We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome home base for a trip to Munich/Bavaria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Ranked #110 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome home base for a trip to Munich/Bavaria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pretty much going to echo what a lot of others have already said; not a luxury property, but well-kept, well-located, and comfy, with a friendly and competent staff. Got a good shoulder season deal, so no complaints there. The wireless internet worked very well for me and the breakfast was excellent with lots of selection and great homemade jams. Easy walk from the Carat to most everyplace you'd want to go, but the subway is just up the street if you're heading farther afield or are loaded with luggage. Lovely walk to Old Town and Marienplatz. When I first walked in my room facing Lundwurmstrasse, a busy street, I was concerned by the level of the street noise, but once I closed the modern 2-way window (what a concept), things were much quieter. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLeshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    242
    131
    47
    13
See reviews for
128
184
55
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stirling
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in april. We got a deal so the price was reasonable. If we had paid full advertised price I would have been a bit disappointed as the rooms are quite small, a bit spartan and perhaps a bit dated. That's it for any negative stuff! We arrived quite late. Not a problem. The staff were very friendly/proffessional throughout our stay. The room was very clean and tidy. The location is excellent. We were initially looking at hotels around the main station but are very glad we chose where we did. The beds, as advertised, are very comfy. The bathroom was spotless and the shower powerful. There's was reasonably priced minibar in the room as well. There's a courtyard at the back which was pleasant in the morning for enjoying the free coffee provided near reception. The restaurant/cafe nextdoor, Mixto, does an excellent reasonably priced breakfast as well as baking their own bread. We didn't eat at the hotel so cant comment on the food.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maximusscoticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nothing to say about location and kindness of Reception people but, also this year, during the night some people were doing a lot of noise with loud music and voices, the wireless connection, eve if free was working very bad. Nice but small room and good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is easily accessible from the Sendlinger Tor underground station and close to Sendlinger Strasse, where you find many small shops on your way to Marienplatz (New City Hall, pedestrian walk, shops, etc). It is basically in the city center.

The hotel is basic, but well kept, clean and with a service minded and efficient staff. The room I got was small but very quiet. It faced the back of the building which might be preferable as the front of the hotel faces the busy Lindwurmstrasse. Bathroom seemed newly decorated and was kept very clean. There was no room service or iron/ironboard, but a small minibar. The room had a minimal TV of the old bulky style with only a few German channels. Free internet was a great plus though, and it worked well.

Breakfast buffet was good and above average quality for a three star hotel if you skipped the hot items which were a bit of a let down. Good selection of juices and strong coffee. Apart from the breakfast service, there is no restaurant in the Hotel. I would recommend the Mixto restaurant just next door if you just want som lighter dishes like pasta, pizza or a sandwhich. Reasonable prices, good quality and speedy service.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay and would consider stay at Carat Hotel again. Since this was a business trip paid by my German hosts, I cannot comment on the price, but a quick check on the net would lead me to believe that you get good value.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side facing the yard/backside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the carat hotel while visiting Munich for Oktoberfest. The location was within walking distance to Theresienwiese and the city center. The breakfast buffet was good but make sure it is included when checking in or else you will find a surprise when you check out. The room was perfect for just the two of us, there was plenty of space and storage. However, our bed consisted of two twin mattresses pushed together, which would always separate with every move made on the bed. Every morning one of us would wake up in the opening the mattresses made. Our room also had a small kitchen which we never used but it was a nice feature. However, the kitchen had a small window that viewed the building across the ally. It wouldn't have been a problem if there was a small curtain to cover the window, because during the night whoever was in that building had a nice view of our room, more specifically our bed. Also walls are paper thin, and could hear the guest next door to our room vomit all night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look directly at another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in two different apartments on two different occasions and found them to be roomy and quiet. However the decor and paint could do with a touch up in places. Both bathrooms tended to be on the small side. The hotel is in a good location with easy access to public transport. We were able to store excess luggage at the hotel between our two stays. The breakfast was exceptional offering an incredible variety. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOK_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently had a chance to stay at the at the Carat Hotel and Apartments in Munich and I found it relatively nice. The room was standard European tiny... but if your spending too much time there then your really not getting the grand sites of Munich. The rooms are functional and very clean. There were two detractors... the WIFI in the rooms were not working and the parking situation was extremely frustrating. The staff warned me and there was an acceptable workaround. However the parking is an issue - I had to drive around the block at least 5 times until I could find a spot just long enough to go check in... Oh - that was irritating. But all in all - still a nice hotel and the staff is very accommodating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEARBOLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#133 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.1 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#129 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#50 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Property: Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Address: Lindwurmstr. 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing