We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Munich Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #36 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

When traveling home and you have a morning flight, I cannot stress how wonderful it is tomstay at the hotel. The rooms are nice and the breakfast is good. The staff is very nice and accommodating. To get to the United Airlines check in, it is a simple walk and the best part was the hotel bellman brought all the luggage right to the counter. After traveling, it was nice to be taken care of and not have to do anything but walk aside the luggage cart. The Internet is expensive, but it normally is at airport hotels. Really consider staying here on your final night before flying out

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pamcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    721
    230
    53
    41
See reviews for
337
622
200
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was the most expensive (price per night) of all the hotels we stayed in Germany, and it was the worst room. I suppose you pay to be at the airport. Upon arrival, around 3:00 PM, the reservation desk agent told us that our room was not ready. I was upset, as we were tired, and check in was supposed to begin at 2:00 PM. The reservation agent quickly said our room was ready, and at the time, I was pleased.

However, our room was on the first floor facing an ugly concrete area, when I had requested in the online reservation form a room on a high floor facing the runway. This request was completely ignored. Our room also seemed to be some sort of dual purpose room. It had a large cabinet filled with mini bar items that appeared to be left open on accident. I called the front desk to tell them about this, and the woman who answered said she would send someone to lock it, but no one ever did. The was an odd wooden cabinet in front of our twin beds, and it looked like it was a full or queen size bed that was stored vertically. In fact, it looked like our twin beds could be stored vertically as well. This room looked more like a cheap motel room than anything associated with the Kempinski Brand. The twin beds jutted out of the wall, and the walkway between the opposing wall and end of the twin beds was so narrow that we kept tripping on the beds.

Finally, the breakfast was haphazard looking. Sliced deli meats were strewn about a platter. It looked like a giant messy buffet instead of an attractive serving area.

The one highlight was the bar downstairs- it was circular, low key but attractive, and a nice way to end the evening. And of course, the location to the airport cannot be beat. We were able to take the subway into the city to enjoy a final Christmas market.

This hotel is a rip-off. If you get a substandard room, ask for another.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel's location is perhaps the reason why it is so expensive. Rooms and facilities are not a surprise and can be found in numerous hotels both in Munich and the Airport area as well. The only advantage is the walking distance to the terminals. Nevertheless, 32 Euros/person for the breakfast and 6 Euros/hour for the Wi-Fi are too expensive!
Wi-Fi, given for free in most hotels, i've stayed, cannot be charged in a hotel of that price!
Rooms are pretty standard and do not account for the hotel's price.
Also, when my mother asked for a room only with a shower as she found it difficult to enter the rooms bath, they did not have such rooms available making it tough for her (and risky at her age) to make a shower in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms are all identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphey11, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us as well as taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in regards to the not available separate shower in our standard and superior room category.
In regards to your comment on additional costs, we offer our guests the choice to book rates with or without breakfast. To ensure you get your best rate you may also contact our reservation department directly via phone or email.
For further questions or information please get back to me directly via email (claudia.soost@kempinski.com).

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at The Kempinski Airport Hotel for one night before catching SIA flight to Singapore next morning. Very convenient to arrive on flight from Zurich and be able to trolley several pieces of luggage with a short walk to hotel reception.The hotel is nice and modern.The business class suites are very spacious, soundproofed and well furnished with all necessary conveniences. The Charles Lindberg restaurant serves extensive buffet breakfast and dinner. If wanting something different the new Munich airport has many restaurants and shops. Would have been more interesting to stay in the city centre, time permitting but it is maybe an hour away by taxi.Since it is a business hotel, very reasonable room rates on week-ends are offered. Would stay here again for the convenience.

Room Tip: Business Class rooms are great value particularly on week-ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skidog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphey11, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your time at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich and happy to read that you were satisfied with all the facilities and services provided at the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The easy access to the airport terminal, shopping and train station cannot be beat. It's an easy train ride into the heart of the city. There is a McDonalds and a grocery store as part of the airport complex, so it's easy to pick up something to eat in the room. In the room, you will never hear or see an airplane. Service was friendly.
My only complaint is that, at a hotel in this price range, I would expect much more comfortable bedding. The duvets were only as wide as a single bed. Impossible to wrap yourself up in them. And, only two very skimpy pillows are given. I called housekeeping and ordered another pillow from the pillow menu. I thought it was a joke. A skinny foam cylinder wrapped in a pillowcase. Is that a German thing? It was not comfortable. I did not sleep well.
Bathroom was spotless and nice. No complaints there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spend 1 night during a business trip in Munich and I was impressed. The concept of this hotel is great. There is an impressive glass structure that covers the lobby area of the hotel and I really enjoyed the open space area in the dinning hall. I would stay there again if I was visiting Munich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transilvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a "day stay" at this hotel between flights.
We booked the hotel through their online booking service. The booking staff was very prompt in answering to all our questions and requests.
The room was very nice, clean, sound proof, with a large bathroom having all the needed toiletries. They provided us with a baby cot. Staff very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puishor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Munchen-Airport
Movenpick Hotel Munchen-Airport
#1 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.0 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Property: Hilton Munich Airport
Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Green Hotel in Munich
#21 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing