We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Classic Hotel in central Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #49 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel in central Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. It is very centrally located. The rooms are very large and decorated with classic style furnishings. This hotel retains and older style that has been kept up very well. The rooms are tasteful and a Have enough room to fit 2 armchairs and a decent size sitting area. The bathrooms have high ceiling and the showers some of the best pressure around. The salon for breakfast was bright and airy and the selection was excellent, lots of fresh and dried fruit, meat and cheese, breads,juices, and muesli options. Immaculately clean and comfortable. Even though the style may be suited more for older people the charm of the hotel would suit all tastes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeprichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    131
    31
    5
    6
See reviews for
87
154
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was very excited then I book that hotel which was rated as 8.8. But when I come I have realized that this is a typical 4(+/-) hotel. The only one thing differs from other - each day they put the chocolate on your bed. I have faced real service problems during the check out - Due to my personal convenience I asked to split the invoice and receipt into 3+4 nights. The girl on the desk agreed, but push wrong bottom in the system so it takes 15 minutes to cancel the wrong invoice. When she split the invoice into 3+4 and bill into 5+2 nights! As I was already in the hurry I decided to drive to airport. My letter to management asking how can I complain that situation was totally ignored. Be careful!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sergey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-admiral, Inhaber at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Sergey G.,

Thank you very much for staying with us. It has been a pleasure beeing your host for a whole week. We honesly apologize for the unacceptable inconvienience during your check-out-procedure and we realy hope you catched your flihgt in time. In the future we will offer all our guests to send the bill vai e-mail to avoid any waiting experiences. Thank you for your assisstance. Please visit us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near futur.

Best wishes to you

Kevin Voigt-Masermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel in quite location within 10 mins walk to centre of city and U and SBahn stations.
Spacious bedroom and though not decorated to my taste was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Bowl of fruit on arrival was nice touch.
Bathroom is small and needs remodelled but was clean with fresh towels daily.
Breakfast was good with plenty fresh fruit, bread, rolls, cereal - boiled egg only hot food available and toast did not appear to be an option.
Staff efficient with check in/out taking only a few minutes and any request answered punctually.
Only downside was our room (203) appeared to be aimed at female guests only as the toilet seat failed to stay back unaided!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BobWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-admiral, Inhaber at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear BobWScotland,

Thank you so much for staying with us and of course for your helpful advise. We have changed the toilet seat right away.

Kind regards

Kevin Voigt-Masermann
Hotel Admiral München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were so thrilled w/ our stay. It was a beautiful slice of old world charm in a good sized city. We liked the location, walked to the main squares, and enjoyed our sojourns through the hotel's neighborhood which is full of antique, book and boutique shops. Staff was very helpful & pleasant, breakfast was a wonderful start to the day, and room was quiet, comfortable and quite pretty.

There was a lovely public room w/ small bar and the breakfast room looked out on a darling garden. This is just the type of place we love to find......A nice slice of heaven!

We would definitely stay there again. As for the key holder, as per many older hotels, this was left at the desk on our outings and retrieved when we came back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel deserves all of the compliments given below. Our bathroom was a bit "traditional" in decor but certainly not "tired", everything worked and the bath/shower was hot and high pressure. The key fobs are not unusually large for such hotels, just leave it on reception as you go out. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and could speak English. The modern room safe was too small for an iPad; and if you find time to watch, no English speaking TV channels. But overall this is an excellent small hotel and scores high marks for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Location is very close to the Viktualien Market so absolutely in the center. The hotel is small and clean and pretty comfortable. Its room is good and clean but its bathroom is out dated. The staff is friendly and the breakfest is good .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The lady who greeted us, checked us in swiftly but abruptly. I have put this down to her having a bad day. We didn't see her again during our six night stay. The rooms are dated but on the other hand spacious and clean. The key is attached to some sort of ornament, a bit heavy for a handbag. after a few outings we were informed the hotel holds the key whilst we are out. ( we had detatched the key from the ornament) The bathroom was also clean and functional. Their is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, or iron and ironing board. However after requesting iron and board, one was promptly delivered to room and left there for the duration of our stay. Getting from the airport to the hotel is a breeze,airport train to central station then to Isartor station and less than a 10 minute walk to hotel . Breakfast was included in the room rate, but don't expect bacon and eggs however the beautiful assortment of fruit meats and bread was nice and I especially enjoyed the Bircher muesli. We may have got off to a bad start but the overall kindness of the staff would be a good reason to stay at the Admiral on a future visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.5 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.4 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#14 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
Tulip Inn Concorde Munich
#123 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Kohlstr. 9, 80469, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#28 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#32 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing