We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #71 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A good choice for family stay, quite agreeable, and in particular the breakfast in the beautiful garden.The room is excellent and the hotel has a good situation-near the subway and tram station. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    143
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
93
170
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Admiral during a very wet and cold June in Munich. The hotel is located on a generally quiet street a little ways from the city center. While it is a bit of a walk to most tourist sites, it is very convenient to the S-bahn, and we enjoyed being in an area that was a bit more residential/local. (There was some construction going on in the building next door while we were there, but the noise from this is presumably a temporary issue and is not a problem overnight. We didn't find it too bothersome.)

The rooms themselves are small but clean and comfortable. Ours had a small balcony--useful when we could not turn the heat down and needed to cool the room to be comfortable. (The balcony door was helpfully equipped a fixture to help you prop it open just slightly, presumably to aid in climate control.) The breakfast provided each morning, while a bit expensive, was excellent and included a wide variety of options (including great German potato salad and delicious raspberries). The staff was also helpful.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would likely return if we were back in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

It is funny how most hotel sites or rating sites like this one never talk about noise !

Construction besides hotel from 6 am to 6 pm. Lovely surprise.

convenient location close to Deutsches Museum and downtown

good sized rooms with great breakfast and good service

fortunately for us it was not too hot in Munich otherwise the rooms would have been a disaster facing the front: too noisy to open windows and far too hot to keep them closed

thus: don't book there in the summer unless you get a room in the back

back rooms face nice garden and are far quieter

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WordTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location is a bit far (15-20min walk) from the city centre and hence, it is quieter and away from the tourist traffic. The lady staff at the front desk were friendly and were eager to serve us throughout our stay. Although we stayed in the suite, its lift only brought us to one floor below our room and there was no porter service to help with our luggage. It would be nice if we were offered some help with the luggage given the steps that we had to climb to our room. We enjoyed our room, which was clean and spacious and very nicely and tastefully decorated. Good breakfast spread in the restaurant that has an outdoor area for enjoying the cool morning breeze.

Room Tip: The suite was a good choice for us as we were traveling with our 9-year old son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YSLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed for 3 nights and the hotel is very centrally located. though not on a crowded street. Staff is very helpful , though like any other 4 star hotel in Europe , the hotel is thinly manned, but even then they meet all your requirements promptly

Room Tip: rooms facing the road have a good view, not sure about the rooms on opposite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay. Our room with the balcony was perfect. The breakfast was outstanding especially when we were able to dine outside on the terrace next to the garden. The staff was friendly and out-going. We highly recommend. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyfishingfoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I agree with what people say about this place.

It is in an extremely nice and safe area. Lots of restaurants a block away. It's about 100m to the river and maybe 200m to the Deutsches Museum. The famous Marienplatz is less than 1km. And there is even a great laundromat 2 blocks away.

A real bright spot is the staff. Simply wonderful and friendly and helpful. Whenever we had a problem, they were extremely proactive in solving it, even if it had nothing to do with the hotel.

I also liked the feel of the hotel. We're not modern, antiseptic big-box hotel fans. We prefer a smaller hotel with character. But we also really like things like WiFi. Could a couple of things in the room be updated? Yes, of course. That's almost always true. But I definitely would not call this place tired.

The breakfast is very good. I'm not a jam person, but the jam they make (yes, they make it) is really, really good. And if you watch the staff closely at breakfast, you can see the level of effort they make in details that many people wouldn't even notice. And I think it's this level of detail that makes this a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuansooJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#108 of 383 in Munich
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#90 of 383 in Munich
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Kohlstr. 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#32 Business Hotel in Munich
#40 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing