We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #57 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the hotel when travelling through Germany. Having stayed in the hotel last time in 2007 (then it was Arabella Sheraton), I was positively surprised how good the service remained, as well as hotel's staff and facilities. The room was big, the bed - comfortable and I especially liked the selection of pillows in the room (2 different per person). Hotel's restaurant (Paulaner) has also met my expectations. The only disappointing issue was the noise level inside, probably, it is normal in the evening when many people come at the same time. Breakfast was splendid, it's totally worth its price! A great selection of anything one might desire - from fresh pastry to fruits, yoghurts, sausages, omelets etc.

I specifically would like to compliment reception staff and concierges - whenever we needed anything, issues were solved swiftly and efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urania289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Urania289,
I’m happy to hear that you and your husband have enjoyed your stay at the Westin Grand in Munich. I will happily pass on your great feedback regarding the food and especially the staff. The Paulaner’s restaurant has a harsh atmosphere in general, especially because of the wooden décor. We sure look forward to welcoming both of you in the near future.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    611
    196
    70
    44
See reviews for
182
359
136
679
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had to stay here when we were stranded due to an airport strike. The hotel is really clean, well kept and had a really nice atmosphere. The rooms are large, lighting, layout, is all really good.

PROS:
1. Really great staff, friendly, courteous and genuinely nice
2. Hotel looks and feels really nice, from lobby, to elevators and room
3. Rooms are large, furniture and sockets are laid out well
4. Appreciated recognition of SPG status and welcome amenities

CONS:
N/A

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear James L,
I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I know how it feels to be “stranded” in a city and you don’t know where to stay and all. I’m happy that after the hassle with the airport strike, you liked the hotel and everything that comes with it. I hope we were able to make up for the strike a little bit and maybe you will have the opportunity to visit us again next time you are in Munich.
Best regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Westin Grand is comfortable and well presented, and the rooms are well=equipped. It is some way from the centre of Munich, but there's a nearby U=Bahn station that gets you into the centre very quickly. The hotel staff are very helpful, the concierges very knowledgeable.

I paid extra for an executive room and it was well worth it - provided a pleasant breakfast each morning with a great view from the top floor of the hotel, as well as drinks and light supper at night.

One thing worth remembering: if you need to get to the railway station early in the morning, allow plenty of time if you're taking a taxi. There are always taxis at the rank immediately outside the hotel, but it can be a slow drive in heavy traffic from there to the downtown location of the station. I did it twice during my stay, both times at around 8:00am, and it took at least 40 minutes.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear kitrobinson,
Great that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Grand Munich. Upgrading to an executive room, can be very convenient with the added benefits. The location of the lounge with its stunning view over the city is great and in addition you have free breakfast and snacks in the evening. Traffic in the mornings can be really hectic and it is quiet busy on the roads, unless you have a lot of luggage with you it is just easier and faster to take the train. I will surely pass on your great feedback to the team and we look forward to your next visit.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel meets the standards of the Westin hotel chain. It is very big, easy check in and out, valet parking and porter service during regular hours, 24 hour room service, spacious rooms, plenty of bathroom amenities and very comfortable beds.
The underground parking lot is large, but they charge about €20 per night. The wifi in the room was also for a fee.
If you don't mind that this hotel is not located right in the center of Munich and like to stay in a large hotel, try this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninodebalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Ninodebalia,
thank you for taking the time to write a review upon your stay at the Westin Grand Munich. The parking is being managed by an external company so we do not have influence on the fees they charge, but mostly you can also find parking spaces on the street. We have free internet in the lobby area, if you need to check e-mails or use the internet. However, I’m happy to hear that you have enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Sunny regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is very comfortable and we had the good fortune to have booked a club room on the 22nd floor. This gave us stunning views over Munich and also access to the club lounge with an extensive free breakfast and quite passable salad-type snack meals available in the evening if you chose, plus drinks all day.

The hotel is exceptionally well-located, 3 minutes walk from the U-Bahn (12 minutes to the Centre) and the tram (15-20 minutes to the Centre). There is a small shopping centre with a pharmacy very nearby too and there is a small Aldi within 6 or 7 minutes walk.

Our only gripes: the bath towels are annoyingly small, surprisingly for a top-rate hotel; and the young concierges are insufficiently knowledgeable about Munich: dining, sights, transport etc.

Room Tip: A club room will save you the cost of a breakfast each plus drinks whenever you come back to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear mjk43,
I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Westin Grand Hotel Munich. Booking a club room gives you some great benefits such as the usage of the club lounge with breakfast and various snacks in the evening. Also the view up there is really nice. Even though we are not located in the center directly, like you mentioned we have some shops around the corner and the train station is there as well. I will pass on your feedback to the team and also check about the towels and the concierge.
I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hotel was nice and clean. I had a great room on 17th floor with a good view of the city. This place is located close to U bahn station and the major shopping area and all tourist places are easily accessible . Room was big and clean. service was good and plenty of options to eat at different restaurants in the hotel. Check in was smooth and overall a comfortable stay for 4 days. Duck Bar was good. Zen restaurant was okay.

Few things which I did not like were :
No free wifi in the room ( it is charged) and it is only available in the lobby.
Hair drier in the room was making noise like a juicer.
Buffet breakfast for Euro 29 was on the higher side.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the higher level with a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

It is always a pleasure to stay in this property whenever I go to Munich. Helpful staff, great location, spacious rooms...
I always enjoy the prosecco breakfast and really reasonable bavarian flare in Paulaner's Biergarten.
If I am to complain, it will be the €5.00 being slapped as tray charge for in-room dining!!
Otherwise, highly commended!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Gaurav G,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you always enjoy staying at the Westin Grand Hotel Munich when you are in town. It is perfect weather here at the moment to enjoy some good food and drinks at the Paulaner’s Biergarten so I hope you have planned your next trip to Munich already. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
We wish you a great week and best regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 383 in Munich
1,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#97 of 383 in Munich
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing