We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #72 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stated at the Westin Grand for 5 nights during the Oktoberfest with a 1 year old. Room was great and quiet. Service at the front desk and the lounge on the 22nd floor was beyond our expectations. The employees at this hotel are top notch and catered to us. The gentlemen working in the lounge not only made sure we had everything we needed, but went out of there way to make sure our son was happy. This is by far the best service in Munich. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Every time I passed the lobby of this hotel during my 3 days stay here, it was a sea of tourists. The room given to me was in the older section of the hotel hence quite jaded. The room balcony opened right next to the autobahn and hence was never used. There was nothing overtly negative about the hotel but just that a lot of small irritants make it a no-no.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsenal789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Westin is well managed and maintained but in my view lacks the cohesiveness of newer Westin properties. It is located outside the downtown core of Munich, but right on a subway stop. Given the excellent subway system in Munich this makes up for the mediocre location of the hotel. Rooms are large for European standards and well appointed. The lobby is a bit of a design mess, populated mostly by tourist groups when I was there. Hotel bar combines dull ambience with indifferent service and very high prices. 25 Euros for two glasses of wine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at this property for more than 15 years at least once every two years. The hotel consistently has maintained its property to a high level and the service levels are good to great. The staff are wonderful and especially in this trip where Air Berlin lost my luggage for two days the hotel staff stayed on it until it was found. We always feel comfortable staying there as a gay couple and love the service and food.
However!!!! If the manager reads this email we did have a run in with one staff person who was rude and very unprofessional during our stay. As a Platinum member we get access to their club room which serves breakfast and a light dinner. One morning as we were going to the special elevator to access the lounge with two friends who were visiting us the club agent stopped us at the elevator and in a very rude tone demanded to know if were we guests. I said yes we were and then she insisted to know if all four were guests. We said no and she very rudely said then they could not come into the room without paying 45 euros which was absurd. It was a perfect stay and it only took one nasty employee who obviously had little customer service training to handle such situations to leave a sour taste in our mouth. I do plan to follow up with the manager of the hotel by letter as she was really out of line.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let me start this off by saying I have been traveling for over 20 years all over the US, Europe, Canada, Mexico, etc. most of the time I try and select Hilton properties. For some insane reason this time I selected this property. In no way shape or form am I trying to discourage anyone from selecting this location as I never made it here. You see because of sequestration here in the US travel plans were cancelled normally a non-issue to cancel. This time was much different here is the scenario:
Hotel booked a few months ago
Upon booking date hotel sends standard automatic email your room is booked
Monday morning the 23rd hotel sends email reminder 12 days after you could cancel without penalty (this was stated but again because travel was not issued can't get there)
I call to cancel on Monday 23rd still a few days before expected arrival also emailed only to be told outside the cancelation policy would have to pay 90% of total
After multiple emails and even a call to Starwood Corporate I surrendered today and paid over$1,200 for a hotel room I will never see and now have to go through the stress of most likely not getting reimbursed. However, I was told if the hotel room sells I would be reimbursed (not sure how I could actually know if that happens unless monitor site to see if sold out)

Moral of the story WATCH THE POLICIES and DO NOT EXPECT ANY UNDERSTANDING you will get a bill regardless doesn't matter if you are military or not.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank DCchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Apart for the hotel is superb itself, customer service takes it to a even higher standard level. I forgot such a small thing in the room and the lost and found section was very careful and efficient to send back my item. Awesome customer service, i was amazed by it. Thanks you all for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena_travelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Don't be offset by a strange exterior (I was initially)...
Tha place keeps up the Westin standard - the interiors are amazing, rooms are specious (by European terms) and everything is there just to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
But more than anything I would rate the service - the receptions desk was really friendly and willing to help, not to mention an early check in and a late check out free of charge.
The staff in the bar is great, so is room service. All together the service and care they take of your are good enough of a reason to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztrel0cK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#98 of 387 in Munich
2,654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#56 of 387 in Munich
2,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 387 in Munich
710 reviews
2.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#75 of 387 in Munich
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#40 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $142 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing