We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, would be hard to navigate Munich without a car”
Review of Hotel Aurbacher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurbacher
Ranked #258 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My partner & I stayed here with friends who had a car, which made the distance from central Munich much easier to handle.

Our rooms faced the street but, being a very quiet street, we heard no street noise. The windows didn't open, unfortunately, as the rooms were really hot at night. The room was pretty small but, hey, it's Europe.

There is no free wifi but there is a computer terminal near reception you can use for free. I found the chocolates on your pillow to be a nice touch.

The S-bahn station was a good 10 minutes walk away, so if price is more important than location it's a good place to stay.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

I went to a confernece and my wife accompanied me, the hotel was cheap and very nice, service good and solid. Breakfast was wonderful! Very nice and good indeed. Teh location is colse to the city center about 25 min walk. The neighborhood is quiet and clean and very safe. We cna only recommend this hotel and give it our highest remarks. The only negative wa sthe room size but the rest was so good that it does not matter.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrriBjornsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

the Hotel is on a quiet street. I did not bring my GPS with me and it was difficult to find. But when I found it I was rather surprised - nice Hotel. There is (expensive) underground parking, very good breakfast and clean quiet rooms. It is almost like bed and breakfast and has nice garden.
I liked the breakfast was served in a sunroom with big windows, man can forget this is busy Munich!

I am big guy and the bathroom is so small you have to suck in your stomach. But fixtures are clean and modern and many bathrooms in whole Europe are small so this is not a grave sin.

I booked another hotel when I went to Munich in August and I regretted it because it was not as nice as Auerbach Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hexnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

This is a very nice hotel. Everything is very clean. The staff is very kind. I had reserved a single room which was small, but comfortable and very quiet from the outside. Closing a room door is unfortunately very noisy, so I got waken up when my neighbour closed his at 6 am. The breakfast buffet is generous and tasty with quite enough to satisfy a standard appetite. In fair weather, there are some tables in the small garden at the back of the hotel.The only problem we had is that we were on business trip and had to carry several computers. The train station is a bit far walking, so we had to keep taking taxis

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mioule06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed here twice during our trip - once when we first arrived and then our last few days before we returned home.

The hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and is located in a residential area. We arrived a couple hours before the stated check-in time and we were really pleased to find the room available to us. Located on the top floor of the building facing the garden, the room was large and clean. The room was quiet and we had wireless internet access (which we had to pay for , but it was available from the room at a reasonable rate). The bathroom was very small - barely enough room for the shower and toilet, but we expected this for a European hotel. Breakfast in the morning was good - a selection of both hot and cold foods, breads and fresh fruit, coffee & tea and an area to eat outside in the garden. Because our experience for the first couple nights was good, we booked for the last few nights of our trip as well.

However, when we returned the second time, we were given a room facing the street with a cigarette odor and a room perhaps 1/2 or 1/3 the size of our first room. We came to find out that we had been upgraded during our first stay, and that the room we got the second time was what we should have had the first. Needless to say, we were incredibly disappointed between the smoke odor and the meer size of the room - barely enough to walk between the bed and the wall - and the street noise kept us awake during parts of the night. We asked for a new room due to the smoke smell, and there were none available. We ended up staying in the room for a total for three or four nights because we didn't want to deal with finding another hotel, and over the course of the say the odor disappeared.

Though we were not as pleased with the hotel the second time, we would still go back so long as we stayed in the first room or at least one facing the garden and not the street.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SF-Traveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank galka59akimkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
0.4 mi away
Brecherspitze Hotel
Brecherspitze Hotel
#288 of 388 in Munich
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
mk hotel munchen
mk hotel munchen
#261 of 388 in Munich
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurbacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurbacher

Address: Aurbacherstr. 5, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $81 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurbacher 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aurbacher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurbacher Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing