We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect city centre location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #48 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect city centre location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel in quite location within 10 mins walk to centre of city and U and SBahn stations.
Spacious bedroom and though not decorated to my taste was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Bowl of fruit on arrival was nice touch.
Bathroom is small and needs remodelled but was clean with fresh towels daily.
Breakfast was good with plenty fresh fruit, bread, rolls, cereal - boiled egg only hot food available and toast did not appear to be an option.
Staff efficient with check in/out taking only a few minutes and any request answered punctually.
Only downside was our room (203) appeared to be aimed at female guests only as the toilet seat failed to stay back unaided!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BobWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-admiral, Inhaber at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear BobWScotland,

Thank you so much for staying with us and of course for your helpful advise. We have changed the toilet seat right away.

Kind regards

Kevin Voigt-Masermann
Hotel Admiral München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    137
    32
    5
    6
See reviews for
91
161
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were so thrilled w/ our stay. It was a beautiful slice of old world charm in a good sized city. We liked the location, walked to the main squares, and enjoyed our sojourns through the hotel's neighborhood which is full of antique, book and boutique shops. Staff was very helpful & pleasant, breakfast was a wonderful start to the day, and room was quiet, comfortable and quite pretty.

There was a lovely public room w/ small bar and the breakfast room looked out on a darling garden. This is just the type of place we love to find......A nice slice of heaven!

We would definitely stay there again. As for the key holder, as per many older hotels, this was left at the desk on our outings and retrieved when we came back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel deserves all of the compliments given below. Our bathroom was a bit "traditional" in decor but certainly not "tired", everything worked and the bath/shower was hot and high pressure. The key fobs are not unusually large for such hotels, just leave it on reception as you go out. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and could speak English. The modern room safe was too small for an iPad; and if you find time to watch, no English speaking TV channels. But overall this is an excellent small hotel and scores high marks for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Location is very close to the Viktualien Market so absolutely in the center. The hotel is small and clean and pretty comfortable. Its room is good and clean but its bathroom is out dated. The staff is friendly and the breakfest is good .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The lady who greeted us, checked us in swiftly but abruptly. I have put this down to her having a bad day. We didn't see her again during our six night stay. The rooms are dated but on the other hand spacious and clean. The key is attached to some sort of ornament, a bit heavy for a handbag. after a few outings we were informed the hotel holds the key whilst we are out. ( we had detatched the key from the ornament) The bathroom was also clean and functional. Their is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, or iron and ironing board. However after requesting iron and board, one was promptly delivered to room and left there for the duration of our stay. Getting from the airport to the hotel is a breeze,airport train to central station then to Isartor station and less than a 10 minute walk to hotel . Breakfast was included in the room rate, but don't expect bacon and eggs however the beautiful assortment of fruit meats and bread was nice and I especially enjoyed the Bircher muesli. We may have got off to a bad start but the overall kindness of the staff would be a good reason to stay at the Admiral on a future visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

A jewel of a find in Munich. This is a small Boutique hotel, right across the (small) bridge from the Deutsches Museum in Munich, and only a 12 minute walk to marienplatz. The breakfast spread is amazing, and it has an adorable outdoor garden. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is really an excellent place to stay. It is relatively small, decorated in "old style", very elegant , clean and well maintained.
The bathroom has very nice soap/ shampoo, the room is clean, has a small balcony facing hotel's garden, a safe and it is well heated which is important this time of the year.
Reception speak English and are very polite and helpful.
Location is great - quiet neighborhood, 2 minutes walk to Deutshe museum, about 5 minutes walk from Isartor ubahn/sbahn station, and around 10 minutes walk to MarienPlatz.
Hotel has free wifi which is rare and very helpful, the breakfast is simply wonderful - a lot of different fresh fruit, cheese, pastries.
They also bring some cookies and fresh fruit to the room free of charge which was a nice surprise.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ab2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#13 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.4 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#15 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#12 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#87 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Kohlstr. 9, 80469, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#32 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing