We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Muenchen City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City
Ranked #90 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Midwest Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This Ibis hotel is conveniently located just 382 yards from Munich Central Train Station (Hbf). The station has access to everywhere we went - to/from airport, main site-seeing areas, and Fussen.

The hotel is very clean. While the rooms are small, we had no problems with two travelers that each had a carry-on roller bag and personal item. The closet is as wide as my hand with limited room, so if you are traveling with many bags or big bags or a lot of clothing, you may find the room too small. But, quite frankly, you may find many European rooms too small. The bathroom doesn't have much room to move around in and you'll be pressed to fit two people in at once, but it is perfectly suited for our needs. We used the desk area to store our luggage.

The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Free wifi in the rooms worked at a good speed for us. The bar located in the lobby is open 24 hours for coffee, tea, beverages, or alcohol.

In regards to safety, we were two young female travelers who walked to/from the hotel at all hours of day and night and never once felt unsafe. Yes, there is a casino strip across from the train station you walk by to get to the hotel, but not once did anyone bother us. My only safety issue is that there is no peep hole on the door and here is no dead bolt on the door in the individual rooms.

In regards to noise, it is pretty standard with being able to hear some muffled voices and chairs moving from nearby rooms. This wasn't too distracting though. I sleep with ear plugs in every night normally and never had a problem at Ibis with my ear plugs. The only noise problem we had was our own fault. We didn't realize the window was open when we first checked in late at night the first night. We were awoken to street noise and a children's daycare that seemed the noise was right outside our window. It was, until we shut the window. It made such a difference to muffle the noise tremendously.

One minor complaint with housekeeping, which I will preface saying that housekeeping did a tremendous job the first 2-3 days by going above what I would have expected. Our room was not cleaned on our last day/night. This could be our fault because we slept in and didn't leave the room until 12:30pm. We didn't complain to the desk staff as we didn't need the service that day. I overheard another guest complain about their rooms not being made up either, so it may have something to do with the time spent in the room when housekeeping would normally service the room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for its convenient location, cleanliness, good value, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    899
    451
    76
    24
See reviews for
245
710
256
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very close to the hauptbahnhof (where there is food available at all hours) and tram stops. The room was quiet and very comfortable. There are some 'gentlemen's clubs' in the area, which can be uncomfortable to walk past.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Debra3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have stayed at ibis hotels before so my expectations are low and I know the rooms are compact, however this one was ridiculous. You could barely move in the 'bathroom' and the room itself was incredibly tiny. The bed was also pretty much a piece of foam on a plank of wood.

I did find the location convenient though, it's a short walk from the central train station and centre of Munich. Staff were friendly and I did manage to get a slightly late checkout complimentary which worked out well for my afternoon flight from Munich.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Flyer_dotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location of the IBIS is very convenient being so close to the Railway Station. As long as you don't mind walking through kind of a red light district. The reception staff is friendly and efficient, the bar is ok, breakfast is really good so all in all perfect - not. I've never been in a room with a bathroom that small, not even in Japan. Only the bath in a Motorhome is smaller. You can hardly turn around and the shower is super tiny. No minibar and the desk is very small as is the room. But the price is not bad for Munich and for one night I'd consider it acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#51 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#138 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City

Property: Ibis Muenchen City
Address: Dachauer Str. 21, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 air-conditioned rooms with bathroom/shower and separate WC, hairdryer, cable TV,telephone and modem connections, some fittedwith W-LAN2 disabled-friendly rooms172 non-smoking roomsLocation:300 m from Munich’s main railway station, placesof interest and the centre are within easy walkingdistance, 15 km to the Munich Trade Fair Centreand the Allianz Arena.Only available at IbisBreakfast between 4amand 12pm every dayGet off to a good start withour sumptuous breakfastbuffet – from 6:30am to 10amon Mondays to Fridays anduntil 11am at weekends. Earlybirds and night owls willappreciate our small breakfastfrom 4am to 6:30am andfrom 10am to 12pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Muenchen City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing