We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Ranked #248 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for a conference at the university and were very happy with the location, the air conditioning on a very hot week, the helpful staff, the bountiful breakfast, and indeed everything except the very small working desk and the internet which did not work well in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
27
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I chose the Hotel Hauser for its location (opposite Ludwig Maximillian University, the site of a conference I attended), but also with an eye to its features. I was not surprised reading reviews that remarked on the smallness of its room (which is simply typical of European hotels) but noted the many comments about its cleanliness, which is a top priority for me.
My wife and I could not have been more pleased with this hotel. First, it was not just clean, it was immaculate. And we saw why: housekeeping staff that vacuumed over carpet areas repeatedly (more passes than I give our carpets at home!) and a desire to clean our room each day that surprised us (most staff in US hotels are happy if you don't need your room serviced; these people took it as a near offense).
A real perk of this hotel was its very effective air conditioning, which has separate controls for each room. The week we were there was unseasonably hot (33-35c/88-91f), so we gave it a workout and were always comfortable. The rest of my colleagues at the conference I attended were either without AC or in hotels with weak systems.
The decor of our room and the hotel was bright and cheery. I really don't understand reviewers have complained that it needs updating. This is a quaint, family run German hotel that makes you feel as if you are actually among people who care deeply for their building. If we had wanted the antiseptic, American style hotel, we would have selected a large chain hotel. But this hotel provided the sense of culture and history that we wanted.
In that vein, the breakfasts were incomparable. The broad array of selections typical of breakfasts in the great European hotels I have stayed in previously was overwhelming. Not just yogurt, granola, meat, and eggs – although those were available and delicious – but rolls encrusted with seeds and nuts that I have never had elsewhere but would love to find in a bakery here. And the coffee was strong and flavorful (granted, if you don't like strong coffee, it might not be for you, but it is very German). The three breakfast rooms were small (consistent with the architecture of the hotel) but were more than adequate for the number of diners and were very tastefully decorated.
The staff of the hotel was courteous and very helpful. The man whom one reviewer wrote of as "gruff" was especially helpful in helping me figure out the Unterbahn. Although I can see why some might take him as gruff, I found him to be friendly and courteous. (I inferred that he was one of the hotel's owners.)
Although this hotel is in the university district, it is within easy travel to any place in Munich you want to travel. The Unterbahn station is only a block away, and a little research can enable you to use it to get throughout the city. The area around the hotel is filled with restaurants and is very safe. Indeed, I never sensed any danger wherever we traveled in the city.
If you want a sense of being in Germany rather than just another chain hotel, and if you want to experience the kindness of good people in Germany, choose the Hauser.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about having enough space in your room, consider a room with three beds. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Small jewel! Yes, the rooms are small, but very adequate. We did not come to Munich to stay in the room all day. We found the beds comfortable, lovely breakfast, quiet room with great windows to block street noise. The air conditioning was wonderful for a warm summer. Location was grand. very large or tall people may feel cramped. However, we have no complaints about this petit hotel. free Internet that worked well. Many other hotels we have stayed at did not have free Internet or it did not work. Recent remodeling may address some concerns of others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackminnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

For a relatively inexpensive hotel in Munich, this place is fine. It is very clean, but with decor and details a bit shabby. The staff is cordial if not overly warm and friendly. Breakfast is quite good: cheeses, breads, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, sliced tomato, etc. The coffee, however, was terrible.
The location is good: close to the subway and major bus routes. Plenty of shopping and small cafes in the immediate vicinity.
I am used to small European hotel rooms, but this room was very tight. Once I had opened my suitcase on the floor, there was little space to walk around. The bathroom had been updated quite recently, but it was also tiny. I don't know how a tall person would have used the toilet! I had to keep the bathroom door open while getting ready in the morning so I wouldn't keep bumping into things.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during Oktoberfest 2012. The location is terrific; 2 blocks easy walk from the subway station near the university and the Englischer Garten. The owner & staff were very friendly and helpful, provided great tips on maximizing our Oktoberfest experience and made me feel very welcome. I had a single room, which was very small but comfortable. Contrary to some of the other reviews, I found the bed to be very comfortable and slept like a baby (although the beer may have had something to do with that). Picture a very clean, single dorm room at college (I know, a contradiction in terms). The bathroom was also very small but adequate with a good shower. Wifi is provided for free. Breakfast was included and was your typical German affair; a nice variety of breads, fruit, meats & cheeses, soft boiled eggs, etc. I thought it was a great value, given that all hotels in the area jack up their prices during Oktoberfest. Travel time to the beer extravaganza was less than 20 minutes by subway and walking. I would definitely stay here again when I return with the wife.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fgh8664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The positives.Good location, free wifi, metro stop a block away and the English Garden park is about 2 -3 blocks. The breakfast buffet was adequate. Price is very reasonable.The staff, Hans was helpful. Location, price and reviews on Trip Advisor were deciding factors in choosing this place. I must admit 1 picture of a bed on Trip Advisor did cause me to debate this choice. In retrospect I should have heeded that concern.
Our room was 1 flight up from check in desk. There is no lobby. There is a small 2 person elevator Tiny room, the smallest of the nine places we stayed. The bath was also small. Had a corner shower that I could barely turn in. The bed was bad. It was a double at best. The bed frame was actually a wooden box in which the very thin mattress lay. The mattress was maybe 4-5 inches thick. It was bad! We didn't sleep, we dozed at best. In the morning we asked about another room and were told none were available. We left and moved to a Marriott. Hans was gracious enough not to try and charge us for the 2nd night we originally reserved. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently stayed at Hauser Hotel for several days with my wife and daughter. The location is great, the service was good, the room was comfortable and large enough for three adults (so we didn't trip over each other).

Pros: Good location, large and comfortable room, nice breakfast.
Cons: Only a couple of TV channels in English...but who goes on vacation to watch TV?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#246 of 382 in Munich
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#211 of 382 in Munich
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#230 of 382 in Munich
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#214 of 382 in Munich
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Adria Munchen
Hotel Adria Munchen
#121 of 382 in Munich
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet

Property: Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Address: Schellingstr. 11, 80799 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauser Hotel Munich
Minotel Munich
Munich Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing