We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but there is room for improvement. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #67 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

It was my 3rd stay at this hotel and probably not last. When in Munich i normally stay here. This time i noticed a couple of things that weren't as good as always, that's why i decided to write a review. I think it is enough said about rooms in general, so there's no need for that. Although i have to say that their beds are extremely comfy and one doesn't see king-size variety in Europe that often. The safe is huge too, which is a plus. Big minus is wifi which isn't free of charge. Yes, i know it is supposed to be for free in the lobby etc, but first, it wasn't working properly and second, i don't want to run around the building with a laptop in my hands, sorry. For the price i actually kind of expect some kind of connection in room too. Take a look at other Westins, like Paris Vendome. They do provide internet. Then i decided to take a bath in the room and noticed that sink was full of stains underneath. That should be checked too, but i can live with that. The breakfast is very nice, there is something for everyone i guess. The spa area is a bit dated. Swimming pool is nice but needs updating and in sauna one of the showers wasn't working as wasn't 'eis grotte'. Was a bit disappointing. All in all i would rate is as very good, and with some improvement it could easily become great.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank tonibulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear tonibulg,

thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I have shared your Feedback with my team and I guess especially Housekeeping can immediately improve the working standard so that you are able to enjoy our Heavenly Beds and also the Heavenly Shower without any compromise. Please be informed that the Sauna area is under construction at the moment and unfortunately will take some time longer. As an alternative please feel free asking our Front desk stuff next time you are here for using the SPA Area at the Sheraton Munich, just on the opposite side of the street. What we can also offer is to borrow a nice pair of New Balance Jogging shoes, shirt and socks for a run - we have also jogging maps at the Concierge for you.

I hope that you will be inspired for your next stay,
all the best
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,601)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Grand Munchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel surely lives up to Westin standards. Very clean and tidy - a daunting task for a hotels housekeeper. Chefs are doing a great job here as well, with some excellent food. My personal favorite was the Goulash served in the Paulaner's located below the lobby level. Have tried this dish at several hotels, but this one stands apart - a traditional dish usually prepared with left over meat, but am sure the chef has taken time out to select the value meat to prepare this simple dish. Just a suggestion to the hotel managers that - when the same dish is served at coffee shop and specialty restaurant, do take some care to keep the portion size similar as the prices are almost same.

The rooms a quiet and the location also adds onto that. To sum it up all.... great food, great hotel and efficient service.

Room Tip: You may try the room with balcony
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear gardenz,

thank you very much for your wonderful review! It would be our pleasure to welcome you again here at the Westin Grand Munich. Now that sping is coming, you have to try out our beergarden at Paulaners with BBQ and other bavarian specialities like "Obatza" or "Steckerlfisch". Please rest assured that we take you comments very serious and I will share them with all relevant departments so, that next time the portion of Goulash will be the same in every outlet.
Hope to see you soon again and stay well,
yours
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel has friendly and helpful service staff. Nice 5 star hotel with big lobbies and beautiful BMW cars on display in the lobby. Rooms reasonably big and country style wood decor. Toilets have 2 sinks and 2 shower area, both tub and standing. Tub has no shower curtains and standing shower abit small and squeezey. This is a non smoking hotel. The executive floor is on the 23 floor and very private and quiet.
Disappointing is that the TV channels is only German and a little other European language. English channels is only CNN, CNBC and BBC news only. There are no English movies channels. To be an International 5 star Hotel, Westin should have more English channels and movies.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Gerald_Sum,

thank you for beeing our guest here at the Westin Grand Munich. I am very happy that you took your time ro write that review about your stay. Unfortunately we were not able to meet all your exprectations and I understand that you were missing more english movie channels on TV. Besides all the sports and news channels you also have the possibility to choose your favourite genre in movies and the language you want to listen to. This is a service which has to be paid for extra but you have a wide range you can coose from, it is a little bit like cinema.
Next time when you will stay with us it would be my pleasure to invite you for a movie at your choice, please give me a note than I will arrange everything.
I hope to hear from you soon and send you refreshing regards
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice good-quality hotel in Munich. Went there for a business event (which was in the hotel). The experience was overall satisfactory. The rooms were nicely sized with good bathroom and separate shower. One highlight was the really big in-room safe, which fit my completely backpack and even had a power socket, to charge any devices while you are away. The rooms had quick access to the meeting areas downstairs. The breakfast was without any failure.

Would go there again when in Munich next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan-Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am not necessarily a fan of big hotels, but the Westin Grand Munich shows the advantages of such places - big rooms, cosmopolitan feel, excellent facilities, welcoming service. The spa is highly recommended - both the good-sized pool and the nicely decorated sauna area. Children can stay in their parents' room for free if no additional bedding is needed. Breakfast is great. The Friday night buffet in the Zen restaurant was fine and well worth the money. The "Heavenly Beds" are a bit soft for my taste. Great rain shower in room. Fantastic views of the city, and across the city to the Alps. The hotel is outside the city but has excellent public transport connections right into the centre (underground, bus, tram - all available).

The one point deduction is for noise. As other reviewers have pointed out, the city view rooms have the disadvantage of also looking out on a major street. The noise is not unbearable and can be cancelled out by earplugs, but it could be heard on the 17th floor, especially on Saturday, when the trucks were still driving past. I am becoming more critical of high-end places that do not offer soundproof rooms, and in this case, you also hear the lift if you are allocated a room close to it. All in all, this should not deter you from booking the Westin Grand, and one should also note that it very often is on offer so that you get excellent value for money. Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, try to get a room high up, away from the lifts and to the back - you...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear thomasd70,

thank you very much for taking the time to write an review about your recent stay with us. Wonderful, that we have convinced you that also big hotels can offer personal, instinctive and renewal service. I have shared your feedback with all relevant departments. I can completely understand your point of view and I know that it can be loud in rooms with city view for sensitive guests. Next time you will visit us, I suggest you to tell the reservations department that you prefer a room on the other side of the hotel. The view is not that spectacular indeed but your sleep could be more recreational, especially of you are not used to use earplugs.

Best regards
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice hotel with good food and not forgetting German beer at the basement.

The hotel does acknowledge your contributions for a greener environment by giving vouchers to be redeemed at their restaurants, your mini bar or room service. Do check out the details with the front desk.

Stayed at the Starwood Preferred Guest SPG level, room is nice with adequate heating.
Bathroom door is round and not the friendliest to use. Water will get through between the two doors and wet the floor if you are not careful when using the hand shower. Two complimentary bottles of sparking water in the room is a nice touch. Decent Wifi connection. Nice lounge which you will have to take the lift to the top floor and access via another lift which will only open with your access card. Access card is sensitive to magnetic field. One of the more sensitive ones where it gets deactivated once near your phone or other magnetic stuff.

Very friendly staff, professional in their conduct.
Staff at the lounge are very polite.

Good stay, good hotel.

Room Tip: If you are smoker and they are out of smoking rooms, you can consider requesting for a room with bal...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D8mien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear DSmien,

thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments already with my team to show how valuable our efforts are to or guests.
Please rest assured that we know about the shower doors and we startetd working on a better solution that your bathroom floor will not be flooted anymore. In the near future all our showerdoors will prepared with new hinges and new seals for the doors.
I hope that you will be our guest very soon again,
stay well
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We hav been twice to Munich and have really loved our stay at the Westin Grand Munich. This is a very efficient, professional courteous Westin with comfortable beds, spotless and a HUGE bathroom with waterfall shower.
The breakfast buffet and restaurant is a great way to begin the day with a large selection of cold and hot items. We ate at The Bavarian restaurant for dinner one evening and really really enjoyed our meal. The started platter to share was really good.Far better than Bavarian restaurants rated highly in Marienplatz.
We discovered the U Train stop across the street about five minute stroll and a small grocer for supplies. A nice neighbourhood for walking. We intend to bring our children next visit to Munich and use this hotel as a base.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Michele H.

thanks so much for taking the time to write this Review about your recent stay with us. It seems that you have enjoyed everything that Westin is known for: the Heavely Bed, the Heavenly Shower and uperfood for breakfast. But we also have many things to make an family stay more comfortable: our heavenly cribs, Concierge Service: he can help you plan your day in and around Munich with lots of tips and, if you'll be here on a sunday, we offer our Westin Sensual Sunday (except of summertime)with Kids Club. Your Kids will be taken care of very professional in a playing room with seperate buffet for children and parents have enough time to enjoy the sunday at our Restaurant with healthy food and time for a talk. Doesn't that sound great?
Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do for.
Warm regards
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#62 of 385 in Munich
1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#101 of 385 in Munich
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
694 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#38 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $161 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing