We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good choice,worths the price”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #42 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
budapest
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's a good choice,worths the price”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you travel to Munich by car that hotel is a good choice. It is a modern hotel, nothing special but ideal just sleep and have a nice breakfast.They have private garage under the building and it is better to leave your car there if you go to the city. We went for dinner to the city by walk - which is not far away, but there is a tram station in front of the hotel. At the corner there is a German restaurant, you don't have to walk to much for good meal.
The room is clean, comfortable with air condition and quiet. We were with our child and the room was ideal - 2 areas with connected door. But the extra bed is not so comfortable.
The breakfast is large and the best are the scrambled eggs with sausages.

Room Tip: 3 bed rooms are ideal for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    383
    82
    19
    13
See reviews for
117
263
40
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June. We went to Munich via car. It is a great location. You can easily reach the center via tram (nearby the hotel). The hotel room was nice and clean (it's more like a business hotel though). We had a quiet room (I advise that you state it when you book as some rooms are facing the street which can be noisy).The breakfast selections are good. Staff are unfriendly and unskilled though. We stayed there for 3 nights. During our check in, the receptionist is ok but not friendly. We had our dinner there once (the night we arrived) and the food was good but the staff are rather robotic. During our breakfast on the first day, we went to have our second round for fruits and all our cutleries and drinks are cleared by the staff. They aren't trained and observant. We had to take a second drinks by ourselves and no apologies mentioned by the staff. The second day of breakfast, if we are a second late, our table will be cleared again (another staff). The staff aren't rude rather they are robotic. They don't know how to greet guest, etc. The hotel itself is a good choice. We weren't so bothered by the service as we were quite busy and we didn't really experience rudeness or so. I just hope that staff will be friendly and trained.

Room Tip: Mention Quiet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent four nights at the Hotel Europa and had a lovely experience. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. The breakfast buffet is varied and abundant. The location is ideal - within an easy (30 min) walk of Marienplatz. The tram station is just down the street if you don't feel like walking. There are a number of good restaurants in the neighborhood as well as a great grocery store if you feel like having a meal in. The internet is free and fast. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I might suggest a room on the garden side as the street side has a wee bit of noise. (nothing crazy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The room was clean and best of all had air conditioning, something of a rarity in Europe. The front desk staff was a little mixed on the quality of their helpfulness but one young women was so pleasant and helpful she more than covered for the rest of the only adequate staff. The location was great, right on a tram line and only four tram stops to the center of the city. The staff explained the tram routes so we were confident using them. I would certainly stay here again. Free internet access and a reasonably good continental breakfast & free parking completed the favorable impression.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

ROOM: very clean with a great layout; well appointed with a nice working desk, a refrigerator, windows that opened, and free internet.
LOCATION: walking distance to the university (where I was doing business) and some good restaurants, like the Lowenbrau; also the people mover stop was at the end of the block.
STAFF: Wow! They could not have been more cold. I understand that I'm a happy American, but at least fake a smile; even the breakfast lady wouldn't smile at me or acknowledge me
BREAKFAST: included in the room rate and was quite a large spread; there was even a lovely outdoor patio with umbrellas (provided the smokers were still in bed).
MY FINAL BILL: they very clearly asked if I wanted to be billed in Euros or USD --> I stated Euros (since I have a no currency transaction fee credit card) and didn't notice until later that they ignored what I said and billed me in USD so that they got a nice little percentage kick back; very unethical

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessofAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed multiple times at Europa during my recent business visits to Munich. I just love this place.

Rooms - Well spaced rooms with good internet connectivity.
Location - Perfect location, just 3 stations away from main station. Tram station is right outside with ample frequency.
Restaurant - Restaurant has decent variety of food. Breakfast is really lavish.
Service - Overall service is good. Sometimes you bump into not so friendly staff.

Room Tip: Take rear facing or backside room as front rooms at times are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YouSeeShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights, as I was attanding a trade show in Munich. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,583 reviews
2.7 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
0.4 mi away
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
#31 of 382 in Munich
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 382 in Munich
809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 382 in Munich
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Dachauer Str. 115, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#38 Business Hotel in Munich
#49 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern four-star hotel EUROPA is located close to the city center of Munich. There are fast and direct traffic connections to the main train station (1,2 kilometres), the city centre and the famous Bavarian sights. The Pinakothek galleries as well as other important art museums are just a brief walk away from the hotel while the world famous "Oktoberfest" and other sights of Munich, such as the "Marienplatz" can be reached within a few minutes ride by public transportation or by cab. The hotel features 162 comfortably, non-smoking rooms divided up into a Standard and Superior category, two meeting rooms with business facilities, a restaurant with international cuisine, a delightful garden terrace in the peaceful inner courtyard of the hotel, a modern bar and a parking garage for 70 cars. The rooms of the Standard category with a size of 22 squaremetres are furnished comfortably, in a contemporary style with warm colours. The style of the Superior rooms is design oriented and clear cut, they are all facing the quiet courtyard/garden. They measure between 26 and 35 squaremetres. All 162 guest rooms are equipped with an individual adjustable air conditioning, writing desk, safe, minibar, flat screen television and telephone with voice mail. Additionally, the Superior rooms have wooden floors, a Nespresso machine, large king-size beds, rainshowers and high-quality amenities from ELEMIS SPA. In the entire hotel, WIFI access is free of charge. Each morning, from 06:30 am to 10:30 am, the restaurant awaits you with an extensive breakfast buffet. For dinner, from 5.30 pm to 11 pm, regional and international food is being served. The restaurant is closed on Sunday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing