We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very quiet, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Munich Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #37 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very quiet, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

As always, Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen is an island of tranquility. Transportation to the City Center takes about 50 minutes, and S-bahn is working untill late night.
Service is quite efficient. Breakfast buffet is just wonderful.

Room Tip: Not sure. All rooms seem to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear such a nice comment, thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor community.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed not only the great location but although the breakfast buffet and appreciate the friendly staff.

Hope to see you soon back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    719
    228
    53
    41
See reviews for
335
619
200
752
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel between flights from Africa to the USA. I was very pleased with the hotel and with the service. Before arrival I had to make several changes in my reservations, all handled almost immediately by email. At my request a complementary shuttle car met me at Terminal 1 (I am slightly disabled, walking long distances is difficult). Front desk staff was efficient and friendly, helped with information on trains to downtown Munich and sold me the appropriate day pass at no mark-up. I travel a lot, good service is important to me! The hotel itself is comfortable, my "standard" room was large and comfortable. Like others, I mention the only drawback - the expensive WiFi. I agree with everyone else that hotels of this standard should provide free WiFi -- if budget motels can do so, why not up-market hotels?? I will stay here again next time I transit through Munich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garuda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located between airport's terminals.
The check in was very long and the room was not ready when we came in . The offered an upgrade for 70 euros more. It was an attempted rip off because we announced the hour of flight. Something like : for 170 euros you have to wait, for 240 you don't have to wait.
The good points of the hotel are : location & breakfast.
If you are not constrained by the hours of the flight to choose this hotel - don't choose it - it's way overpriced !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petru55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

While I can't imagine why anybody would stay here except for a single night in between flights, it is fine for the latter purpose, being equally convenient to terminals 1 and 2. I don't often stay in expensive hotels, but in this instance it was worth it for the convenience and the peace of mind in knowing I would make a non-guaranteed flight connection. Our standard room was large and luxurious. The bed mattress was rather firm but not uncomfortably so, the pillows and duvet were superb, and we did not hear a sound all night long. The only niggle was that I asked at check-in if the room had an electric kettle for making coffee in the morning. The answer was that it did not but that one could and would be sent up. It never arrived. That proved to be only a minor nuisance, as I discovered I could easily fetch coffee from a Starbucks only a few minutes walk away in terminal 1. Having read other reviewers' complaints about the poor and costly internet service, I did not attempt to use it. I most certainly agree with the comment that in this day and age a hotel of this caliber should provide good, free wifi as a matter of course.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciated your positive comments concerning our rooms as well as the location of the hotel.
The more unfortunate is and I regret that you did not receive the requested electric kettle.
Please get back to me directly via email (claudia.soost@kempinski.com) to prepare an electric kettle for your next stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

There are a lot of things that are terrific about this hotel. Of course, the location is great (between Terminals 1 and 2 at MUC airport). There is food and shopping just outside the hotel (and a restaurant in the hotel). The rooms are clean and a good size. There is a nice gym on the lower level with lots of equipment, spa, pool, etc.

Of course, this hotel is expensive but worth it if you have an early morning flight.

However, for me, what ruins the experience is poor internet connectivity. For a charge of €18 per 24 hours, I expect to be able to watch short video news clips without interruption. Perhaps stream a radio feed. If you dont want more than access to email and static internet content,I guess its fine. I was expecting a lot more. Earlier in my trip I stayed at a hotel that cost less than half of the Kempinski with flawless internet. As someone who travels ~40% of the year, I want and need connectivity. Didn't get it here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with the Tripadvisor community.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our spa facilities.

Still, I would like to apologize on behalf of our team for the unpleasant internet experience during your stay. Regarding our Internet service and its respective charge, I regret that lack of functionality. Please be assured that the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is currently working on optimizing its facilities, since it is our intention too, to provide up to date and easy-to-work-with features, systems and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Munich airport in its self is quite outstanding, from shops to bars to restaurants, it's like a mini city. The Kempinski hotel is in the middle of all of this. Great rooms, very comfortable with great lazy boy chair. Tub was larger than average for a hot bath before bed. All with great German efficiency.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I needed a room near the airport since I would be leaving Munich the next morning. The Kempinski offered a perfect location right at the airport within walking distance. Unfortunately, the stay was far from ideal. My list of grievances include: cold hot tub, cold pool, the slowest internet since 1992, (I had to reload page 4 times just to send an email), poor quality food for dinner in the restaurant, and a bed so hard, it reminded me of horse camp when I was 9, (I am still working on the kink in my back). The service was professional and kind, otherwise avoid this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losgatoslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and would like to tell our honest excuse! We would therefore really appreciate if you could contact us directly via email (claudia.soost@kempinski.com) to discuss these issues with you in detail.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Munchen-Airport
Movenpick Hotel Munchen-Airport
#1 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.0 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Property: Hilton Munich Airport
Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Green Hotel in Munich
#22 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing