We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Munchen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #58 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. I booked this hotel through Expedia's "Name Your Price" tool, and I could not be happier with this hotel! We only paid $100 USD per night which was awesome. The hotel is very clean and very beautiful. The rooms were more than nice. The only negative is the location. Since I had been living in Vienna for 6 months before my parent's visited and we took a trip to Munich, I was very comfortable with using the public transportation in European cities, however, if my parent's had gone by themselves, they would have struggled to get there without taking a taxi from the train station. Other than that, the hotel is wonderful! I would highly suggest it to anyone looking for a classy hotel in Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    568
    173
    65
    42
See reviews for
163
332
127
618
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Negatives: This is a nice Westin property but with some service issues. As mentioned in other reviews, the staff - from front desk, to breakfast room to spa employees - seem to have an attitude. This property is outside the city center so you must take a subway if you want to see the sights.

Positives: The pool is amazing. It has a wave resistance (not sure of the correct name) that can be turned on. You can get a float and the current moves you in a circle around the pool with no effort on your part. Or you can walk against the current for a great workout. They do not always have the water motion turned on. Some times part is turned on, sometimes none, and sometimes all. I did not figure out a pattern of when and, as mentioned above, found rude unhelpful staff when I tried to ask. But the pool area was amazing. Wonderful place to relax even if you were not in the pool. The breakfast in the executive lounge was quite good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 0TravelTime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was here for the first day of Octokberfest. Beautiful hotel, and great rooms with great friendly service at front desk. All employees very in the spirit of Oktoberfest. Quiet rooms. Subway is five minutes away and in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stated at the Westin Grand for 5 nights during the Oktoberfest with a 1 year old. Room was great and quiet. Service at the front desk and the lounge on the 22nd floor was beyond our expectations. The employees at this hotel are top notch and catered to us. The gentlemen working in the lounge not only made sure we had everything we needed, but went out of there way to make sure our son was happy. This is by far the best service in Munich. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Every time I passed the lobby of this hotel during my 3 days stay here, it was a sea of tourists. The room given to me was in the older section of the hotel hence quite jaded. The room balcony opened right next to the autobahn and hence was never used. There was nothing overtly negative about the hotel but just that a lot of small irritants make it a no-no.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arsenal789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Westin is well managed and maintained but in my view lacks the cohesiveness of newer Westin properties. It is located outside the downtown core of Munich, but right on a subway stop. Given the excellent subway system in Munich this makes up for the mediocre location of the hotel. Rooms are large for European standards and well appointed. The lobby is a bit of a design mess, populated mostly by tourist groups when I was there. Hotel bar combines dull ambience with indifferent service and very high prices. 25 Euros for two glasses of wine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
258 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at this property for more than 15 years at least once every two years. The hotel consistently has maintained its property to a high level and the service levels are good to great. The staff are wonderful and especially in this trip where Air Berlin lost my luggage for two days the hotel staff stayed on it until it was found. We always feel comfortable staying there as a gay couple and love the service and food.
However!!!! If the manager reads this email we did have a run in with one staff person who was rude and very unprofessional during our stay. As a Platinum member we get access to their club room which serves breakfast and a light dinner. One morning as we were going to the special elevator to access the lounge with two friends who were visiting us the club agent stopped us at the elevator and in a very rude tone demanded to know if were we guests. I said yes we were and then she insisted to know if all four were guests. We said no and she very rudely said then they could not come into the room without paying 45 euros which was absurd. It was a perfect stay and it only took one nasty employee who obviously had little customer service training to handle such situations to leave a sour taste in our mouth. I do plan to follow up with the manager of the hotel by letter as she was really out of line.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#61 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#84 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#53 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#36 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing