We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One night stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurbacher

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aurbacher
Ranked #253 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One night stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped off here after trip to Dachau, to show friends round Munich the next day. We had paid for parking for that day but the staff let us leave car for the next day and pick it up in the evening. The hotel is basic normal room but no safe or mini bar. Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable.
Staff are friendly and helpful and have cakes on the desk. Also very handy to get into centre tram line is 3-5 mins away, also across the street is a nice bar called Meres. well worth staying over for short stays. Didn't have Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
27
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Be really carefull when booking this hotel; we booked a double room and were offered to sleep (2 adults!!!) in 140 cm width bed. When pointing out this in the reception got an info that this was a standard when booking by internet (!) This information has never ever been available when we booked our accommodation!!! The toilett flushing almost out of the function. To make clean we had to use the shower. Huge marks of mould around the window behind the curtains. The garage price has originally been confirmed at 12 €; thereafter at 15 € for 1 night!
NEVER more hotel Aurbacher!!!

1+1, Göteborg, Sweden

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretaS427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I chose this hotel because there was the only one with a reasonable price on the first night we stayed in Munchen because all the hotel prices gone up due to I don't know what fair. I chose it even if there were some reviews that were saying that the hotel is dated. In reality we found a really nice room which seemed renovated with not much time ahead. Indeed there is a small room and a small bathroom than in an usualy 3 star hotel, but was clean and cozy. Regarding the location I can say that the hotel is in a nice area at about 2 km from the center. So, if you don't mind this I advise anyone to choose the hotel. Of course depends also on what price you are asked to pay. I understood that depending on the period the price may vary from 60 euros to 250 euros/night. On the front door there were 4 stars displayed, but I don't think it has them due to the size of the room. We did not have the breakfast here so I can't say anything about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The night clerk warned us that it was going to be a small room. That's fine with us. The room was pretty small, but the bed (140cm) was big enough for the two of us and quite comfortable.

The stale cigarette smoke smell, however, was BAD. The "Non-Smoking Room" sign in the room must have been meant as irony. We mentioned the odor to the morning clerk upon checking out, and she said we should have requested another room upon checking in.

I think they should give their rooms the sniff test BEFORE the guests arrive!

Also, having reserved through booking.com, we indicated we'd be two guests in that room. And yet there was just one bath towel available for our use.

The location was exactly right -- we were attending a party around the corner. But I'd pay more to sleep in a less smelly place.

We decided not to try the breakfast at 12€/head, so we can't judge that.

Room Tip: Give it a sniff test before you commit to the room for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during Intersolar 2012. Very small rooms, old hotel, could do with a renovation. Location is nice and close to city center and a main train station. Excellent staff and service. Only had breakfast here and it was the typical European basic breakfast, but good quality. The main highlight here is the staff and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room or bigger, don't take the single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidoI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in the hotel on a stopover in Munich for one night. I had booked this hotel based on some positive reviews here and the booking site, and the lack of any other options for the date that we needed the hotel for.
We arrived very early in the morning (about 8.30am) due to our flight arrival, and we didn't expect to get checked in. The lady at the front desk told us to give them another couple of hours for the guest to check-out, and they would get the room cleaned. We walked around the mostly residential area near the hotel, had breakfast at a nearby cafe and went back at about 11am. The guests were just checking out then, and the front-desk lady was very apologetic that the room wasn't ready. But she was flexible enough to then switch us to another clean and available room without us asking, which was very good of her.
The 'standard' room is tiny - enough to fit a narrow double bed, a small TV, a desk, and a small wardrobe. It also had enough space for us to open our three suitcases to get stuff out, but that was about it. The bathroom had a new shower stall fitted in, and what looks like new wall tiles. Overall, the room decor was very dated but it all looked clean and well-maintained. One of the room lights didn't work, but we weren't bothered as we were only there for one night.
We were there with family from the UK, and had booked a separate twin room with two single beds. We were told by the front desk that it was a bigger room at an additional 20 Euro charge, but it was the only one available for two single beds. We paid the extra charge and it was a much bigger room, but there was only a double bed instead of the two single beds we were promised. However, it was already late when they checked in, and we kept reminding ourselves that it was only for one night and didn't want too to create too much bother for that one night.
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with information on restaurants around the area. They offered a breakfast buffet but as we were not interested in a big breakfast, we didn't take it up. The serving area also had a nice inner courtyard that was quite charming.
All-in-all, the hotel was "good enough" for one night but we definitely wouldn't be returning to this hotel unless we had no other options in Munich. And we definitely wouldn't be staying for longer than one night if we had to return.
By the way, we paid about 150 Euro for ONE night which we find exorbitant for the quality of the hotel. However, there seemed to be 'something' going on in Munich on that one night, as all hotels were booked out (even though I was looking online at least a month ahead of the stay), and whatever rooms that were available were going for crazy prices - a 4-star hotel was averaging 300 Euro!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannetan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The customer service is exceptional, the friendliness of the staff is of what you would find in a B & B, really make you welcome.

I do have a gripe however, the decor in the rooms could be doing with an update, some of the light fittings need seeing to and I am afraid that the mattresses feel worn out. The walls are quite thin so unless you are right in the corner you can hear people coming up & down the stairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubble78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#164 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brecherspitze Hotel
Brecherspitze Hotel
#331 of 396 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariahilf
Mariahilf
#279 of 396 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#191 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurbacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurbacher

Property: Hotel Aurbacher
Address: Aurbacher Strasse 5, 81541, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurbacher 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aurbacher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurbacher Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing