We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great location”
Review of Hotel Stachus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stachus
Ranked #163 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, clean we had a room on the top floor for one night. Would stay here again as in an excellent location

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    220
    114
    33
    19
See reviews for
54
189
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend. The location is ideal: just 2 steps from the ancient town with all sightseeings, close to the metro, rer and tram station. We had booked a superior room -they are moderner and more comfortable.And by chance our room was looking on the court, it was really quiet. What lack in the room is a little fridge and payable WIFI, it spoils impression of the hotel. The reception staff was friendly and helpful, they provide you with a city and metro map on request. Breakfast is really nice and huge but the restaurant stuff dont't smile at all. the only thing we disliked -the housekeepers's pressure in the morning of our check-out.Normally check-out time in the hotel is 11am but the housekeepers began to disturb us from 9.30 am trying to come in the room.And they weren't pleased to find the room still occupied.so we quietly went up to have our breakfast at 10am, having left our things in the room.By return, we were shocked: during our absence housekeepers left the windows open in our room as all our things, papers, money,2 iphones was in (the room is on the 1 floor)!!
Our general impression of the hotel is good enough apart from this last incident.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poliena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Good points are.
1. Friendly staff
2. Clean room
3. Heated bathroom floor
4. Conveniently located to local and DB train stations.

Bad points are if your hotel is facing street it can be noisy could have windows for soundproofing. I would maybe use this if you are on your own and just as a pass through place. I did not try breakfast which is extra anyway. My single room was quite small but did me fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from the main high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkmiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkenbach-Alsenborn, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here for the second time while attending the Opti Munich Trade Fair in Jan 2011 and Jan 2012. This year I requested a room in the back, it is much quieter that the street side-although last year the traffic did not disturb my sleep. The rooms are very clean and I love the heated floor in the bathroom. The breakfast is excellent-great selection from musli to scrambled egs and saugsages. The location could't be better-10 min walk to main train station; hop, skip and a jump to the U/S bahn and shopping right around the corner Through the Stachus Gate. I also found the price to be reasonable given the location. This year the elavator was under construction for refurbishment-shich I knew about at time of booking. The staff was very helpful in assisting with luggage up and down the stairs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EXPAT89Alsenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Hotel Stachus is very convenient. Very near Munich's Hauptbahnhof and Karlsplatz and 10 minutes from Marienplatz. Our room was very clean and the bathroom spotless. Hotel breakfast was excellent and the selection varied and fresh. The front desk staff was friendly and is multilingual. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wadec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel is very close to Karlsplatz, S-bahn station and Hauptbahnhof Munich. Around 35 min. by taxi to airport Munich in good traffic conditions. Also it's just 10 min walking from Marienplatz where you can go via Neuhauser Strasse having nice shopping. Of course in such a case 10 minutes can be stretched to infinity but if you rather need fast access to most remarkable sights of Munich don't look around while walking :) Also in 10 meters from hotel there is nice movie-style bar "35mm".
The hotel is really good value, nice rooms are clean and quite modern. Some of the rooms not that spacious - they have different kinds of double rooms - check the space before booking. Very good breakfast. Wi-Fi is for charge, but something little and works fine even for several devices for one code (despite at the reception I've been told the contrary).
The only issue - the parking is on the other side of the street which has tram line. So you need to make 50 meters walking around to cross the street in proper place with all your luggage in order to enter the door - either the hotel or the taxi on the way back. The good thing is that taxi drivers is so helpful that you can even increase your usual luggage load :)
I stayed there twice - as a couple and then with 10 month kid - and find it good and worth to recommend for fast access to transport, shopping and Munich sightseeing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side is quieter - there is the tram line on the street. Check the space of double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farabundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here over the Easter holiday, 2012. The weather was kind of crumby, but that's no reflection on the stay.

Hotel is conventient to the central train station, which works very well for us. We like to stay closer to the main transprtation hubs to avoid the high costs o taxis when possible.Not only is the hotel close to the train station, but it's an easy walk to Marienplatz, and if necesary it's also close to the Ubahn.

The room was close, but space was decent for the price. All was clean, and the staff took good care to make up the room on a daily basis. Front desk staff is also helpful. When you go out for the day, you drop off the large room key, and they are always courteous on pickup. We did not partake of the very expensive (euro 17), but there's much less expensive options close by. And, there's little shops and stores just next door for things like pizza, snacks,and a great little pasta/dessert shop that we ate at nearly every chance we got.

For the money, it's not a bad choice. Be aware that it is near the train station, but the neighborhood seems safe. My wife had no problem going out on her own, and she can be squeemish about strange folk.

Room Tip: Can't recall the name, but the gelato shop two or three doors west was very nice, and nice peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottrz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#162 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#47 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#169 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luitpold
Hotel Luitpold
#189 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stachus

Property: Hotel Stachus
Address: Bayerstr. 7, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name says it all about the location of our traditional hotel in Munich. Centrally located between Hauptbahnhof (main train station) and the Karlstor, also know as Stachus, you will overnight in the heart of the city. The Hotel Stachus is located at the beginning of Munich's walking zone, just a short distance to Marienplatz, Hofbräuhaus and to the Theresienwiese, home to the annual world famous Oktoberfest. In a few short minutes you can reach Hauptbahnhof and from there connect on to the airport or the Munich Expo Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stachus Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing