We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kohlstrasse 9, 80469, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel deserves all of the compliments given below. Our bathroom was a bit "traditional" in decor but certainly not "tired", everything worked and the bath/shower was hot and high pressure. The key fobs are not unusually large for such hotels, just leave it on reception as you go out. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and could speak English. The modern room safe was too small for an iPad; and if you find time to watch, no English speaking TV channels. But overall this is an excellent small hotel and scores high marks for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Location is very close to the Viktualien Market so absolutely in the center. The hotel is small and clean and pretty comfortable. Its room is good and clean but its bathroom is out dated. The staff is friendly and the breakfest is good .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The lady who greeted us, checked us in swiftly but abruptly. I have put this down to her having a bad day. We didn't see her again during our six night stay. The rooms are dated but on the other hand spacious and clean. The key is attached to some sort of ornament, a bit heavy for a handbag. after a few outings we were informed the hotel holds the key whilst we are out. ( we had detatched the key from the ornament) The bathroom was also clean and functional. Their is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, or iron and ironing board. However after requesting iron and board, one was promptly delivered to room and left there for the duration of our stay. Getting from the airport to the hotel is a breeze,airport train to central station then to Isartor station and less than a 10 minute walk to hotel . Breakfast was included in the room rate, but don't expect bacon and eggs however the beautiful assortment of fruit meats and bread was nice and I especially enjoyed the Bircher muesli. We may have got off to a bad start but the overall kindness of the staff would be a good reason to stay at the Admiral on a future visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A jewel of a find in Munich. This is a small Boutique hotel, right across the (small) bridge from the Deutsches Museum in Munich, and only a 12 minute walk to marienplatz. The breakfast spread is amazing, and it has an adorable outdoor garden. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is really an excellent place to stay. It is relatively small, decorated in "old style", very elegant , clean and well maintained.
The bathroom has very nice soap/ shampoo, the room is clean, has a small balcony facing hotel's garden, a safe and it is well heated which is important this time of the year.
Reception speak English and are very polite and helpful.
Location is great - quiet neighborhood, 2 minutes walk to Deutshe museum, about 5 minutes walk from Isartor ubahn/sbahn station, and around 10 minutes walk to MarienPlatz.
Hotel has free wifi which is rare and very helpful, the breakfast is simply wonderful - a lot of different fresh fruit, cheese, pastries.
They also bring some cookies and fresh fruit to the room free of charge which was a nice surprise.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ab2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A small hotel at walking distance from the city center, but far enough to make your sleep sound and quiet. This hotel seems a little bit old-fashioned with its big keys, and that special interior that hotels and pensions once had.
You can walk to the Marienplatz, catch a U-train at the Isartor station and get to any place you want.
There was a beautiful garden seen from the balcony, nice breakfast though not a big choice .
The only thing I didn't like - the bed was too small(short and narrow, meant for one person) it wasnt really comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This little jewel was a wonderful surprise. The staff, especially the family of Shahrokh Chanani , wife Simin and their daughter Raha were absolutely delightful. We were only in Munich 2 nights, and the morning we were scheduled to fly home, we had a very early flight. The hotel has the most wonderful buffet you can imagine, but because of our early departure, we were told we could have cold cereal and coffee. However, when we came down with our luggage, Shahrokh had come in early and set up the whole buffet for us. I don't think they are the managers, but they sure could be. We were totally surprised and thrilled, and left with the feeling that we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a companion and want one bed, request a room at the back of the hotel. Som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#6 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#7 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Kohlstrasse 9, 80469, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#33 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing