We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were lucky” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Daniel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Daniel
Ranked #212 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We were lucky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is one of the hotels that you cannot find any information about on their website ! They are simply don't want you to know that the front rooms are noisy and the rooms on the quiet side are without air condition and if you open the window you get smells from a kitchen restaurant. Beside that, the TV has only German channels, when we ask for CNN they said that the technician has to tune the channels but 4 days nothing done to fix it. So I guess this is their standard reply to all. This hotel doesn't have WIFI they use MY Cloud Germany net as "their" WIFI and this cost 12.5 Euro per day. You don't need the hotel for this wifi net you can find it in any place over Munich. The room is clean, normal with safe. Breakfast is good. The staff is polite and helpful.
We were lucky to get a quiet room and we almost didn't open the windows, because it was chilly in November.
About the best location it is already written. This is not my standard of hotels, next time it will be my last option of accommodation.

Room Tip: If after all, you decided to go to this hotel, check the room before you take it and find with what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    129
    109
    39
    17
See reviews for
68
114
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent location for exploring the city. Right next to Marienplatz, the pedestrian mall. Surprisingly large room and bathroom. Breakfast is nice. Just 2 points to make:
1. We checked out before 10 am to make our flight back home. We had to pay our bill in cash because he said he didn't know how to use the credit card machine. So had to go to 3 different ATMs with different cards to get out that much money, which was a pain when we needed to catch the train on time to make our flight. On their defense, they do have a sign on the front desk that says something about paying your bill at a certain time, I just never saw it in advance. I never thought to pay the bill before we checked out of a hotel.
2. The noise. Our room faced the main road. Omg, I've never heard so many sirens in my life!! Whenever I've read reviews and people complained about noise, I thought, hmmm, maybe they are old!!! But no, this is one case that I couldn't believe how loud it was! Its a fine hotel, but I would ask for a back room maybe?

All in all, fine hotel to crash in at night. Location to Marienplatz is its highlight!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Depending on the room you have you can have an average experience or very good.. we changed 3 rooms.. at first we had a smoky-smell room with no A/C the receptionnist was very kind she changed our room to a really nice renovated one but the the A/C was not that great it was almost not working so we changed for another renovated room with a better A/C ..The positive things : 2 receptionnist ladies were very very nice and helpful , its close to the main attractions and to the train station , you have trams just in front ..quiet room(it was not on the street), breakfast was very tasty . The negative things is the A/C can ruin your night because Europe is hot in August ! and I felt that depending on the person who is doing your room it can be clean or not that much.. the shower was ..hummm... but again maybe if I have told the receptionnist they would have cleaned it...

Room Tip: Check for A/C ask for no-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crista20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had to visit Munich for a conference. The venue was close to Marienplatz, so looked for places close by which would allow me to walk through the city center.

Came across Hotel Daniel - and am glad i picked this one.

1. Excellent accessibilty - very close to the train station that connects to the airport. Easily walkable even with a large suitcase!
2. Great location - beautiful location. Just steps away from the central area and shopping street. Lots and lots of places for picking up stuff.
3. Food - given the location, there are a great number of places for quick eat.. across multiple cuisines! Hotel serves a decent breakfast spread as well..
4. Rooms - there were some posts advising visitors to ask for rooms not facing the street since there would be lot of disturbance from the train lines right in front. I had a room facing the train lines right on :) but didnt have an issue for the 3 nights i was there! So dont let that bother you much!
5. Value for money - Unbelievable value for money, esp given the location!! And compared to what I was given to expect from the region..

Will definitely stay at this hotel if i need to go back to Munich!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Daniel for 3 nights in October 2011. It was the perfect choice for us! It is a short walk from the train station - even with luggage. It is steps away from Karlzplatz, which is the beginning of the pedestrian street/shopping district. Karlzplatz is also a metro stop so it's easy to get all over the city from the hotel doorstep. The hotel was clean and had wi-fi. It's not the kind of hotel where people carry your bags to your room for you, but the staff were all very helpful.

The area was all well lit and I never felt unsafe getting to/from my hotel - even when we left at 5AM to catch the early train to Neuschwanstein!

If luxury is what you want, this isn't the place. But overall, I do not think we could have found a better combination of cleanliness, convenience, location, and price! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you then ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. For me, the noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbbieDabbyDu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Just had our fourth year staying at the Daniel for octoberfest.
Yup it's basic but ideal as a comfy crash pad. The rooms are a good size, clean and with bathrooms.
It can be noisy in the corridors but nothing major.
There've been some funny comments on this place. No smoking in the hallway or dining room? Of course not, its illegal in Germany. No room service etc. Nope but they never said they had.
The Daniel is ideal if you're just looking for a clean, central and cheap hotel to use a base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjwpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel is alright. Great location, rich breakfast, nice rooms - what else do you need for a city break staying? As there wan not a hotel parking, we parked the car in the public one, it cost EUR20 for the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gattusak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#68 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wallis
Hotel Wallis
#207 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#147 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Germania Hotel
Germania Hotel
#162 of 391 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel

Property: Hotel Daniel
Address: Sonnenstr. 5, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daniel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is steps from the Karlsplatz (Stachus) square in central Munich, a 6-minute walk from Munich Main Station. It offers large rooms and a daily breakfast buffet. All rooms at the Hotel Daniel include satellite TV, internet via cable and a private bathroom. Wi-Fi is available in all parts of the hotel for a fee. Hotel Daniel is near the Old Town and the shopping streets in Munich's pedestrian area. The Marienplatz town hall square is a 10-minute walk away. The Karlsplatz (Stachus) S-Bahn (city rail) and underground stations are a 2-minute walk from the Hotel Daniel. This provides fast links to Munich Airport and Munich's Neue Messe exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing