport hotel, the check-in/check-out lines were a bit too long. The other areas of the hotel seem to be adequately staffed, but this delay was puzzling to me.

Bottom line: gets the job done and frankly, you don't have any other choices at the Munich airport. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islay_Malt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located off Terminal 2 of the Munich International Airport. No room was ready for check-in when we arrived at 1:30pm so we had to wait until after 2pm for check-in. Our luggage was however taken care of by the staff immediately and was waiting in the room when we got there. The staff is friendly, courteous and professional. Aside from 1 complementary bottle of water everything is charged extra including Wi-Fi access at 6 euro/hr. The room is quiet providing all the basic necessities with comfortable beds. The hotel is about a 40 minute S-Bahn train ride away from downtown Munich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel just off the "central square" of Munich airport. Very easy access to all the terminals and the S-Bahn station.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and has very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are large, clean and bright with very comfortable beds. The bathroom has a tub with two shower fittings and very good water pressure.

I didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food.

Very easy access into the city. I would be more than happy to stay here again on future trips to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AONE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Munchen-Airport
Movenpick Hotel Munchen-Airport
#1 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 3 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
2.0 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#4 of 6 in Oberding
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Property: Hilton Munich Airport
Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356, Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#22 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing