We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #53 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location in Munich. The lobby is very nice and the breakfast buffet is wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are very modern. The staff was very friendly and it is a good value in Munich. We also enjoyed the pub on the lower level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear clu13,

thank you for sharing your experience about our Westin Grand Munich with the Tripadvisor community. We are very happy to hear that you find our hotel to be very nice and in a great location. Furthermore we thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly associates. As you liked our Paulaner’s Wirtshaus maybe you join our monthly Beertasting at your next stay. Our beer sommelier will tell you interesting facts about beer while you try different kinds of them and enjoy complementary dishes from our flying buffet. Until we welcome you back at our Westin, we wish you all the best!

Refreshing regards to Charlotte

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    595
    181
    65
    43
See reviews for
170
348
130
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently stayed at this excellent property on my business visit to Munich, Germany......
I found this Hotel to be very good in all respect. Hotel Lobby is excellent with display of Vintage Cars. Also Hotel staff gives you warm welcome & try their best to give you homely atmosphere.... I would definately recommend this hotel to all my know person who intend to visit Munich, Germany in near future....

Room Tip: Rooms on the Executive floor are very excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirtijain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Kirtijain,

it is nice that you share your experience about our Westin Grand Munich with the Tripadvisor community. We are very happy to hear that you found our hotel very good in all categories and that you immediately felt at home because of our friendly associates! Thank you for recommending us to your family, friends and colleagues. Until we welcome you back at our Westin, we wish you all the best!

Refreshing regards from Munich

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Staff is top notch, rooms are very clean! However when being compared to others i.e.. Hilton Arabellapark fails at being a Westin. Being a SPG Gold and booking a room you should be given a upgraded room when occupancy is not full. For the past several years the Westin/ Sheraton has not done that in Munich. Being a gold member for a equivalent hotel you get upgraded no questions asked.

Rooms lack superb quality, sinks drains slow (clogged), rusty soap trays in the shower, and variety of shower heads do not work are just a few to mention. This hotel needs to be the Sheraton and not a Westin like it used to be.

When staying in Munich you have choices, lack of Starwood status being upgraded, rooms far from 3 star, make this hotel not a wise choice. Great location but so are many others.

What makes a memorable stay is to be upgraded and given a great room..... That deserves a 5 star to leave with a "wow".

Room Tip: SPG gold means NOTHING.... Hilton Honors gives better service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear TravellingEric,

thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor! We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. In detail we want to apologize for not recognizing your SPG gold member status and therefore not offering you an upgrade. If this happens again, please do not hesitate to contact me.
When you come back to Munich we hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are worth a stay. Until then we wish you all the best.


Refreshing regards from Munich

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very good hotel. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms. Fantastic lounge and good restaurants.
The location was perfect for the fair.

The staff were friendly and professional at all times. The hotel was extremely busy but the staff handled it very well. I checked out in the lounge and it was easy and very quick.

This hotel is one to judge other by.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Rich2809,

“This hotel is one to judge other by.” – Wow! Thank you very much for your positive comment according to your stay at our Westin Grand Munich. We are very proud that you enjoyed your stay from the first to the last minute and especially liked your clean and big room as much as the fantastic sight from the 23rd floor at our Executive Club Lounge. So thanks a lot for your compliments and we hope to see you back soon at our house!

Refreshing regards to London

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Westin 3 nights in January and everything was perfect from the moment we checked in to the minute we checked out. The lobby is impressive and beautiful. The rooms are good size and very clean. The bathroom, OMG, was so clean and had everything we needed. This was the nicest Westin property we stayed in so far.
All Westin hotels are huge and that can sometimes work to their disadvantage. This hotel managed their guests properly so there were no lines or waiting for anything. The property is very clean, we saw a man painting the walls on our floor one day even though they weren't dirty. The maintenance of this hotel is incredible. It deserves appreciation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Amberyl,

thank you very much for your positive comment according to your stay at our Westin Grand Munich. We are very proud that you enjoyed your stay from the first to the last minute and especially liked your clean and big room. Furthermore we are happy to hear that our Front Desk team did a great job helping guests quickly and friendly.
So thank you very much for your compliments and we are looking forward to soon welcoming you back at our house.

Refreshing regards from Munich

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
269 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel and only had a couple of issues. I have broken them into positive and negatives.

Positive:
Rooms a good size and comfortable. As a platinum I was upgraded to a Jr Suite. Loved having two bathrooms. Spa was nice to use and clean. Great to hang out in the winter time.
Club room for Platinum members had sufficient food stock for breakfast and snacks for dinner. Solid internet service in room and club. Staff were very professional and easy to talk with and all spoke very good english in case you are wondering. Over a good business stay hotel.

Negative:
We use to stay here every xmas but moved to the Le Meriden property in the center of the city once it became part of the Starwood chain because the Westin is about 2 kil further out requiring a subway or street car ride into the center. What we noticed right off the bat upon a return to this Westin is that the carpets throughout the hotel were worn and stained and had not been upgraded since the last time we were there 5 years ago. Our room was very clean which is typical of German standards but the carpets were in bad need of replacement. I hope the hotel plans to take care of this eye sore as we would love to return.
The hotel was pretty empty during the xmas week we stayed there and that is not unusual. It provided for great pricing to stay there. However and in spite of being platinum I was not placed on the Starwood floor. Rather, a lower floor which was the category I paid for. I was provided a Jr suite which consisted of a standard room with a connecting room set up as a living room. Not very functional except for the second full bathroom. While the program states you are upgraded to the highest category available as a platinum member, more times than not that only means in the category paid. Really depends on the property. Because I had read a similar experience by another platinum member at this property I called the platinum service in the US to make sure they contacted this property to ensure I was given an upgrade. I feel sure the Jr Suite was the result.
The spa is nice and the facility large but for North Americans it is so weird to see male and females sitting naked in the sauna together. The sign into the sauna rooms actually say no swimming trunks allowed. So the first logical question that comes to mind is if males and females can sit nude in the sauna together then why not use the same changing room and shower facility? Pretty funny actually.
I will this hotel again and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear SFjoe,

thank you very much for your comment according to the Westin Grand Munich. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked our Junior Suite and the Executive Club Lounge on the 23rd floor.
Furthermore it is nice to hear you were able to relax at our ArabellaSpa even though you were a bit confused by the mixed sauna rooms which are typically German. Nevertheless we are sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your room. We are continuously renovating our rooms and of course also replace the carpets.
We hope to soon welcome you back at our place to appear at our best. Until then we wish you all the best!

Refreshing regards from Munich

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was originally slightly concerned with the location of this hotel (not being in the heart of the city), however on arrival I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right near a station with only a few stops to the city centre, only a few minutes drive if you have a car, and yet away from all the tourists.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, quiet and clean.
The staff were extremely helpful providing advice on authentic places to eat, places to avoid, and printing out directions to destinations we were interested in. I could not fault them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear BJ216,

thank you so much for your overwhelming comment due to our hotel. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed the room and that our Concierge was able to find the right placed for you to visit. We are happy to hear that you found out that you didn’t need to be worried about the location! We are not located in the old town but within ten minutes by subway (U4) without changing you are at the historical Karlsplatz (Stachus) and Odeonsplatz. Both destinations are very good start points for your sightseeing or shopping tour.
So we would like to thank you for your time - until your next stay with us we wish you all the best.

Refreshing regards to Newcastle

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#89 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#60 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
3.3 mi away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#42 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
2.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#67 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#31 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. Attention: From 6th of March 2017 until 1st of April 2017 renovation work will take place in our lobby. There may be some noise disturbance but we will try to minimize restraints for our guest as far as possible. For further information please feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing