We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Grand Munchen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rothof(Munich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Muenchen Palace(Munich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mk | Hotel(Munich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,729)
Filter reviews
1,729 results
Traveler rating
688
674
224
90
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
674
224
90
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaulaner restaurantzen restaurantthe club loungearabella parkstarwood hotelsbusiness hotellarge hotelhigh floorsteam roombavarian stylecity centrean upgradeenglish gardenbeer gardenlobby barbusiness tripbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 1,729 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Every time I passed the lobby of this hotel during my 3 days stay here, it was a sea of tourists. The room given to me was in the older section of the hotel hence quite jaded. The room balcony opened right next to the autobahn and hence was never used. There was nothing overtly negative about the hotel but just that a lot of small irritants make it a no-no.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsenal789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Westin is well managed and maintained but in my view lacks the cohesiveness of newer Westin properties. It is located outside the downtown core of Munich, but right on a subway stop. Given the excellent subway system in Munich this makes up for the mediocre location of the hotel. Rooms are large for European standards and well appointed. The lobby is a bit of a design mess, populated mostly by tourist groups when I was there. Hotel bar combines dull ambience with indifferent service and very high prices. 25 Euros for two glasses of wine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at this property for more than 15 years at least once every two years. The hotel consistently has maintained its property to a high level and the service levels are good to great. The staff are wonderful and especially in this trip where Air Berlin lost my luggage for two days the hotel staff stayed on it until it was found. We always feel comfortable staying there as a gay couple and love the service and food.
However!!!! If the manager reads this email we did have a run in with one staff person who was rude and very unprofessional during our stay. As a Platinum member we get access to their club room which serves breakfast and a light dinner. One morning as we were going to the special elevator to access the lounge with two friends who were visiting us the club agent stopped us at the elevator and in a very rude tone demanded to know if were we guests. I said yes we were and then she insisted to know if all four were guests. We said no and she very rudely said then they could not come into the room without paying 45 euros which was absurd. It was a perfect stay and it only took one nasty employee who obviously had little customer service training to handle such situations to leave a sour taste in our mouth. I do plan to follow up with the manager of the hotel by letter as she was really out of line.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let me start this off by saying I have been traveling for over 20 years all over the US, Europe, Canada, Mexico, etc. most of the time I try and select Hilton properties. For some insane reason this time I selected this property. In no way shape or form am I trying to discourage anyone from selecting this location as I never made it here. You see because of sequestration here in the US travel plans were cancelled normally a non-issue to cancel. This time was much different here is the scenario:
Hotel booked a few months ago
Upon booking date hotel sends standard automatic email your room is booked
Monday morning the 23rd hotel sends email reminder 12 days after you could cancel without penalty (this was stated but again because travel was not issued can't get there)
I call to cancel on Monday 23rd still a few days before expected arrival also emailed only to be told outside the cancelation policy would have to pay 90% of total
After multiple emails and even a call to Starwood Corporate I surrendered today and paid over$1,200 for a hotel room I will never see and now have to go through the stress of most likely not getting reimbursed. However, I was told if the hotel room sells I would be reimbursed (not sure how I could actually know if that happens unless monitor site to see if sold out)

Moral of the story WATCH THE POLICIES and DO NOT EXPECT ANY UNDERSTANDING you will get a bill regardless doesn't matter if you are military or not.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank DCchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Apart for the hotel is superb itself, customer service takes it to a even higher standard level. I forgot such a small thing in the room and the lost and found section was very careful and efficient to send back my item. Awesome customer service, i was amazed by it. Thanks you all for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena_travelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews