We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Student in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet
Ranked #239 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed September 22, 2011

First of all, location location location! I came to a congress in Munich University. The weather was quite bad. Therefore I was really happy to stay in the hotel. For students, its location is perfect! 5 minuets walking from the uni (LMU). Near the uni. there are many coffee shops and resturants in a reasonable price (not cheap, but hi, it's Munich, even the air cost money...). The U station is also very close. And in fact, in one free evening I went from the hotel to Marienplatz by foot, and it took me no more than 20 minutes.

As for the hotel itself. The room is not big, but it includes comphi. bed and an air condition (not so common in Germany). The staff are very nich and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a little hidden gem in a fantastic location in Munich, next to the university and only 2 stops by U-Bahn from Marienplatz. The hotel is family owned and run and managed in a very professional way. Very clean, double glazed windows and airconditioning which is not self understanding in Germany. So even if your room is facing Schellingstrasse, don't worry, you will sleep like a rock. Beds are very good, german-style though, i.e. 2 separate mattresses pushed together to make a king size bed. Nice continental breakfast, fantastic service, always a smile and a helpful hand. The rooms and bathrooms are very small, but it is the location that counts. They only complaint I would have is that the TV has a fixed maximum volume which is so low that you hardly can hear anything. We would stay there again any time. Thank you Mr. Hauser and Mandy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodfoodfanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Hotel Hauser is not a bad hotel, it's just poorly staffed. The waitress at the breakfast buffe, which by the way isn't bad, is fine, but the receptionist has in every conversation I have had with him come off as extremely rude. He's a caricature of a rude German, unfortunately.

Otherwise the hotel is about average. Small rooms, "free" wireless and tidy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert_234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

There are not many hotels in Maxvorstadt--Hotel Hauser has great proximity to the English Gardens and Ludwig Maximillian University. The neighborhood has lots of interesting shops and restaurants. It is a great area from which to visit Munich without staying in the touristy areas.

The guest and public rooms are simple but they are clean and in good repair. The hotel feels more like a Pension. The staff are a bit distant however they are not impolite. Overall the hotel is a good value however one should not expect a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandeka2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My only complaint was the lack of a fridge even to keep the water cold in. Quiet, great soundproofing. A bit expensive for the lack of anything special. You must pay extra for the sauna or steam bath. Close to museums, which cost only 1 Euro on Sundays.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We loved this hotel and the neighborhood. We visited for a weekend during Oktoberfest (Sept. 2009, but it won't let me go back that far on the review), and it was wonderful. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, and the room was clean and comfortable (by European standards).

Also, the neighborhood was great, very eclectic and perfect for young folks. Maybe not the best for families, as it was a bit rough around the edges, but we felt safe and it was relatively clean. We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Located in the Schwabing university district. A block from Underground transit. Small rooms but soundproof and comfortable. Free wireless. Great breakfast included. Pleasant if perfunctory staff. Helpful and accommodating as long as it's "included". No place to print boarding passes. They recommended finding an internet cafe...somewhere. Odd as they were so helpful in other areas.

Near lots of restaurants and a few take away deli type places.

I was surprised how quiet it was: no street noise and no sounds of anyone snoring or talking in next room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
das Hotel in Munchen
das Hotel in Munchen
#271 of 385 in Munich
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#185 of 385 in Munich
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton Astoria
Hotel Carlton Astoria
#200 of 385 in Munich
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#205 of 385 in Munich
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konigswache
Hotel Konigswache
#240 of 385 in Munich
64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet

Address: Schellingstr. 11, 80799 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $131 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hauser an der Universitaet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauser Hotel Munich
Minotel Munich
Munich Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing