We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #71 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2011

So staying several times in the Westin, the good thing is know what you can get.
And that's a good service, and a good breakfast.
The hotel is situated outside of everyting that makes Munich worth to go, so going her for leisure take into account that you need to travel.

The Sap is nice and quite.
As A SPG addict, I like to come over her, the rooms are a little overprized, but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingBizzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabineDClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

Dear DennisvdMolen,

Thank you very much for your comment on the TripAdvisor Homepage relative to our hotel. We are very grateful to hear that you always enjoy your stay at the Westin Grand München and we would be glad of seeing you soon back in our hotel.

Best wishes,

Sabine D.
Westin Grand München

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

The room I stayed in was relatively small and the design was old. Even the location was a little bit out of town, but it is within walking distance to the subway station in Arabella Park. Hot water in the shower was unstable and I nearly got myself scalded. The buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant, Zen, is a must try!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
Thank EdmundL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabineDClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Dear EdmundL,

thank you very much for your comment regarding our hotel. We appreciate constructive criticism, since it helps us to steadily improve our quality. The difficulty with the water regulation in the shower was forwarded to our technician; I am sorry that the problem arose. However, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offer and I would be happy to welcome you again soon at the Westin Grand Munich.


Best regards

Sabine D.
Westin Grand Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and a had a standard time. This place is pretty much like an American Westin: really comfortable bed, decent shower and a bar thats never empty, but never quite full/interesting. It does however have a crazy Spa. I'm talking 4-5 different types of saunas, an ice room, etc. You could literally spend hours there.

To consider: The location isn't great; you can't really walk anywhere. So if you're on vacation and want to be visiting historical places or knocking back brews at the Hofbräuhaus, you probably don't want to stay here.

Pros: Epic spa, comfy room

Cons: Location isn't great. Also they seem to have trouble dealing with the hotel when it's full. It was full when I stayed there and they tried to give my coworker the living room of a suite with a camping cot in it. Seriously. He didn't want a smoking room and that was their solution.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoahKAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

With a family of 4, 2 adults + 2 children (6 and 9) we went for this hotel.
Lobby was very welcoming, but after a very long travel the room was not ready and we had to argue about beds for the kids.
Finally we got upgraded to a 'junior suite' on the 14th floor with nice amenities as your own nespresso machine. Room looked a bit worn out though.
As my wife is asmathic she immediately recognised that the room does not have a good ventilation system and even thought she smelt some smoke (we were on a non-smoking floor).
The airconditioning/ventilation system is one of the two minuses we've found in this hotel.
The other minus was housekeeping. We had to ask for sugar/sweeteners, towels, bathgels as the room was setup for 2 adults only and not for the 2 kids extra.
Fair to mention that we were asked later if everything was now satisfactory and we had to admit that after this we found no additional reasons for blaming housekeeping.
You can use the hotel parking for Eur 20 per night (Which we found rather expensive) or you can park across the street for free (after 18:00 pm and and before 09:00 the next day)
The city center is about 5-10 minutes by car. We didn't try public transportation.
The kids loved the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mol1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

It was our first experience with this hotel chain, and we were highly disappointed. First, the hotel is far from downtown (but at least a few minutes from the public transportation system). Second, the room we got was in an annex to the hotel. We felt remote, like second class guesses. Third, the carpet of our room was dirty. It looked like if someone had vomited on it. Of course it was not vomit, but it was disgusting enough that we refrained ourselves from stepping on this area of the room. Fourth, there is no hair conditioner! Come on! We are in a five-star hotel and there is no hair conditioner. We asked the staff four times to provide us with some, and although they told us that they would bring some, they never did. Fifth, we spilled something over the bed on our first night, so one would have thought that the cleaning lady would have changed the linen the following day. No, she did not. So, we wrote a note asking her to change the sheets, but she did not do it on the third day either, so we actually had to undo the bed completely to make sure that she would not reuse the same sheets. After four nights sleeping in our dirty sheets, she finally changed them. Despite these problems, we have good words for the bar and the German restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolivierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This is a beautiful property. Immaculately clean. The rooms are very well appointed. Location is not "central", however, there is a metro station about a block away which will provide quick and easy access to downtown. The room had "ambient lighting" which we found quite inadequate. There was scarcely enough light to open the combination locks on our luggage. Service in this hotel was generally lacking. The clerk at the reception was a trainee who had to refer simple requests and inquiries to "her colleague" on three occasions which resulted in considerable delay. The breakfast buffet was indeed wonderful, however, it was impossible to get a coffee refill without doing it yourself. When the room was made up dirty glasses were not changed and facecloths were not replaced. The latter resulted in several calls to "Service Express" which turned out to be neither. These calls were repeatedly connected to room service. When houskeeping finally did respond several hours later we had turned in for the night (but the facecloths did get replaced along with all the towels and soap as the attendant spoke no english). Dinner service in the restaurant was slow.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The room is comfortable but one would expect more from a Westin hotel. No bedroom slippers or bathrobes were provided. The housekeeping team is not doing a good job as they did not replenish the in-room coffee and tea making tray and also no laundry bags were available when we needed dry-cleaning. Breakfast was however a very good spread.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
Thank Doris168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 385 in Munich
2,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#101 of 385 in Munich
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
702 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
2.6 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#40 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $146 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing