We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place gets it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #57 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This Place gets it !”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I'm going to be honest - most upscale business stay hotels ( JW Marriott, Grand Westin, W , etc ) are all pretty much the same in quality. What separates these hotels is the personal service that they provide the customer. And like my review says - this hotel gets it !
I just got back from 5 days in Munich with my 9 yr old son and I have to say - the little things that the employees at this hotel did was way pass above and beyond.
The concierge, doorman, valet, desk clerks and house keeping were all fantastic.
Special thanks to the Concierge - Alexander Von Wilmsdorff -
That young man located tickets, provided advice and saved me money. The day of the Bayern Munich soccer match - he gave my son a flag for the match ! It was a small gesture - but he made my son smile !
That's one of the little things that make - the Westin Grand a hotel that I'll stay in every time I'm back in Munich.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake_B1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Blake_B1973,

thank you so much for your wonderful Review. I have shared your comments with all relevant departments, especially the Concierge. This is how the experience in a Westin Hotel should be for a guest: peronal-instinctive-renewal!
I hope that you will be our guest very soon again, maybe to watch another FC Bayern Football match?

My very best regards to you,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    611
    196
    70
    44
See reviews for
182
359
136
679
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had a two night stay in the Westin Grand and really enjoyed the experience. The beds are huge and very comfortable. The staff are very helpful and friendly even filling my flask up for me as I had a long drive when I left. A little way from town but easy to get to on the underground or a tram.
We had a very nice time and Munich was great I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the city for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deerhunter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Deerhunter13,

thank you for posting such a nice comment about your recent stay with us. I saw that you have been with us due to Business reasons, maybe you also with have the possibility to spend a weekend with us, We have very special offers, it would be our pleasure to make your weekends last longer.
Warm regards
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is absolutely lovely! The rooms are nice and big, the bed is sooo comfortable. The staff are very friendly. Breakfast is superb. Downstairs in the hotel is a lovely spa with a beautiful indoor swimming pool. Also they have a car rental place in the hotel which is very convenient. The hotel beer garden is a must while you are there. The food is typically Bavarian and super yummy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Barbara M,

thank your very much for taking time to write such a nice review about your recent stay with us. It seems that you really have enjoyed our heavenly bed, which is produced for Westin Hotels only and that you enjoyed our SPA area. At Christmas time we have very Special offers at our Paulaners Restaurant which you may try, very tasty and bavarian style, also in our Grapperia Cefe we offer Christmas Sweets and hot chocolate. Did you try our ZEN Restaurant already? Don't miss it next time you are staying with us.

Have a wonderful Christmas time
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Westin Grand Munich delivered great experience and excellent value – good room with fantastic view on 22nd floor, access to very nice two story club lounge on 23rd floor, very nice shower and separate bath tubes. As always in my reviews I’ll get over advantages and faults:

Pros

- Great room with very nice rain shower and separate bath with cozy floor heater, great bed and fantastic views
- Awesome two story club lounge with large windows and magnificent views, computer stations with nice choice of snacks, juices, wines, prosecco and decent breakfast
- Large lobby lounge with vintage cars exhibition
- Cool SPA and aqua zone with large warm pool, Jacuzzi (bot hot tubes), steam room (not hamam), sauna and very comfortable sun beds
- Nice ambience around the place, Westin touch products (shower, bed)
- Nice location just 9 minutes by metro to city center
- Great rates
- Large supermarket is nearby

Cons

- There are not much to speak about – the only things are that breakfast at club lounge can have more choice, and operator telephone service can be more professional (not replying sometimes, can bring you not what you asked for)

I would like to thank hotel management for great job, excelent level of hospitality and strongly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Munich

Sure to be back to my new home in Bavarian capital - Grand Westin Munich

Room Tip: Pay some extra for club floors - they give great views and nice amenities like club lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Andrey V,

thank you very much for writing such a nice rewiev about your recent stays with us. It is my pleasure indeed to create a comfortable und refreshing stay for you and I thank you for your compliment! I have passed on your two comments about Service Express and the varity of Food in the Club Lounge to improve in these two Points also.
As before, you are very welcome to contact me directly for any wishes you may have.
Have a good week and hope to have you soon back in the Westin Grand as our guest.
Warm regards
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and myself have stayed recently in October for 2 days and in November for 6 days at the Westin Grand Munich and I would say the hotel was absolutely high class in every way.
From the reservation to check-in, all staff were more than friendly and very welcoming.

Our Club Junior Suite was gorgeous with spectacular city views.
Housekeeping service fast, efficient and friendly.

The Club floor, again wonderful experienced staff, very good breakfast and evenings warm nibbles like chili con carne, lamb stew, small hamburger and hot dogs , fresh salads and cheese platter etc., unfortunately we have never tried this.

We visited regularly - or the Paulaner Wirtshaus, very good local dishes or the excellent Pan Asian Restaurant ZEN.

Both in preparation of food and service outstanding.

Spa and health Club well maintained, nice pool and very nice Sauna and Steam room. Please visit the Ice room and you will be surprised....

Regarding the location, the hotel is not really far from the city.
Public Transportation is nearby I was told.
We took a taxi for approx. 12 Euro (one way) in around 10 minutes to Marienplatz .

Compare to other hotels in Munich, e.g. Bayerischer Hof , I would highly recommend the Westin Grand and we looking forward to our next stay end of december

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear worldtraveller007_10,

thank you very much for your positive review about your recent stays with us. I haven shared your Feedback with all relevant departments to pass on your commendation to the team.
Also we are lookiung forward to your next stay end of december. Please contact me directly if there is anything more we can do for you to make your stay even more comfortable.

My very best wishes
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good hotel, gym/spa are good. The restaurant is great for breakfast with a variety of local and international options. The bar food was good, especially the healthy options.

Location is OK, but watch out that the local subway line doesn't run late at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_germain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear dan_germain,
I am glad to read that you had a comfortable and renewing stay with us. I have forwarded your comment to all relevant departments to share your impressions with my team.
Besides our Superfood offers, we have also other possibilities to support a healthy way of life. Did you hear about our Gear Landing program? We offer our guests New Balance shoes and a new pair of socks in your size for a jogging tour near the river Isar or access our Gym 24 hours a day for a good workout.
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Warm regards
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just come back to UK from a business trip and four nights in the Westin as a SPG.

Pros: - Heavenly beds really are heavenly. Slept better than I normally do when away. Large TV with English channels too. Powerful thunder shower in bathroom- like being at a spa. On that matter the spa was of an extrememly high standard for late night swim. Good quality food on room service too and prompt delivery.
Cons: - knew location was in suburbs. However traffic is virtually standstill in mornings and prepare for a taxi queue at peak times if travelling into Munich. Trying to get a cappuccino to take away each morning when leaving the hotel meant locating a member of staff to help with this. The current assistant behind the counter was never there. Was also surprised to find that after my evening swim, the steam room contained naked men without towels. However this is perhaps my not knowing current practice in Germany :) However if you are travelling with younger children, it might be helpful if the receptionist flags this as you sign in. Overall would be an excellent hotel for the business traveller if only the internet was provided free of charge

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Pip N,

thank you for eeing our guest recently and for taking the time to write some lines. I have shared your Feedback with all relevant departments, also with the SPA Manager, and I can tell you naked people without towels in the steambath are not german standard so it was not your lack of knowing. We will take better care to avoid such situations in the future.
Very nice to read that you enjoyed our hevenly bed and heavenly shower. Did you try our Westin superfoods yet or borrowed a pair of New Balance Jogging shoes for a run near the Isar yet? You should try out next time whilst staying with us.
Have a good time,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 383 in Munich
1,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#97 of 383 in Munich
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing