We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #40 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
neath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean, modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is very clean and modern. The rooms are big with a seperate bedroom. The bathroom is well stocked with clean towels and toiletries. Breakfast is very good. I booked this hotel because it had airconditioning but when we went to use it in our room it did not work. Apparently it was a hotel problem. We had to sleep with the windows open but because our room faced a very busy road we did not get much sleep. The centre of Munich is easy to get to by tram. The tram stop is a short distance from the hotel. We bought a three day partner ticket for 24 euros this let us travel on all public transport in the inner zone for three consecutive days for up to five people. When we wanted to get to the airport we bought a ticket for 20 euros which took us by tram to the station and the S bhan to the airport. A taxi would have cost us 65 euros.

Room Tip: Ask if the aircon is working if it is not ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    363
    80
    19
    12
See reviews for
110
250
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Munich and found that the Hotel Europa had the things that I needed. The superior double room was new and very modern. Please ask for a room in the back building. Since the hotel is next to a big street, the rooms in the back are quieter. Breakfast was included in our package and there were many things to eat. You can take the tram downtown for a reasonable fee and explore many things there. Parking is only 10 euros and that was reasonable since it is underground parking. Overall, I had a good stay here with my husband.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
280 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We found this hotel surprsingly nice and well maintained even thought it may look a little dated on the exterior. we were assigned a room facing Dachauer Strasse so we get a view of the street. The hotel room was well lit and furnishing looked quite new and clean. The bathroom was also well lit and maintained. Breakfast was excellent and it also has underground parking. The location is quite good as there is a tram line in front to take to the town center as walking may take up to 30 min.
The only complaints I have was they have NO English channel on tv and they turned off the aircon due to somewhat cool weather. But we like air circulation so had to leave the window slightly open so traffic noise is a slight problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed with my wife (I went to munich as a tourist).
This is a middle class hotel, fine for tourists who do not want to spend a lot of money just to sleep or for business travelers.

The hotel follows the pattern of a 3-(or 4)-star hotel, worldwide.
The rooms are nice: clean, like new, good bathroom.
The breakfast is very good.

As I had learned by reading trip advisor before going there, the hotel is well located if you want to go downtown, but you have to take one TRAM. (10 minutes from downtown).

The only disadvantage I would point out is about the TV: There are no TV channels in english or in any other language. Only in German! So if you don´t speak german, be prepared!
I have been in many places and many hotels like this, and in my opinion it is unusual.
You don´t stay inside the room a lot, but if you do, for sure you will turn the TV. This is normal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rider_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Greetings,
A it happens I got to stay in this hotel number of times and sometimes for 2 weeks at the time. Location for this hotel is good, it is just a short stroll from Stiglmaerplatz subway station and about 15-20 min. walk from the historical part of Munich. Supper easy to get to the everything from this place. Great front desk who are helpful to foreigners and prompt to suggest a good place to visit. On the first floor there is a bar/restaurant, great breakfast in the morning. Food from traditional German cuisine to general European tastes. In the evenings, one can treat themselves to the glass of beer and some snacks.

Room Tip: Request the room that faces inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacemaker4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aichtal, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I needed a place to stay in Munich for the Bruce Springsteen concert and my husband made a great choice! The hotel is close to shopping and an array of restaurants! In one little area we had traditional German food, sushi, and Greek food! The service was excellent and the room was great! The breakfast that is included is outstanding. We would come back if needed! Very happy with our stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tnt7686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Europa in Munich for two days in May 2013. This hotel is one of the finest mid-sized hotels that I have stayed in in 10 years of intense travel. The staff is friendly and English speaking and attentive to traveler needs. The rooms are modern, clean, with a refrigerator and wifi internet. The parking garage is underneath the hotel and acessible directly from the hotel at a cost of 10 euros per night. The hotel offers a sumptuous breakfast with multiple options both hot and cold, fruit, plenty of bread and pastries as well as the hardy ingredients of an American breakfast. It is near the tram for downtown Munich that operates late into the night. The Lowenbrau beer garden is within walking distance. We were especially pleased with this lodging nd would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe
Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe
#129 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#38 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Dachauer Str. 115, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#38 Business Hotel in Munich
#49 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern four-star hotel EUROPA is located close to the city center of Munich. There are fast and direct traffic connections to the main train station (1,2 kilometres), the city centre and the famous Bavarian sights. The Pinakothek galleries as well as other important art museums are just a brief walk away from the hotel while the world famous "Oktoberfest" and other sights of Munich, such as the "Marienplatz" can be reached within a few minutes ride by public transportation or by cab. The hotel features 162 comfortably, non-smoking rooms divided up into a Standard and Superior category, two meeting rooms with business facilities, a restaurant with international cuisine, a delightful garden terrace in the peaceful inner courtyard of the hotel, a modern bar and a parking garage for 70 cars. The rooms of the Standard category with a size of 22 squaremetres are furnished comfortably, in a contemporary style with warm colours. The style of the Superior rooms is design oriented and clear cut, they are all facing the quiet courtyard/garden. They measure between 26 and 35 squaremetres. All 162 guest rooms are equipped with an individual adjustable air conditioning, writing desk, safe, minibar, flat screen television and telephone with voice mail. Additionally, the Superior rooms have wooden floors, a Nespresso machine, large king-size beds, rainshowers and high-quality amenities from ELEMIS SPA. In the entire hotel, WIFI access is free of charge. Each morning, from 06:30 am to 10:30 am, the restaurant awaits you with an extensive breakfast buffet. For dinner, from 5.30 pm to 11 pm, regional and international food is being served. The restaurant is closed on Sunday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing