We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a hotel for those with lots and lots of money, don't stay unless you're willing to spend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #69 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Westin Grand is a beautiful hotel. Don't get me wrong, it's stunning and very luxurious. I'm currently backpacking around Europe on my own and as a surprise my mum booked me and my sister into the hotel for the weekend.

The room was immaculate and comfy. The shower was divine (one of those rainfall shower heads) and the spa facilities (pool and gym) were wonderful.

But here's where it fell down in my opinion...

No one offered to help me with my bags. I watched as wealthy looking women and men checked in and checked out and were immediately offered assistance with their luggage by staff members. No one offered to help me, was it because I had a big rucksack? Who knows. I've lugged it around for thousands of kilometres so far, the lobby to the lift wasn't too much of a stretch. But I would have liked to have been offered like the other guests.

The extra charges were endless. The room rate at the hotel is generally €115, although we got a slightly better deal on one of the websites.
Wifi is free in the lobby but not in the rooms, wifi costs €16 for 24 hours use on up to three devices. Free wifi in the rooms would improve my view of this hotel greatly.

The television channels are not free. They are €6.50. You do have BBC and ITV for free but these did not work for us when we tried to watch them. Really, I didn't care about this, we didn't spend time watching telly in beautiful Munich but after being made aware of the expensive wifi, we thought this was quite funny.

The spa treatments are overpriced. Never in my time in any hotel, as fancy as this one, have I seen prices quite like them. A 45 min hot stone back massage cost €108. I have never seen this treatment for more than €80 anywhere. We travelled to a spa in the city centre where we got the same treatments for half the price (Sumatra Spa near Marianplatz, excellent!).

The coffee in the lobby was from a machine. My sister ordered a latte and it arrived with the two dots of coffee in the top where the automated machine had poured it. It didn't taste very nice. For €4.50 and in a hotel of this calibre, they should invest in a barista.

There were good points to it as well of course. The cocktail menu is extensive and delicious, the staff in the bar were particularly friendly. I should mention the girl with blonde hair whose name I didn't get, she was great.

The pool facilities are fabulous.

The view from our room was stunning at sunset.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay immensely, but it was the little things that tainted our stay somewhat. This hotel is for people with lots and lots of money basically, not a bad thing, but just be aware of that :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnRouteRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear EnRouteRebecca,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your stay with us. I appreciate your great and detailed feedback so we have the chance to discuss it with the team and improve our service. I’m glad to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, liked the rooms and the view. I will definitely pass on your feedback regarding the check-in as every guest should be offered assistance with their luggage and I would like to apologize for what happened. I will also pass on your feedback to the company handling our spa, because we also thrive to satisfy our guests with the offers they have. There have been some issues with the English channels in the past, but we are already handling the problems and trying to find a solution for our English speaking guests. I will also pass on your feedback regarding our lobby café, however I appreciate all the feedback you have given me regarding your stay and wish you a great weekend.
Best regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for a conference for about 5 nights. It was a bit away from the heart of the city, but there was a subway station pretty close by, but in rush hour, was about 30 minutes to get to dinner in the downtown area. Not a lot of dinner choices close by. A nice Westin, although I had a "Bavarian" style room, so very traditional decor, much different than the typical Westin. Room was very large with a great, large desk. My room had a great view of downtown Munich. Bathroom was very large, however the shower was extremely small (and I'm only 4' 11") with a way oversized rain shower head, too large for the size of the shower. Ate the breakfast buffet on the day of arrival. Tons of choices, great food, but very pricey. Dined for lunch in the lobby cafe/lounge a few times. Food was good, menu was limited, but service extremely slow. Paulaner's offered a great Bavarian experience with great service, food and beer. The Banquet breakfast was extremely limited. Front desk, concierge and bell staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again when I'm back in Munich.

Room Tip: If you want a little of the local flair and not feel like you are staying in an American hotel, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickieDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear rosone13,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online. I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your conference. I understand that it takes quiet long to get to the center during rush hour but it also has its advantages being a bit outside the center. Did you go down to the Arabellapark, they have few restaurants there and a great fresh market on Thursday for next time you are here.
We are very proud to have the Bavarian styled rooms, as they perfectly demonstrate the region we live in. In addition, I will pass on your comments to the designated departments so we can discuss the mentioned points from you.
We look forward to seeing you for your next stay in Munich.
Have a great week and best regards,
Paul Peters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfect lovely room, amazing breakfast, great service, close to the centre, clean. Just perfect. The pool was also very clean and not to busy either! The cocktail bar was out of this world but on the pricey side but I would defo recommend a visit! A lovely pace to stay whilst visiting Munich!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RebeccaBrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear RebeccaBrown1,
I’m very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Munich. Gladly I will pass on your positive feedback to my team. Our Ducktail’s Bar has a vast choice of cocktails and always offers some specials, the Bar Manager will be happy to hear such good feedback.
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed Here Last Saturday 12th April For 1 Night

Very Helpful Staff & Very Welcoming To Me & My Friend, The Hotel Bar Was Good & The Breakfast On The Sunday Morning Was Very Good , Hope To Come Back To Next Year To Go And See Bayern Munchen Play Since You Do A Very Good Deal To Go And See Them Play

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Peter M,
I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was helpful. I’m glad that the bar and the breakfast were to your liking. Watching a FC Bayern Munich game would definitely top your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Have a wonderful day.
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The room was nice and the breakfast was really good.
But, I had a beep sound in my room for 2 days, without them being able to fix it - or to be precise, they went to my room and never gave me any feedback, so I assumed they thought they had fixed it. It took 3 complaints before it was fiixed. That meant that I woke up every 30 min. for 2 nights!
It was obsiously a smoke alarm that needed new batteries, so I don´t know why it was so difficult to fix.
The 2nd time I complained I got a voucher for a free drink at the bar. Fine, but it was only valid that day, and since I was at a conference, I didn´t have time to use it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and write down your experience. I do remember the engineer informing me about the beeping and I’m truly sorry it took so long to be fixed and therefore interrupted your night. I would appreciate if you can get in touch with me, so that I can make sure your next stay with us will be much more pleasant and of course to make sure you can make use of your complimentary voucher.
Best regards and Happy Easter,
Paul Peters – Complex General Manager
Paul.Peters@starwoodhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel has a very nice wired swimming pool and sauna for family. The water is warm. 5 kinds of saunas (dry or steam) are helpful for adults to be relaxing.
The hotel is situated a little apart from the city center but it wouldn't be problem if you drive there. Actually, we really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKT0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear AKT0711,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and liked our spa facilities with the pool and different kinds of saunas. We do hope you went back home all relaxed and we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters – Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Westin is a name known worldwide for good quality hotels, nice staff and relaxing furnished rooms. Unfortunately this hotel, 15min away from the centre does not fit into the good name. I stay at the hotel at least once a month and am amazed every time how rude the staff is, especially to non German speakers. Starting at the reception: the staff doesn't care if you have any queries or need assistance, they just forget about the fact that they are working in a service delivery job. One stay ago a friend sent a package for me to the hotel. It was delivered the day of my checkout, but apparently nobody at the reception cared about the package and stowed it somewhere, so nobody did know where it ended up. After one month on my next stay I was asking about it again and it was suddenly found with the note: finally we get rid of it...
Coming to the restaurant: due to late arriving flights it is sometimes not easy to get some food at the restaurant downstairs, even if it is still one hour to closing time. Staff mostly already tries to kick one out, even though the place should be open till 11pm and not 10pm. If you ask why they get rude.

Finall the rooms: The cleaning is poorly, I always clean the toilet myself again because of stains in the sink. The showerhead works only on specific dates, the condition of the furniture is from dirty to broken.
Although it is a business stay and the company pays for the room, I get treated poorly, resulting in not recommending the hotel to friends.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Carramba89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Carramba89,

First of all I would thank you for taking the time to speak about your experience, yet it is regrettable to hear that you have not been experiencing very good service from our side. This is not what the name Westin or our hotel itself stands for. We are trained to assist our customers with any needs they have and also be able to communicate with our international guests; therefore I understand your disappointment. In addition, you should be able to receive food at our restaurant until 11pm and not have any issues with it.
A clean room and working appliances should be standard at any kind of hotel and it is unfortunate that you were not able to receive this.
It would be great if you could contact me, so I can investigate this further as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters – Complex General Manager
Paul.Peters@starwoodhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#95 of 388 in Munich
2,660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#57 of 388 in Munich
2,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 388 in Munich
713 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#38 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $144 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing