We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent business hotel - best SPG in Munich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Munchen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #54 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel - best SPG in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Particularly for business travelers, I can highly recommend this hotel. It may be a bit off the center, but it definitely provides the best service.

Since I travel (too?) often, I measure service particularly on occasions, when things go wrong. In a large hotel, there are always things that can go wrong, from minor glitches (like the newspaper was not delivered to my room door) to more major events (the booking system did not copy my reservation - during October Fest Week) - but I recognize an excellent hotel, by how the staff deal with these situations.

In both situations, the hotel staff found a fast solution - with respect to the newspaper, when I told the Guest Relation Manager in the Lounge, she put my favorite paper for me aside every morning, for the case that it was not delivered to my room. (I didn't ask for this favor, she just did it!) When my reservation was not found, I got a room anyway in a fully booked hotel, and was upgraded to a Luxury Suite the next week I was there.

In total, I felt really treated at a personal level and highly welcome by all the staff. Particularly Mrs. Moll from the Lounge was a real gem. This is how regular stays at hotels become real pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nczink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear nczink, thank you very much for taking the time tpo write such a nice review about your last stays with us. Your Feedback is very valuable for us, especially when we can learn something about you as our guest. It makes me more than happy to read that Ms. Moll vom our guest Relations team did her job well and made your stay a memorable and positive one, even if some small things went wrong. It shows that only the staff attidude can make the difference in all the 5 star Hotels in the world. I am sure that she noted your preferences in your guest profile, than next time you get your newspaper without saying. I hope that you will be back very soon. meanwhile I wish you a good time!
Stay well
yours
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    595
    181
    66
    42
See reviews for
170
348
130
654
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a very nice City break staying at the Westin Grand for 3 nights. It is a very well run hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast choice was superb, and the Leisure facilities were really good. It is a in a convenient location, less than 5 minutes walk from the Arabellastrasse U-Bahn station, easy to get into town, but also with some choice for food and drink close by. The bedrooms were very comfortable, bathrooms well equipped, and super fast lifts. It is worth making sure that you have breakfast included because the price was e27 per person per day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevejchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Was there for business only - overall great hotel including welcoming front desk, great recognition of spg platinum status - got upgraded to the executive lounge floor. Executive lounge is most likely one of the largest I have experienced with a nice view (being on the 23 floor), good variety of food and very dedicated service. Not a hotel for tourists in my opinion since it is not within walking distance of any of the old Munich attractions - however for business it is definitely perfect. Concierge has a ton of plug adapters - a plus when you forgot yours.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacques A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great room with large bathroom that was close to UBahn stop. Service was excellent and property was in good condition. If you can't find a hotel close to Oktoberfest grounds, this is a good option. If you expect to put more than two to a room you better be family or close friends as the beds are small.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tew34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
251 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. I booked this hotel through Expedia's "Name Your Price" tool, and I could not be happier with this hotel! We only paid $100 USD per night which was awesome. The hotel is very clean and very beautiful. The rooms were more than nice. The only negative is the location. Since I had been living in Vienna for 6 months before my parent's visited and we took a trip to Munich, I was very comfortable with using the public transportation in European cities, however, if my parent's had gone by themselves, they would have struggled to get there without taking a taxi from the train station. Other than that, the hotel is wonderful! I would highly suggest it to anyone looking for a classy hotel in Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Negatives: This is a nice Westin property but with some service issues. As mentioned in other reviews, the staff - from front desk, to breakfast room to spa employees - seem to have an attitude. This property is outside the city center so you must take a subway if you want to see the sights.

Positives: The pool is amazing. It has a wave resistance (not sure of the correct name) that can be turned on. You can get a float and the current moves you in a circle around the pool with no effort on your part. Or you can walk against the current for a great workout. They do not always have the water motion turned on. Some times part is turned on, sometimes none, and sometimes all. I did not figure out a pattern of when and, as mentioned above, found rude unhelpful staff when I tried to ask. But the pool area was amazing. Wonderful place to relax even if you were not in the pool. The breakfast in the executive lounge was quite good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 0TravelTime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was here for the first day of Octokberfest. Beautiful hotel, and great rooms with great friendly service at front desk. All employees very in the spirit of Oktoberfest. Quiet rooms. Subway is five minutes away and in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#91 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
3.3 mi away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#42 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
2.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#67 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#31 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. Attention: From 6th of March 2017 until 1st of April 2017 renovation work will take place in our lobby. There may be some noise disturbance but we will try to minimize restraints for our guest as far as possible. For further information please feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing